tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/01/2015 : FVNERALS - The Light

FVNERALS

The Light

MusicDigital
DoomMinimalPost Rock

[85/100]   
21/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This British trio from Brighton probably won’t be immediately hyped in their own country, because their music isn’t what you would call commercial. No need to panic though, as they have mostly positive reviews and they are a real tip for those who love dark tunes.

This band seems to be a master in creating dark acoustic guitar riffs with effects, while the singer is quietly doing her thing.

The opening track Oath sounds a bit like a silent procession on its way to the graveyard, with in the background some church bells that sound slow and melancholy. Vakna is after a gloomy start, a bit lighter. A song like Aryd couldn’t keep my attention, but that problem is soon solved when Shine starts. The Light Part I is also worth mentioning: three minutes sinister synth sounds, turning into (the real song) The Light Part II. Magnificent.

The album is a walk through dark thoughts. They do this all in a minimal way. Less is more, they sometimes say, and that is definitely the case here.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2015


NL

Dit Brits trio (Brighton) zal niet direct worden gehypt in eigen land, want daarvoor zijn ze niet hitparadegevoelig genoeg, alhoewel ze tot nu toe overwegend positieve reacties kregen en wie liefhebber is van grafkeldermuziekjes, zal aan dit album zeker een vette kluif hebben.

Deze band lijkt bedreven in het maken van repetitieve en donkere akoestische gitaarrifjes met daarop veel effecten, terwijl de zangeres rustig haar ding doet. Geen grunts, of ander geschreeuw, wel een monotone zang die over de muziekstukjes glijdt.

Het openingsnummer Oath klinkt precies als een stille tocht achter de lijkwagen richting kerkhof, met op de achtergrond kerkklokken die traag en zwaarmoedig klinken. Vakna wordt na een zwaarmoedig begin wat lichter. Een nummer als Aryd kan dan weer moeilijk mijn aandacht vasthouden. Hier werkt het repetitieve element precies minder goed. Shine kan heel wat beter bekoren, gewoon omdat het veel beter is uitgewerkt. Ook The light Part I is het vermelden waard, waarin we ruim drie minuten grotendeels uitgerekte en sinistere synthklanken horen. Dat gaat over in The Light Part II, waarin een echte song zich ontplooit. Schitterend.

Het album is een trip door de duistere nacht. Een wandeling doorheen donkere gedachten. Ze doen dit alles via een behoorlijke minimale aanpak. Less is more, zeggen ze soms en hier is dat zeker het geval.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)