tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/01/2015 : S.M. NURSE - Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

S.M. NURSE

Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

MusicVinyl
ExperimentalMinimalSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Domestica
22/01/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Normally I have to be completely neutral when I write a new review. But this S.M. Nurse album is something special to me. More than 30 years ago I taped some music from radio programmes such as RadioNome and Spleen of the Dutch broadcaster VPRO.

I never found out the band’s name. The tracks where, for that time, completely different, and opened up a new vision on electronic music for me.

Only decades later I found out the band’s name, and now Domestica Records releases this S.M. Nurse tracks. The album is called ‘Hometape Recordings 1981-1983’, and it is a compilation of their best songs between 81 and 83, that were never before released in vinyl format.

Menko Konings (eM.) founded this Dutch underground formation around 1980, first together with Jos Jak and later also with Anneke Stempher. S.M. Nurse experimented with collage-like music and was inspired by N.Y.-ultra and disco. At the end of 1983, S.M. Nurse split up. Meno Konings continued solo as eM.

So, after splitting up more than 30 years ago, we now can enjoy the creativity of this band. The album begins with ‘Hot Day In Istanbul’, ethnic tunes, analogue synths, guitar, and tapes of film conversations, all mixed up and creating a superb sound. Most songs were created according to the same concept, sometimes they are even danceable, sometimes they are very chaotic and confused, but brilliantly new for that period. This album contains 10 tracks that should please every minimal wave lover. Maybe you can call it nostalgia, but this is how it all started.

Bellow you find a special live recording from those days: ‘My Greedy Policeman’.

A1. Hot Day In Istanbul
A2. How Does It Feel
A3. No Pop
A4. Heimwerker
A5. Some Girls Don't Mind

B1. Worst Und Bier/Dance
B2. Miti Mi
B3. Mutations/Show Time
B4. Jing Jang Jong
B5. My Greedy Policeman

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2015


Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?