tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/10/2011 : SYNAPSCAPE - Traits

SYNAPSCAPE

Traits

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[75/100]   
03/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

Around for more than 15 years, Tim Kniep and Philipp Münch have been at the frontline of industrial ebm ever since they started Synapscape. This is their 8th album and then I am not even counting their collaborations with Asche and Imminent. Both also worked together with Ars Moriendi, Monokrom and Templegarden's. Philipp Münch is even busier, probably having cloned himself to feature in bands like The Rorschach Garden and Rasputeen.

A band can't survive for such a long time, especially in the electronic music scene, without developing themselves and thus making sure they continue to surprise us with new influences and sounds. At first they were one of the harshest exponents of this music but gradually they imported other styles such as idm, ambient and techno.

At first the album seemed more like a debut album, such is the diversity in styles that it sounds like a beginning band, not having found their own sound yet. Only a handful of songs impressed me, like Downfall being slightly similar to old school Skinny Puppy. Authority's My Son reminded me of No Limit by Front Line Assembly but with a the distortion notches turned up. Most other songs didn't work so well, too many styles interwoven through each other.

But you cannot make your judgement after mere sporadic listening and when I was in an angry mood it all fell into place, the red line is pure anger. Whether it be the agressive aggrotech vocals, the thundering industrial beats or the devilish dark ambient pieces, the common factor is pure rage. The harsh and metallic beats of First Came The Floods reminds me of Esplendor Geometrico and is aided by agressive vocals. As a counterweight to all those rhythms and beats, Snapcase has a lighter idm sound. Also there are some very dark soundscapes. Conditio Sine Qua Non could well be the first track of Lustmord's Heresy, complete with trumpets, hornes and bestial screams. Hiller is another great ambient track that ends in an amazing climax with some tribal rythms. Empusae is not far away here!

That could have been a great conclusion of their traits but the good pace is somewhat broken by the ending track Rise, getting you all worked up again with some very hard industrial techno. Together with the distorted vocals it sounds a lot like Combichrist, it's a good song but it sort of spoils the precious song which would have been the perfect conclusion. So there are some minor complaints but the result is still a great album.

Synapscape

Chris KONINGS
03/10/2011


 

Next reviews
ZARTBITTER 16 • Richtung Zukunft
MODERN ART • Circuit Lights 1982-1986
DEZ MONA • Saga
RELLA THE WOODCUTTER • I know when it's time to get the fuck away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Label Noir Vol.1
SHINY DARKNESS • Lighthouse
THE HOUSE OF THE LAST LANTERN • Web of feelings
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)
32CRASH • Y2112Y
CHILDREN WITHIN • Spotlight

 

Other reviews from SYNAPSCAPE
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
COMPUTERUS • compUterus

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire