tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/01/2015 : S.M. NURSE - Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

S.M. NURSE

Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

MusicVinyl
ExperimentalMinimalSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Domestica
22/01/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Normally I have to be completely neutral when I write a new review. But this S.M. Nurse album is something special to me. More than 30 years ago I taped some music from radio programmes such as RadioNome and Spleen of the Dutch broadcaster VPRO.

I never found out the band’s name. The tracks where, for that time, completely different, and opened up a new vision on electronic music for me.

Only decades later I found out the band’s name, and now Domestica Records releases this S.M. Nurse tracks. The album is called ‘Hometape Recordings 1981-1983’, and it is a compilation of their best songs between 81 and 83, that were never before released in vinyl format.

Menko Konings (eM.) founded this Dutch underground formation around 1980, first together with Jos Jak and later also with Anneke Stempher. S.M. Nurse experimented with collage-like music and was inspired by N.Y.-ultra and disco. At the end of 1983, S.M. Nurse split up. Meno Konings continued solo as eM.

So, after splitting up more than 30 years ago, we now can enjoy the creativity of this band. The album begins with ‘Hot Day In Istanbul’, ethnic tunes, analogue synths, guitar, and tapes of film conversations, all mixed up and creating a superb sound. Most songs were created according to the same concept, sometimes they are even danceable, sometimes they are very chaotic and confused, but brilliantly new for that period. This album contains 10 tracks that should please every minimal wave lover. Maybe you can call it nostalgia, but this is how it all started.

Bellow you find a special live recording from those days: ‘My Greedy Policeman’.

A1. Hot Day In Istanbul
A2. How Does It Feel
A3. No Pop
A4. Heimwerker
A5. Some Girls Don't Mind

B1. Worst Und Bier/Dance
B2. Miti Mi
B3. Mutations/Show Time
B4. Jing Jang Jong
B5. My Greedy Policeman

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus