tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/10/2011 : SYNAPSCAPE - Traits

SYNAPSCAPE

Traits

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[75/100]   
03/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

Around for more than 15 years, Tim Kniep and Philipp Münch have been at the frontline of industrial ebm ever since they started Synapscape. This is their 8th album and then I am not even counting their collaborations with Asche and Imminent. Both also worked together with Ars Moriendi, Monokrom and Templegarden's. Philipp Münch is even busier, probably having cloned himself to feature in bands like The Rorschach Garden and Rasputeen.

A band can't survive for such a long time, especially in the electronic music scene, without developing themselves and thus making sure they continue to surprise us with new influences and sounds. At first they were one of the harshest exponents of this music but gradually they imported other styles such as idm, ambient and techno.

At first the album seemed more like a debut album, such is the diversity in styles that it sounds like a beginning band, not having found their own sound yet. Only a handful of songs impressed me, like Downfall being slightly similar to old school Skinny Puppy. Authority's My Son reminded me of No Limit by Front Line Assembly but with a the distortion notches turned up. Most other songs didn't work so well, too many styles interwoven through each other.

But you cannot make your judgement after mere sporadic listening and when I was in an angry mood it all fell into place, the red line is pure anger. Whether it be the agressive aggrotech vocals, the thundering industrial beats or the devilish dark ambient pieces, the common factor is pure rage. The harsh and metallic beats of First Came The Floods reminds me of Esplendor Geometrico and is aided by agressive vocals. As a counterweight to all those rhythms and beats, Snapcase has a lighter idm sound. Also there are some very dark soundscapes. Conditio Sine Qua Non could well be the first track of Lustmord's Heresy, complete with trumpets, hornes and bestial screams. Hiller is another great ambient track that ends in an amazing climax with some tribal rythms. Empusae is not far away here!

That could have been a great conclusion of their traits but the good pace is somewhat broken by the ending track Rise, getting you all worked up again with some very hard industrial techno. Together with the distorted vocals it sounds a lot like Combichrist, it's a good song but it sort of spoils the precious song which would have been the perfect conclusion. So there are some minor complaints but the result is still a great album.

Synapscape

Chris KONINGS
03/10/2011


 

Next reviews
ZARTBITTER 16 • Richtung Zukunft
MODERN ART • Circuit Lights 1982-1986
DEZ MONA • Saga
RELLA THE WOODCUTTER • I know when it's time to get the fuck away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Label Noir Vol.1
SHINY DARKNESS • Lighthouse
THE HOUSE OF THE LAST LANTERN • Web of feelings
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)
32CRASH • Y2112Y
CHILDREN WITHIN • Spotlight

 

Other reviews from SYNAPSCAPE
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
COMPUTERUS • compUterus

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil