tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2015 : EL VY - Return To The Moon

EL VY

Return To The Moon

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

4-AD
20/11/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After issuing a handful of earthy emotive albums with his band The National, baritone songwriter Matt Berninger has seen fit to jolly things up a little under the moniker El Vy. It's a simple enough concept with former Menomena musician Brent Knopf helping the duo steer a positive course through lively funk-pop and sprightly seasoned blues-rock. There's still plenty of glumness on here but the feel is lighter and the mood is brighter as a rule.

Recent single Return to the Moon has the David Byrnes about it - jangly hooklines and discofied rhythms combine with Berninger's trademark tonsils that still sound like they've just woken up two hours after the rest of his body. Similar themes permeate Need a Friend and Happiness, Missouri while the slower explorations such as I'm The Man To Be and No Time To Crank The Sun trawl the usual emotional recesses and colourful melodic motifs you'd expect from the pair.

That glumness I mentioned rears its head on the rather pretty closing track Careless in which Berninger opines "be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me..." etc etc. Well you could do worse than invest in this understated, but enjoyable album that might scrape into a few year-end playlists for its trouble.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


NL

Na het uitbrengen van een handvol emotionele platen met zijn succesvolle band The National, vond baritonzanger Matt Berninger het blijkbaar nodig om wat vrolijkere dingen te doen, en dat onder de naam El Vy. Het concept is eenvoudig en wordt uitgevoerd met de hulp van de voormalige Menomena-muzikant Brent Knopf: een positieve koers brengen en dat door middel van levendige funkpop en doorgewinterde bluesrock. Af en toe is er wel wat ruimte voor melancholie, maar het voelt toch veel lichter aan dan wat hij met The National doet.

De recente single Return To The Moon heeft de typische hooks waar David Byrne meestal een patent op heeft, samen met een discoachtig ritme dat mooi wordt gecombineerd met Berningers amandelen, ook al denk je dat de twee nog maar twee uur wakker zijn.

Dezelfde aanpak hoor je in Need A Friend en Happinesss, Missouri, terwijl I’m The Man To Be en No Time To Crank The Sun  je de emotionele uitspattingen en de kleurrijke melodische motieven bezorgen die je van dit paar verwacht. De melancholie waarover ik het eerder had, hoor je perfect in de mooie afsluiter Careless, waarin Berninger zingt: “be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me…”

Er zijn heel wat slechtere dingen op de markt waaraan je je geld kan spenderen dan aan dit ingetogen, aangenaam album dat wellicht in heel wat eindejaarslijstjes zal opduiken!

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo