tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/01/2015 : S.M. NURSE - Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

S.M. NURSE

Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

MusicVinyl
ExperimentalMinimalSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Domestica
22/01/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Normally I have to be completely neutral when I write a new review. But this S.M. Nurse album is something special to me. More than 30 years ago I taped some music from radio programmes such as RadioNome and Spleen of the Dutch broadcaster VPRO.

I never found out the band’s name. The tracks where, for that time, completely different, and opened up a new vision on electronic music for me.

Only decades later I found out the band’s name, and now Domestica Records releases this S.M. Nurse tracks. The album is called ‘Hometape Recordings 1981-1983’, and it is a compilation of their best songs between 81 and 83, that were never before released in vinyl format.

Menko Konings (eM.) founded this Dutch underground formation around 1980, first together with Jos Jak and later also with Anneke Stempher. S.M. Nurse experimented with collage-like music and was inspired by N.Y.-ultra and disco. At the end of 1983, S.M. Nurse split up. Meno Konings continued solo as eM.

So, after splitting up more than 30 years ago, we now can enjoy the creativity of this band. The album begins with ‘Hot Day In Istanbul’, ethnic tunes, analogue synths, guitar, and tapes of film conversations, all mixed up and creating a superb sound. Most songs were created according to the same concept, sometimes they are even danceable, sometimes they are very chaotic and confused, but brilliantly new for that period. This album contains 10 tracks that should please every minimal wave lover. Maybe you can call it nostalgia, but this is how it all started.

Bellow you find a special live recording from those days: ‘My Greedy Policeman’.

A1. Hot Day In Istanbul
A2. How Does It Feel
A3. No Pop
A4. Heimwerker
A5. Some Girls Don't Mind

B1. Worst Und Bier/Dance
B2. Miti Mi
B3. Mutations/Show Time
B4. Jing Jang Jong
B5. My Greedy Policeman

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
SCOTT DERRICKSON • Deliver Us From Evil
SAUL DIBB • The Duchess
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)
ANTOINE FUQUA • The Equalizer
BHAMBHAMHARA • Progressive Body Music
FVNERALS • The Light
PUSHER • 10000 Hours
• HUNTED
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes

 

Other reviews from S.M. NURSE
S.M. NURSE • S.M. Nurse Top Tape Cassette

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty