tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/03/2014 : THE PUSSYBATS - Pussypussybangbang

THE PUSSYBATS

Pussypussybangbang

MusicCD
Gothic RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Bellaphon / Gunn Records
23/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I already reviewed their last single and now is the time to review more... There is a nice extra, just for the fans: Leandra Ophelia Dax (Apoptygma Berzerk) plays piano and did some backings...

'Red Nose on' starts like a cool Punk song, like the one we see on MTV played by big stars (like The Offspring)... Love the chants and straightforward guitars!

I already reviewed the single, read it here: scary fairy

'4a Revolution' sound o so actual, for sure if you know the story of Ukraine... This one might become a hymn if used wisely! Love the roaring guitars and the cold voice! The lyrics are good, so who wants to be a hero and start a revolution?

'Tunes for Tragedy' starts with a synth/guitar tune that reminds me a bit of a David Fonseca song ('Under The Willow'), but fast enough the song changes into a nice Punk/Gothic Rock song, one of the kind that I love. Love the catchy sound and the voice is great! To come back at David Fonseca: the rhythm here is higher, but the similarity stays, but I think it's an accident.

Is 'Full Moon' based on the vampire movie? It has a nice melancholic sound, but the chorus is a bit too mellow for me. I like the guitar play on this one.

'Any other day in Hell' sounds a bit like the modern version of The Clash with a heavier guitar sound. Once again the catchy chorus caught me! They start to remind me of the adult version of Janez Detd and that is a good thing!

'Subversive' has a nice bass play, great chorus and a punky attitude for a Goth band!

'My name is Pain' reminds me of the Naruto series, can it be they are a fan of it? It would be fitting as an end song of the series like 'Go - Flow' (google it and find out for yourself). The Gothic voice comes out with brio together with the drums and roaring guitars! Love the clean voice too! The drummer plays a great and very good role in this one!

'Sidney Fears' starts slowly, but fastly grows out to a more rock minded song with a punky attitude, broken down by a nice piano and getting an hypnotic sound! Love the twists in this song! The screaming in the end is nice too! You really get it all in this song!

'Miss Purgatory' has a nice piano start, before bursting out into a Gothick Rock song with roaring guitars and the typical deep voice! Once again the chorus is great, seems to be their classic approach?! I love it, so they can keep it like that, just as the twists in the rhythm. Love the melancholic and hypnotic sound towards the end!

'Clownsome' is a nice piano ballad, where the clean vocals rule, just as the emotions and a certain pathos.

... and after that it's repeat and waking up with lots of noise!

I had lots of fun listening to this record! Loved the sound, the twists, the vocals, guitars and even the drummer...

I hope these guys find their way up!

 

 

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/03/2014


 

Next reviews
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
JEREMY BERG • FILM: The Invoking
JUNKSISTA • Life is Unfair (And Love is a Bitch) EP
JACQUES TATI • Jour De Fete
CONAN • Blood Eagle
KIMBERLEY PIERCE • Carrie
SEVERE ILLUSION • Deliberate Prefrontal Leucotomy
GABRIELA PICHLER • Eat Sleep Die

 

Other reviews from THE PUSSYBATS
THE PUSSYBATS • SCARY FAIRY

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido