tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2015 : EL VY - Return To The Moon

EL VY

Return To The Moon

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

4-AD
20/11/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After issuing a handful of earthy emotive albums with his band The National, baritone songwriter Matt Berninger has seen fit to jolly things up a little under the moniker El Vy. It's a simple enough concept with former Menomena musician Brent Knopf helping the duo steer a positive course through lively funk-pop and sprightly seasoned blues-rock. There's still plenty of glumness on here but the feel is lighter and the mood is brighter as a rule.

Recent single Return to the Moon has the David Byrnes about it - jangly hooklines and discofied rhythms combine with Berninger's trademark tonsils that still sound like they've just woken up two hours after the rest of his body. Similar themes permeate Need a Friend and Happiness, Missouri while the slower explorations such as I'm The Man To Be and No Time To Crank The Sun trawl the usual emotional recesses and colourful melodic motifs you'd expect from the pair.

That glumness I mentioned rears its head on the rather pretty closing track Careless in which Berninger opines "be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me..." etc etc. Well you could do worse than invest in this understated, but enjoyable album that might scrape into a few year-end playlists for its trouble.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


NL

Na het uitbrengen van een handvol emotionele platen met zijn succesvolle band The National, vond baritonzanger Matt Berninger het blijkbaar nodig om wat vrolijkere dingen te doen, en dat onder de naam El Vy. Het concept is eenvoudig en wordt uitgevoerd met de hulp van de voormalige Menomena-muzikant Brent Knopf: een positieve koers brengen en dat door middel van levendige funkpop en doorgewinterde bluesrock. Af en toe is er wel wat ruimte voor melancholie, maar het voelt toch veel lichter aan dan wat hij met The National doet.

De recente single Return To The Moon heeft de typische hooks waar David Byrne meestal een patent op heeft, samen met een discoachtig ritme dat mooi wordt gecombineerd met Berningers amandelen, ook al denk je dat de twee nog maar twee uur wakker zijn.

Dezelfde aanpak hoor je in Need A Friend en Happinesss, Missouri, terwijl I’m The Man To Be en No Time To Crank The Sun  je de emotionele uitspattingen en de kleurrijke melodische motieven bezorgen die je van dit paar verwacht. De melancholie waarover ik het eerder had, hoor je perfect in de mooie afsluiter Careless, waarin Berninger zingt: “be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me…”

Er zijn heel wat slechtere dingen op de markt waaraan je je geld kan spenderen dan aan dit ingetogen, aangenaam album dat wellicht in heel wat eindejaarslijstjes zal opduiken!

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love