tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/03/2014 : THE PUSSYBATS - Pussypussybangbang

THE PUSSYBATS

Pussypussybangbang

MusicCD
Gothic RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Bellaphon / Gunn Records
23/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I already reviewed their last single and now is the time to review more... There is a nice extra, just for the fans: Leandra Ophelia Dax (Apoptygma Berzerk) plays piano and did some backings...

'Red Nose on' starts like a cool Punk song, like the one we see on MTV played by big stars (like The Offspring)... Love the chants and straightforward guitars!

I already reviewed the single, read it here: scary fairy

'4a Revolution' sound o so actual, for sure if you know the story of Ukraine... This one might become a hymn if used wisely! Love the roaring guitars and the cold voice! The lyrics are good, so who wants to be a hero and start a revolution?

'Tunes for Tragedy' starts with a synth/guitar tune that reminds me a bit of a David Fonseca song ('Under The Willow'), but fast enough the song changes into a nice Punk/Gothic Rock song, one of the kind that I love. Love the catchy sound and the voice is great! To come back at David Fonseca: the rhythm here is higher, but the similarity stays, but I think it's an accident.

Is 'Full Moon' based on the vampire movie? It has a nice melancholic sound, but the chorus is a bit too mellow for me. I like the guitar play on this one.

'Any other day in Hell' sounds a bit like the modern version of The Clash with a heavier guitar sound. Once again the catchy chorus caught me! They start to remind me of the adult version of Janez Detd and that is a good thing!

'Subversive' has a nice bass play, great chorus and a punky attitude for a Goth band!

'My name is Pain' reminds me of the Naruto series, can it be they are a fan of it? It would be fitting as an end song of the series like 'Go - Flow' (google it and find out for yourself). The Gothic voice comes out with brio together with the drums and roaring guitars! Love the clean voice too! The drummer plays a great and very good role in this one!

'Sidney Fears' starts slowly, but fastly grows out to a more rock minded song with a punky attitude, broken down by a nice piano and getting an hypnotic sound! Love the twists in this song! The screaming in the end is nice too! You really get it all in this song!

'Miss Purgatory' has a nice piano start, before bursting out into a Gothick Rock song with roaring guitars and the typical deep voice! Once again the chorus is great, seems to be their classic approach?! I love it, so they can keep it like that, just as the twists in the rhythm. Love the melancholic and hypnotic sound towards the end!

'Clownsome' is a nice piano ballad, where the clean vocals rule, just as the emotions and a certain pathos.

... and after that it's repeat and waking up with lots of noise!

I had lots of fun listening to this record! Loved the sound, the twists, the vocals, guitars and even the drummer...

I hope these guys find their way up!

 

 

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/03/2014


 

Next reviews
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
JEREMY BERG • FILM: The Invoking
JUNKSISTA • Life is Unfair (And Love is a Bitch) EP
JACQUES TATI • Jour De Fete
CONAN • Blood Eagle
KIMBERLEY PIERCE • Carrie
SEVERE ILLUSION • Deliberate Prefrontal Leucotomy
GABRIELA PICHLER • Eat Sleep Die

 

Other reviews from THE PUSSYBATS
THE PUSSYBATS • SCARY FAIRY

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day