tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : TEST DEPT:REDUX - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

TEST DEPT:REDUX

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
ExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The headlining act of the first day of the BIM Fest was the first performance ever of Test Dept:Redux. In the 80s, Test Dept were an industrial music group from London, one of the most important and influential early industrial music acts. Their approach was marked by a strong commitment to radical socialist politics. Fourteen years after their ‘Final event’ in London (1989), original members Graham Cunnington and Paul Jamrozy decided to get together again to revisit Test Dept's early work. As the artists said in an interview before the show, "It is not a nostalgic get together but is born out of a necessity to voice a critical view in the present situation we find ourselves; with corruption and austerity at home, unprecedented mass surveillance and control, with state terror instigating global wars and the planet facing up to environmental cataclysm."

It was therefore the exclusive premier performance of this new Test Dept:Redux show! A great honor for the BIM Fest! The two musicians were standing behind the equipment table, wearing Test Dept:Redux t-shirts and in the course of the concert, they came alternatively to the frontstage to shout their harangues in the microphone. TD:R created a strange, dense, powerful and vibrant soundtrack, utilizing sound and samples from the extensive Test Dept back-catalogue; enhanced with new sounds, audio-visual documentation, and the duo's live vocals and percussion.

The act clearly evoked Einstuerzende Neubauten, Throbbing Gristle and Cabaret Voltaire of course, but also Laibach in their industrial-activist period of the '80s. The songs came mostly out the legendary album "The Unacceptable Face Of Freedom" (1986), plus some earlier material. One of the highlights of the performance was the song "Fuckhead", during which the band presented images of the faces of James Cameron and Boris Johnson: a clear message! Watch a video excerpt of this song performed at the festival:

Even though Cunnington and Jamrozy are not really showmen on stage, their channelling of the personal anger and frustration remains as potent and caustic as before. At times, the sound was so apocalyptic and noisy, that we had the impression it was the end of the world, one week before the due date... Of course it is a pity that such a music is no longer played with live instruments or objects (scrap metal,...). Even the percussions were triggered by the musicians via laptops and electronic drum pads. But I guess the band also wanted to show the evolution of technology in music as well. An impressive performance by all means! A show that was as exciting and unique as the seminal albums from which the inspiration was taken. Those albums were groundbreaking at the time and are just as relevant today!

http://testdept.org.uk/redux/

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


 

Next reviews
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
NOTHING BUT NOISE • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
• Stash House
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
KURSED • Miaow
• Holy Motors
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Limping For A New Generation
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain
2012 REVIEW • Check our website stats for 2012!

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)