tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2015 : THE GOTHSICLES - Icarius

THE GOTHSICLES

Icarius

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   

Negative Gain Productions
22/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

These Americans make Industrial, EBM with the swagger of The Prodigy. Guys with a big mouth and ditto music. Wondering if among those testosterone there is some music to. In any case, the 15 band members appear to be less dangerous than you might think at first hearing.

In terms of rhythm and voice, I always think of The Prodigy, especially opener Super Scary Action Figure clearly radiates some of their attitude. In many songs they use beeps and voice distortions, but they are not as mainstream as the aforementioned example. Quite a few songs are created together with others and that sometimes leads to beautiful results. On I sniffed at The Glove they work together with Cyferdyne, a beautiful EBM in which they laugh with themselves and with Arnold Schwarzenegger.At the end they sing the chorus to the melody of I Kissed The Girl by Kate Perry. Hilarious.

This Club is Closed is a collaboration with Angelspit, with a rhythm section that reminds me of Run DMC or even The Black Eyed Peas. Black T Shirt is a cover of NIN. The singer sings a bit in the Beastie Boys style. You have to love it, but it works nicely. Bloodlust Software Was Awesome is almost house, and would do well on the dance floor. Valve Slime resembles music of the era of the arcade computer games, with a familiar sounding melody.

Ironical, over the top and cartoonish are adjectives that apply to this band. Musically everything is okay.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/01/2015


NL

Deze Amerikanen maken Industrial, EBM met de branie van The Prodigy. Kerels met een grote mond en dito muziek. Benieuwd of er onder die laag testosteron ook nog boeiende muziek zit. De 15 bandleden lijken in elk geval minder gevaarlijk dan je op het eerste gehoor zou denken.

Qua ritmiek en stemgebruik moet ik onwilligkeurig enkele malen aan The Prodigy denken. De opener Super Scary Action Figure straalt duidelijk hun attitude uit. In vele nummers zijn ze, ondanks nogal wat gebleep en stemvervorming, meer mainstream dan het eerder genoemde voorbeeld. Nogal wat nummers zijn samen gemaakt met anderen en dat levert soms mooie resultaten op. Voor I sniffed The Glove werken ze samen met Cyferdyne, een mooie EBM waarin ze o.a. lachen met zichzelf en met Arnold Schwarzenegger. Op het eind zingen ze het refrein op de melodielijn van I kissed The Girl van Kate Perry. Hilarisch gewoon.

This Club is Closed is dan weer een samenwerking met Angelspit en heeft een ritmesectie die wat weg heeft van Run DMC of The Black Eyed Peas. Black T Shirt is een cover van NIN. De zanger zingt een beetje in de Beastie Boys-stijl. Je moet ervan houden, maar hier werkt het wel aardig. Bloodlust Software Was Awesome is bijna house en zou het goed doen op de dansvloer. Afsluiter Slime-half lijkt op een muziekje uit de tijd van de arcade-computerspelletjes, met een verdacht bekend klinkend melodietje trouwens.

Ironie, over the top en cartoonesk zijn adjectieven die bij deze band passen. Maar muzikaal zit alles wel goed in elkaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/01/2015


 

Next reviews
SCOTT DERRICKSON • Deliver Us From Evil
SAUL DIBB • The Duchess
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)
ANTOINE FUQUA • The Equalizer
BHAMBHAMHARA • Progressive Body Music
FVNERALS • The Light
PUSHER • 10000 Hours
• HUNTED
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
TATE TAYLOR • Get On Up

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
GIN DEVO • Errata
NTRSN • Hardlines
ARZT+PFUSCH • Lictor Evaporated

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love