tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete

JACQUES TATI

Jour De Fete

MovieMovie classics
ComedyParody

[95/100]   

Lumire
20/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Peek-A-Boo will have a Tati-colour the coming weeks. Not only we will feature all six movies from the French master, but there will also be an informative interview with Ingrid Hoeben, a real Tati-connoisseur. The reason is quite simple for this, as from now on the complete restored works (including his short films) are available in a box, this both on DVD and Blu-ray. This precious item is published in the Benelux by Lumière.


A real cinematographic event that is very important for us, and for the world in general as Tati’s art has never been so relevant as today. But let’s kick off with the start: his debut Jour De Fête from 1949. This movie is completely shot in the small village Sainte-Sévère-sur-Indre at where you can find these days the Tati-museum as well. We all know this picture in black and white, but it was Tati’s goal to create a colour one. Sadly enough the cinematographer chooses for the Thomsoncolor-technique. A wrong decision as during the directing, the company went bankrupt and so all made material was useless. Luckily enough Tati has turned the film with his black and white camera as well.


Even if the movie is still one of the finest French films ever, you can say in some way that the movie is characterized by a (gorgeous) retro-style...without being dated, even if it never looks like a picture from 1949! You can hear some sounds (a cracking door, people who are mumbling something) but Jour De Fête definitely feels like a silent movie that is a tribute to both Chaplin (the fear for modern techniques, Modern Times) and Buster Keaton’s acrobatics. The movie is a logic sequel from the short movie L'école des facteurs that’s been made three years before. Jour De Fête is also the sole picture in where Tati doesn’t perform his well known Mr. Hulot-type.


François (Jacques Tati) is a postman like we know from the clichés. He likes to talk and drink. He makes his round with his bicycle, but it takes him all day. His life completely changes when the annual fair comes to town. He watches a documentary about the American post. Due to their efficiency, they can claim to be the fastest in the world. François is convinced that from now on he also will deliver the post à l’américaine. It’s the beginning of lots of hilarious situations.


You can interpret this movie in lots of different ways. You can for instance Tati see as a comedian like say The Keystone Cops are. In some scenes that’s indeed the case, but so you miss a lot of the real Tati-essence. One of his main arts is exposing the stupidity of this world. A fine example is the eternal fight between men and modern technology. So indeed, Chaplin à la Française. Even if that is not completely true as his real name sounds like Jacques Tatischeff, and that betrays some Russian blood.


After the immense success that Jour De Fête was, Tati got offered propositions to shoot some sequels. But as the artist said himself, he wasn’t keen on making Le Facteur à New York, which refers of course to the clownesque Louis De Funès. Tati went his own way, with a simple trenchcoat and a pipe he created one of the world’s biggest film icons, but that’s a story for our next review.

Didier BECU
20/03/2014


NL

De komende weken zal Peek-A-Boo een beetje Tati kleuren. Niet alleen zullen wij alle zes speelfilms van de Franse grootmeester belichten, ook verschijnt er binnenkort een exclusief interview met Tati-kenner Ingrid Hoeben op onze site. De reden daarvan is natuurlijk omdat het volledige oeuvre (inclusief de kortfilms) van Jacques Tati in een box wereldwijd (in de Benelux is dat via Lumière) is verschenen, en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.
 


Een cinematografisch evenement waar onze site toch eventjes wil bij stilstaan, want de cinema van Tati is relevanter dan ooit. Maar laat ons starten met het begin: Jour De Fête, het debuut uit 1949. Deze film die in Sainte-Sévère-sur-Indre werd opgenomen en waar je vandaag het Tati-museum kan bezoeken was eigenlijk Tatis eerste disillusie. Aanvankelijk droomde de filmmaker ervan om deze satire in kleuren te draaien, maar jammer genoeg koos hij voor Thomsoncolor. Een verkeerde beslissing omdat het Duitse bedrijf nog tijdens het draaien failliet ging waardoor alles onbruikbaar werd. Gelukkig maakte Tati reserveopnames met zijn zwart-witcamera.


Alhoewel de film vandaag nog altijd als één van de fijnste Franse producties ooit geldt, heeft Jour De Fête toch een (heerlijke) oubollige indruk. Je hoort wel geluiden (een piepende deur, mensen die iets onverstaanbaars mompelen) maar eigenlijk is het een stomme film met geluid die hulde brengt aan zowel Chaplin (de schrik voor de moderne techniek, Modern Times) als aan de acrobatietoeren van Buster Keaton. De film is eigenlijk het logische vervolg op de kortfilm L'école des facteurs die hij twee jaar geleden draaide. Het is trouwens de enige film waarin Tati niet zijn bekende Mr. Hulot-typetje uit de kast haalde.


François (Jacques Tati) is een postbode zoals wij hem kennen van de clichés. Hij houdt van een praatje en een drankje. Ook al gebruikt hij de fiets neemt zijn ronde desalniettemin een hele dag in beslag. Zijn leven verandert als in het dorp de jaarlijkse kermis plaatsvindt. Er wordt een film geprojecteerd die toont hoe efficiënt de Amerikaanse postbodes te werk gaan. François is er rotsvast van overtuigd dat hij ook hij de post à l’américaine kan bezorgen. De dorpsbewoners kunnen het geen moer schelen, wel is dat het startpunt voor een hele resem dolle fratsen.


Je kan deze film op verschillende manieren interpreteren. Tati als lolbroek bijv. Het is inderdaad zo dat verschillende scènes nog steeds dolkomisch zijn en helemaal niet gedateerd ogen, maar op zo’n manier mis je toch een bijzonder aspect van de wondere Tati-wereld. Deze komiek zette immers graag de wereld in zijn blootje waardoor Jour De Fête eigenlijk ook een burleske kijk is op het dwaze gevecht tussen mens en de moderne techniek. Chaplin op zijn Frans dus, alhoewel dat maar een halve waarheid is want de echte naam van deze naam luidt Jacques Tatischeff omdat er Russisch bloed door zijn aderen stroomde.


Na het immense succes mocht Tati van de Franse productiehuizen een paar vervolgfilms maken. De Franse komiek had echter naar eigen geen zin om Le Facteur à New York te draaien, waarmee hij uiteraard de clowneske De Funès in het vizier had. Tati ging zijn eigen weg en creëerde met een eenvoudige regenjas en een pijpje één van de grootste iconen uit de filmgeschiedenis, maar dat verhaal vertellen we in de volgende bespreking.

Didier BECU
20/03/2014


20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete 20/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Jour De Fete

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire