tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : TEST DEPT:REDUX - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TEST DEPT:REDUX

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
ExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The headlining act of the first day of the BIM Fest was the first performance ever of Test Dept:Redux. In the 80s, Test Dept were an industrial music group from London, one of the most important and influential early industrial music acts. Their approach was marked by a strong commitment to radical socialist politics. Fourteen years after their ‘Final event’ in London (1989), original members Graham Cunnington and Paul Jamrozy decided to get together again to revisit Test Dept's early work. As the artists said in an interview before the show, "It is not a nostalgic get together but is born out of a necessity to voice a critical view in the present situation we find ourselves; with corruption and austerity at home, unprecedented mass surveillance and control, with state terror instigating global wars and the planet facing up to environmental cataclysm."

It was therefore the exclusive premier performance of this new Test Dept:Redux show! A great honor for the BIM Fest! The two musicians were standing behind the equipment table, wearing Test Dept:Redux t-shirts and in the course of the concert, they came alternatively to the frontstage to shout their harangues in the microphone. TD:R created a strange, dense, powerful and vibrant soundtrack, utilizing sound and samples from the extensive Test Dept back-catalogue; enhanced with new sounds, audio-visual documentation, and the duo's live vocals and percussion.

The act clearly evoked Einstuerzende Neubauten, Throbbing Gristle and Cabaret Voltaire of course, but also Laibach in their industrial-activist period of the '80s. The songs came mostly out the legendary album "The Unacceptable Face Of Freedom" (1986), plus some earlier material. One of the highlights of the performance was the song "Fuckhead", during which the band presented images of the faces of James Cameron and Boris Johnson: a clear message! Watch a video excerpt of this song performed at the festival:

Even though Cunnington and Jamrozy are not really showmen on stage, their channelling of the personal anger and frustration remains as potent and caustic as before. At times, the sound was so apocalyptic and noisy, that we had the impression it was the end of the world, one week before the due date... Of course it is a pity that such a music is no longer played with live instruments or objects (scrap metal,...). Even the percussions were triggered by the musicians via laptops and electronic drum pads. But I guess the band also wanted to show the evolution of technology in music as well. An impressive performance by all means! A show that was as exciting and unique as the seminal albums from which the inspiration was taken. Those albums were groundbreaking at the time and are just as relevant today!

http://testdept.org.uk/redux/

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


 

Next reviews
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
NOTHING BUT NOISE • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
• Stash House
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
KURSED • Miaow
• Holy Motors
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Limping For A New Generation
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain
2012 REVIEW • Check our website stats for 2012!

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ALSO • Live in Celovec
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain