tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : JOB KARMA - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

JOB KARMA

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The second band on the BIM Fest lineup was Job Karma, an audiovisual project from Wroclaw that explores the trans-ambient area of postindustrial aesthetics. The band was formed in 1997 by Maciek Frett and Aureliusz Pisarzewski. On stage, the two musicians are very discrete, concentrated on their work on laptops and controllers. The most striking aspect besides the music are the visual aspect, outstanding cartoonesque video art designed by Arek Baginski to show the the relations human - machines and machine - sacrum. They picture the collapse of values at the cost of growing commercialization of everyday individual and social existence. It made me think of the wonderful animations of Gerald Scarfe in Pink Floyd's The Wall.

In the musical domain, Job Karma combines the analog and digital sound of electronic instruments with looped sequences. There's also a vintage radio receiver standing on a foot, with which the musicians create analog effects. The band played mostly tracks from their album "Punkt" but also one track from "Tschernobyl": HYDROXIZINUM CITY. Check a video excerpt of "Hel" as they performed it:

"Job" means "fuck" in Russian so the name of the band can be translated in "fucking karma"... A striking name which perfectly reflects the band's polarity "ambient" vs "industrial". It's soft music but it conveys all the violence of modern society. A very impressive set and the first surprise of the festival.

Setlist: Raf, You Are The Key, Brain Processing, Bronte, Hel, Terrorvizja and Hydroxizinum City.

Note that Job Karma also played on Day 2 with the "7JK" project they share with Matt Howden from Sieben.

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
Before the BIM Fest, Job Karma gave an interview to peek-a-boo: read it here.

http://www.jobkarma.pl

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)