tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2015 : EL VY - Return To The Moon

EL VY

Return To The Moon

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

4-AD
20/11/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After issuing a handful of earthy emotive albums with his band The National, baritone songwriter Matt Berninger has seen fit to jolly things up a little under the moniker El Vy. It's a simple enough concept with former Menomena musician Brent Knopf helping the duo steer a positive course through lively funk-pop and sprightly seasoned blues-rock. There's still plenty of glumness on here but the feel is lighter and the mood is brighter as a rule.

Recent single Return to the Moon has the David Byrnes about it - jangly hooklines and discofied rhythms combine with Berninger's trademark tonsils that still sound like they've just woken up two hours after the rest of his body. Similar themes permeate Need a Friend and Happiness, Missouri while the slower explorations such as I'm The Man To Be and No Time To Crank The Sun trawl the usual emotional recesses and colourful melodic motifs you'd expect from the pair.

That glumness I mentioned rears its head on the rather pretty closing track Careless in which Berninger opines "be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me..." etc etc. Well you could do worse than invest in this understated, but enjoyable album that might scrape into a few year-end playlists for its trouble.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


NL

Na het uitbrengen van een handvol emotionele platen met zijn succesvolle band The National, vond baritonzanger Matt Berninger het blijkbaar nodig om wat vrolijkere dingen te doen, en dat onder de naam El Vy. Het concept is eenvoudig en wordt uitgevoerd met de hulp van de voormalige Menomena-muzikant Brent Knopf: een positieve koers brengen en dat door middel van levendige funkpop en doorgewinterde bluesrock. Af en toe is er wel wat ruimte voor melancholie, maar het voelt toch veel lichter aan dan wat hij met The National doet.

De recente single Return To The Moon heeft de typische hooks waar David Byrne meestal een patent op heeft, samen met een discoachtig ritme dat mooi wordt gecombineerd met Berningers amandelen, ook al denk je dat de twee nog maar twee uur wakker zijn.

Dezelfde aanpak hoor je in Need A Friend en Happinesss, Missouri, terwijl I’m The Man To Be en No Time To Crank The Sun  je de emotionele uitspattingen en de kleurrijke melodische motieven bezorgen die je van dit paar verwacht. De melancholie waarover ik het eerder had, hoor je perfect in de mooie afsluiter Careless, waarin Berninger zingt: “be careless with me, I don't know what you want from me…”

Er zijn heel wat slechtere dingen op de markt waaraan je je geld kan spenderen dan aan dit ingetogen, aangenaam album dat wellicht in heel wat eindejaarslijstjes zal opduiken!

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2015


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue