tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/01/2015 : FVNERALS - The Light

FVNERALS

The Light

MusicDigital
DoomMinimalPost Rock

[85/100]   
21/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This British trio from Brighton probably won’t be immediately hyped in their own country, because their music isn’t what you would call commercial. No need to panic though, as they have mostly positive reviews and they are a real tip for those who love dark tunes.

This band seems to be a master in creating dark acoustic guitar riffs with effects, while the singer is quietly doing her thing.

The opening track Oath sounds a bit like a silent procession on its way to the graveyard, with in the background some church bells that sound slow and melancholy. Vakna is after a gloomy start, a bit lighter. A song like Aryd couldn’t keep my attention, but that problem is soon solved when Shine starts. The Light Part I is also worth mentioning: three minutes sinister synth sounds, turning into (the real song) The Light Part II. Magnificent.

The album is a walk through dark thoughts. They do this all in a minimal way. Less is more, they sometimes say, and that is definitely the case here.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2015


NL

Dit Brits trio (Brighton) zal niet direct worden gehypt in eigen land, want daarvoor zijn ze niet hitparadegevoelig genoeg, alhoewel ze tot nu toe overwegend positieve reacties kregen en wie liefhebber is van grafkeldermuziekjes, zal aan dit album zeker een vette kluif hebben.

Deze band lijkt bedreven in het maken van repetitieve en donkere akoestische gitaarrifjes met daarop veel effecten, terwijl de zangeres rustig haar ding doet. Geen grunts, of ander geschreeuw, wel een monotone zang die over de muziekstukjes glijdt.

Het openingsnummer Oath klinkt precies als een stille tocht achter de lijkwagen richting kerkhof, met op de achtergrond kerkklokken die traag en zwaarmoedig klinken. Vakna wordt na een zwaarmoedig begin wat lichter. Een nummer als Aryd kan dan weer moeilijk mijn aandacht vasthouden. Hier werkt het repetitieve element precies minder goed. Shine kan heel wat beter bekoren, gewoon omdat het veel beter is uitgewerkt. Ook The light Part I is het vermelden waard, waarin we ruim drie minuten grotendeels uitgerekte en sinistere synthklanken horen. Dat gaat over in The Light Part II, waarin een echte song zich ontplooit. Schitterend.

Het album is een trip door de duistere nacht. Een wandeling doorheen donkere gedachten. Ze doen dit alles via een behoorlijke minimale aanpak. Less is more, zeggen ze soms en hier is dat zeker het geval.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)