tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

26/12/2012 : 2012 REVIEW - Jeremy Thomas' Favorite Gigs of 2012

2012 REVIEW

Jeremy Thomas' Favorite Gigs of 2012

Article
26/12/2012

Jeremy Thomas has sent us his favorites gigs of the year, in date order. Check them out!

Jeremy Thomas

Top 5 Gigs of 2012

HUMAN TETRIS

 



Human Tetris - DNA, Brussels - 6 February
Happy post-punk? Human Tetris were just slightly overgrown kids from Moscow, but I heard Interpol, Joy division, Sad Lovers & Giants and more. All with an unusual and wonderfully positive vision looking out towards something better. The smaller the venue, the more random the quality, and the more intense the experience - good or bad. But when it's this good, you know why you're alive.

Fantastique Nights - Brussels - 7 March
Le Fantastique do their best to put on a show. As the "unknown locals" in the opening slot, Baron 5 were just top quality bonkers and good enough to pull it off musically. Sort of punk without guitars. And to follow, Mona Mur and En Esch, who were just overwhelming in their performance and sheer sensual mastery. It's one of those things that doesn't work in terms of musical clichés - Like these wierd 3-starred Michelin restaurants with menus that make you want to vomit. But then you taste it. And then you know.

Easter Rewind - Vooruit, Ghent - 4 April
Beauty of Gemima were a revelation, Chameleons Vox were disappointingly brief, Department S went way beyond one-hit-wonders, local lads Erato were worthy openers, and the energy and enthusiasm of Schmutz reminded me never to grow up.

Seawave - Bredene - 27 April
Der Klinke - I was expecting something a bit cold and clinical. I was confronted by a band that laid their feelings out on the carpet and proceeded to trample them. And we were that carpet. And the carpet wants more.
Breath of Life - It's hard to write about this magical band without a tear blurring the words, but this was just a sculpture of beautiful, beautiful things. Not that the guitar and violin don't deserve a chapter in their own right, but I fell madly in love with Isabelle the moment she smiled, and no words can really explain why this was just the best gig of the year.

Organic, support of Graham Coxon - Botanique, Brussels - 21 September
Were fucking ace. Not all their songs worked for me, but for an act that only formed this year, the Yanne Curtisse with Pièrre Crochet playing at Front 242 trying to be Depeche Mode earns them Best Belgian Newbies for 2012. Check out their début album out now on CCP.


26/12/2012


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)