tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2015 : EL VY - Return To The Moon

EL VY

Return To The Moon

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

4-AD
20/11/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After issuing a handful of earthy emotive albums with his band The National, baritone songwriter Matt Berninger has seen fit to jolly things up a little under the moniker El Vy. It's a simple enough concept with former Menomena musician Brent Knopf helping the duo steer a positive course through lively funk-pop and sprightly seasoned blues-rock. There's still plenty of glumness on here but the feel is lighter and the mood is brighter as a rule.

Recent single Return to the Moon has the David Byrnes about it - jangly hooklines and discofied rhythms combine with Berninger's trademark tonsils that still sound like they've just woken up two hours after the rest of his body. Similar themes permeate Need a Friend and Happiness, Missouri while the slower explorations such as I'm The Man To Be and No Time To Crank The Sun trawl the usual emotional recesses and colourful melodic motifs you'd expect from the pair.

That glumness I mentioned rears its head on the rather pretty closing track Careless in which Berninger opines "be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me..." etc etc. Well you could do worse than invest in this understated, but enjoyable album that might scrape into a few year-end playlists for its trouble.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


NL

Na het uitbrengen van een handvol emotionele platen met zijn succesvolle band The National, vond baritonzanger Matt Berninger het blijkbaar nodig om wat vrolijkere dingen te doen, en dat onder de naam El Vy. Het concept is eenvoudig en wordt uitgevoerd met de hulp van de voormalige Menomena-muzikant Brent Knopf: een positieve koers brengen en dat door middel van levendige funkpop en doorgewinterde bluesrock. Af en toe is er wel wat ruimte voor melancholie, maar het voelt toch veel lichter aan dan wat hij met The National doet.

De recente single Return To The Moon heeft de typische hooks waar David Byrne meestal een patent op heeft, samen met een discoachtig ritme dat mooi wordt gecombineerd met Berningers amandelen, ook al denk je dat de twee nog maar twee uur wakker zijn.

Dezelfde aanpak hoor je in Need A Friend en Happinesss, Missouri, terwijl I’m The Man To Be en No Time To Crank The Sun  je de emotionele uitspattingen en de kleurrijke melodische motieven bezorgen die je van dit paar verwacht. De melancholie waarover ik het eerder had, hoor je perfect in de mooie afsluiter Careless, waarin Berninger zingt: “be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me…”

Er zijn heel wat slechtere dingen op de markt waaraan je je geld kan spenderen dan aan dit ingetogen, aangenaam album dat wellicht in heel wat eindejaarslijstjes zal opduiken!

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover