tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2015 : EL VY - Return To The Moon

EL VY

Return To The Moon

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

4-AD
20/11/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After issuing a handful of earthy emotive albums with his band The National, baritone songwriter Matt Berninger has seen fit to jolly things up a little under the moniker El Vy. It's a simple enough concept with former Menomena musician Brent Knopf helping the duo steer a positive course through lively funk-pop and sprightly seasoned blues-rock. There's still plenty of glumness on here but the feel is lighter and the mood is brighter as a rule.

Recent single Return to the Moon has the David Byrnes about it - jangly hooklines and discofied rhythms combine with Berninger's trademark tonsils that still sound like they've just woken up two hours after the rest of his body. Similar themes permeate Need a Friend and Happiness, Missouri while the slower explorations such as I'm The Man To Be and No Time To Crank The Sun trawl the usual emotional recesses and colourful melodic motifs you'd expect from the pair.

That glumness I mentioned rears its head on the rather pretty closing track Careless in which Berninger opines "be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me..." etc etc. Well you could do worse than invest in this understated, but enjoyable album that might scrape into a few year-end playlists for its trouble.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


NL

Na het uitbrengen van een handvol emotionele platen met zijn succesvolle band The National, vond baritonzanger Matt Berninger het blijkbaar nodig om wat vrolijkere dingen te doen, en dat onder de naam El Vy. Het concept is eenvoudig en wordt uitgevoerd met de hulp van de voormalige Menomena-muzikant Brent Knopf: een positieve koers brengen en dat door middel van levendige funkpop en doorgewinterde bluesrock. Af en toe is er wel wat ruimte voor melancholie, maar het voelt toch veel lichter aan dan wat hij met The National doet.

De recente single Return To The Moon heeft de typische hooks waar David Byrne meestal een patent op heeft, samen met een discoachtig ritme dat mooi wordt gecombineerd met Berningers amandelen, ook al denk je dat de twee nog maar twee uur wakker zijn.

Dezelfde aanpak hoor je in Need A Friend en Happinesss, Missouri, terwijl I’m The Man To Be en No Time To Crank The Sun  je de emotionele uitspattingen en de kleurrijke melodische motieven bezorgen die je van dit paar verwacht. De melancholie waarover ik het eerder had, hoor je perfect in de mooie afsluiter Careless, waarin Berninger zingt: “be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me…”

Er zijn heel wat slechtere dingen op de markt waaraan je je geld kan spenderen dan aan dit ingetogen, aangenaam album dat wellicht in heel wat eindejaarslijstjes zal opduiken!

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn