tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : TEST DEPT:REDUX - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TEST DEPT:REDUX

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
ExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The headlining act of the first day of the BIM Fest was the first performance ever of Test Dept:Redux. In the 80s, Test Dept were an industrial music group from London, one of the most important and influential early industrial music acts. Their approach was marked by a strong commitment to radical socialist politics. Fourteen years after their ‘Final event’ in London (1989), original members Graham Cunnington and Paul Jamrozy decided to get together again to revisit Test Dept's early work. As the artists said in an interview before the show, "It is not a nostalgic get together but is born out of a necessity to voice a critical view in the present situation we find ourselves; with corruption and austerity at home, unprecedented mass surveillance and control, with state terror instigating global wars and the planet facing up to environmental cataclysm."

It was therefore the exclusive premier performance of this new Test Dept:Redux show! A great honor for the BIM Fest! The two musicians were standing behind the equipment table, wearing Test Dept:Redux t-shirts and in the course of the concert, they came alternatively to the frontstage to shout their harangues in the microphone. TD:R created a strange, dense, powerful and vibrant soundtrack, utilizing sound and samples from the extensive Test Dept back-catalogue; enhanced with new sounds, audio-visual documentation, and the duo's live vocals and percussion.

The act clearly evoked Einstuerzende Neubauten, Throbbing Gristle and Cabaret Voltaire of course, but also Laibach in their industrial-activist period of the '80s. The songs came mostly out the legendary album "The Unacceptable Face Of Freedom" (1986), plus some earlier material. One of the highlights of the performance was the song "Fuckhead", during which the band presented images of the faces of James Cameron and Boris Johnson: a clear message! Watch a video excerpt of this song performed at the festival:

Even though Cunnington and Jamrozy are not really showmen on stage, their channelling of the personal anger and frustration remains as potent and caustic as before. At times, the sound was so apocalyptic and noisy, that we had the impression it was the end of the world, one week before the due date... Of course it is a pity that such a music is no longer played with live instruments or objects (scrap metal,...). Even the percussions were triggered by the musicians via laptops and electronic drum pads. But I guess the band also wanted to show the evolution of technology in music as well. An impressive performance by all means! A show that was as exciting and unique as the seminal albums from which the inspiration was taken. Those albums were groundbreaking at the time and are just as relevant today!

http://testdept.org.uk/redux/

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


 

Next reviews
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
NOTHING BUT NOISE • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
• Stash House
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
KURSED • Miaow
• Holy Motors
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Limping For A New Generation
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain
2012 REVIEW • Check our website stats for 2012!

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
ALSO • Live in Celovec
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song