tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2015 : THE GOTHSICLES - Icarius

THE GOTHSICLES

Icarius

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   

Negative Gain Productions
22/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

These Americans make Industrial, EBM with the swagger of The Prodigy. Guys with a big mouth and ditto music. Wondering if among those testosterone there is some music to. In any case, the 15 band members appear to be less dangerous than you might think at first hearing.

In terms of rhythm and voice, I always think of The Prodigy, especially opener Super Scary Action Figure clearly radiates some of their attitude. In many songs they use beeps and voice distortions, but they are not as mainstream as the aforementioned example. Quite a few songs are created together with others and that sometimes leads to beautiful results. On I sniffed at The Glove they work together with Cyferdyne, a beautiful EBM in which they laugh with themselves and with Arnold Schwarzenegger.At the end they sing the chorus to the melody of I Kissed The Girl by Kate Perry. Hilarious.

This Club is Closed is a collaboration with Angelspit, with a rhythm section that reminds me of Run DMC or even The Black Eyed Peas. Black T Shirt is a cover of NIN. The singer sings a bit in the Beastie Boys style. You have to love it, but it works nicely. Bloodlust Software Was Awesome is almost house, and would do well on the dance floor. Valve Slime resembles music of the era of the arcade computer games, with a familiar sounding melody.

Ironical, over the top and cartoonish are adjectives that apply to this band. Musically everything is okay.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/01/2015


NL

Deze Amerikanen maken Industrial, EBM met de branie van The Prodigy. Kerels met een grote mond en dito muziek. Benieuwd of er onder die laag testosteron ook nog boeiende muziek zit. De 15 bandleden lijken in elk geval minder gevaarlijk dan je op het eerste gehoor zou denken.

Qua ritmiek en stemgebruik moet ik onwilligkeurig enkele malen aan The Prodigy denken. De opener Super Scary Action Figure straalt duidelijk hun attitude uit. In vele nummers zijn ze, ondanks nogal wat gebleep en stemvervorming, meer mainstream dan het eerder genoemde voorbeeld. Nogal wat nummers zijn samen gemaakt met anderen en dat levert soms mooie resultaten op. Voor I sniffed The Glove werken ze samen met Cyferdyne, een mooie EBM waarin ze o.a. lachen met zichzelf en met Arnold Schwarzenegger. Op het eind zingen ze het refrein op de melodielijn van I kissed The Girl van Kate Perry. Hilarisch gewoon.

This Club is Closed is dan weer een samenwerking met Angelspit en heeft een ritmesectie die wat weg heeft van Run DMC of The Black Eyed Peas. Black T Shirt is een cover van NIN. De zanger zingt een beetje in de Beastie Boys-stijl. Je moet ervan houden, maar hier werkt het wel aardig. Bloodlust Software Was Awesome is bijna house en zou het goed doen op de dansvloer. Afsluiter Slime-half lijkt op een muziekje uit de tijd van de arcade-computerspelletjes, met een verdacht bekend klinkend melodietje trouwens.

Ironie, over the top en cartoonesk zijn adjectieven die bij deze band passen. Maar muzikaal zit alles wel goed in elkaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/01/2015


 

Next reviews
SCOTT DERRICKSON • Deliver Us From Evil
SAUL DIBB • The Duchess
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)
ANTOINE FUQUA • The Equalizer
BHAMBHAMHARA • Progressive Body Music
FVNERALS • The Light
PUSHER • 10000 Hours
• HUNTED
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
TATE TAYLOR • Get On Up

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

30
01
Today, 27 years ago American Industrial-Metal band Ministry released Filth Pig!
29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void