tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America

BOB GOLDTHWAIT

God Bless America

Movie
ActionCrimeParody

[61/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
06/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those people who get sick when noticing that nobodies become real stars, just because they are plain stupid? You know, we’re talking about that dumb blonde from American Idol (or whatever that crap might be!) who can’t boil egg and becomes famous for that! Frank (Joel Murray) hates them too. After being sacked at his company, his wife divorces him and his ten year-old daughter who wants no contact with a loser, Frank completely looses it. His first victim is the arrogant child star Chloë. While the teen star is choking in her own blood, the sixteen year-old Roxy (Tara Lynne Barr) looks amused. Without really wanting it, Frank has found a partner. As a contemporary cruel Bonnie & Clyde the two shoot everyone down who has helped to grown the bad taste.

God Bless America is a very difficult movie to categorize. Of course it is a parody, but at the same time you’ll notice that director Bobcat Goldthwait is completely bored and dissapointed by the current media who idiolize being dumb. At times director Bobcat Goldthwait is loosing himself with making somes scenes a bit too over the top, but that’s a minor thing. The movie itself is funny and interesting enough to give it a chance, and even to understand the protagonists (at least if you have some brains).

Who is Bobcat Goldthwait you think? Well, everyone knows this stand up comedian as he played Zed in Police Academy (the bungler with the weird voice). God Bless America is even not his directing debut, as he got some (little) fame with World's Greatest Dad starring the late Robin Williams.

God Bless America is easy to find on both DVD and Blu-ray onDutch FilmWorks.

Didier BECU
06/10/2014


NL

Erger jij je ook aan die televisieprogramma’s waarin nietsnutten tot sterren worden verheven? Je kent ze wel: het domme blondje dat niet kan koken en door haar debiel gedrag een grote ster wordt. Frank (Joel Murray) heeft het ook gehad met deze leeghoofden. Hij is net ontslagen, zijn vrouw is er vandoor en zijn tienjarige dochter heeft geen zin om haar tijd met een loser door te brengen. Kortom, de stoppen slaan compleet door bij Frank en zijn eerste slachtoffer is het arrogante kindsterretje Chloë. Terwijl de vedette wordt afgemaakt kijkt de zestienjarige Roxy (Tara Lynne Barr) vol plezier toe. Zonder dat hij het echt wil heeft Frank een bondgenoot te pakken gekregen. Als een meedogenloze hedendaagse Bonnie & Clyde knallen zij samen iedereen neer die ervoor heeft gezorgd dat de huidige maatschappij er zo inhoudsloos uitziet.

God Bless America is moeilijk te categoriseren. Het is natuurlijk wel een parodie, maar tegelijkertijd merk je dat regisseur Bobcat Goldthwait maar weinig respijt voor de media heeft. Want tja, misschien ligt het wel aan ondergetekende, maar wie heeft er af en toe geen zin om televisiesterren uit Komen Eten of (godbetert) Sterren Op De Dansvloer voorgoed uit de ether te halen? Soms verliest Bobcat Goldthwait wel serieus de pedalen waardoor de film niet alleen rommelig oogt, maar ook volledig van de pot is gerukt. Desalniettemin is de prent interessant genoeg om hem een kans te gunnen.

O ja, wie die Bobcat Goldthwait nu is? Iedereen kent deze stand-upcomedian, hij is immers Zed uit Police Academy (de klungel met het rare stemmetje). God Bless America is niet zijn debuut, zijn grootste wapenfeit tot dusver is World's Greatest Dad met de betreurde Robin Williams.

God Bless America is eenvoudig te vinden op dvd en Blu-ray via Dutch FilmWorks.

Didier BECU
06/10/2014


06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America 06/10/2014 : BOB GOLDTHWAIT - God Bless America

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design