tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

MovieTV series
ActionTV Series
Warner Home Video
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Today, television stations try everything to make their series look like films. Money is not important (at least that is what we think) and lots of films simply fade next to current series. There are plenty of examples, but if you have to choose the ultimate action series, then Strike Back is without doubt one of the best.

Critics often compare the style of Strike Back with the work of Guy Richie and Paul Greengrass, and that's not such a crazy comparison, because the uptight camerawork of Strike Back makes you feel like you are in the middle of the action. This Cinemax-production was especially in English-speaking countries a huge success. In England, fiv e seasons have been released, but because the series was detected at a much later stage here, the third season is now in the shops.

This ten-part series is based on the book by former SAS soldier Chris Ryan and focuses on the elite team Section 20 (a part of MI6, since the third season under the leadership of Major Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). This time the team is sent to Africa because a cargo of nuclear weapons has fallen into wrong hands during a mission in Somalia. Section 25 has to deal with the millionaire Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) who wants to use these nuclear weapons to strengthen the position of his own private army. Although this mission forms the main part of the third season, there are also a lot of other stories added, so we get to know better the Section 20-members. They behave like superheroes, but in their hearts they are simple people who are full of doubts, they’re fighting machines with a conscience. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is seeking revenge on Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), the murderer of his wife, and his American colleague Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) has to deal with CIA agent Christy Bryant ( Stephanie Vogt).

Perhaps you could say that the characters are a bit flat, but tension and action create so much adrenaline that you forget that quickly. The stories are not always credible, but on the other hand, the characters are real, and not the kind of Rambo’s like only Hollywood can create them. Or to summarize it in one sentence: anyone who wants to see sublime action, can take Strike Back at home. The third season is now out on Warner, both on DVD and Blu-ray. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Tegenwoordig proberen televisiestations alles om hun series er als films uit te laten zien. Er wordt niet naar het kostenplaatje gekeken (ten minste dat denken we toch) en vaak verbleken heel wat films als je ze naast de huidige overvloed van series legt. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg, maar als je de ultieme actieserie uit het torenhoge aanbod moet lichten, dan is Strike Back zonder meer één van de allerbeste in zijn soort.

Buitenlandse recensenten vergelijken de stijl van Strike Back vaak met die van Guy Richie en Paul Greengrass, en dat is niet eens zo’n maffe vergelijking, want net als bij deze gerenommeerde cineasten zorgt ook hier het hypernerveuze camerawerk ervoor dat het lijkt alsof je middenin de actie zit. Vooral in de Engelstalige landen is deze productie van Cinemax een gigantisch succes. In Engeland heeft men ondertussen met het vijfde seizoen definitief het doek over deze actiereeks gegooid, maar omdat het hier een tijdje duurde vooraleer men Strike Back ontdekte, zitten wij nog maar aan het derde seizoen.

Deze tiendelige reeks is gebaseerd op het gelijknamige boek van de gewezen SAS-soldaat Chris Ryan en spitst zich toe op het eliteteam Section 20 (een onderdeel van MI6) dat sinds het derde seizoen onder leiding staat van Majoor Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). Meteen wordt het team naar Afrika gestuurd omdat een lading nucleaire wapens tijdens een missie in Somalië in de verkeerde handen zijn gevallen. Daarmee komt het team tegenover de miljonair Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) te staan die de kernwapens wil gebruiken om de positie van zijn eigen privéleger te versterken. Alhoewel deze opdracht de hoofdbrok van dit derde seizoen vormt, zijn er ook een heleboel randverhalen waardoor we de leden van de Section 20 beter leren kennen. Ze gedragen zich als superhelden, maar in hun binnenste zijn het gewoon mensen vol twijfels, gevechtmachines met een geweten. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is op zoek naar Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), de moordenaar van zijn vrouw, en ook zijn Amerikaanse collega Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) heeft een rekening te vereffenen, en wel met de CIA-agente Christy Bryant (Stephanie Vogt).

Je kan misschien wel zeggen dat men de karakters niet voldoende heeft uitgediept (bij welke actiereeks, behalve 24 misschien, doet men dat trouwens wel?), maar de spanning en de actie zorgen voor zo veel adrenaline dat je dat snel vergeet. De verhalen zijn niet altijd even geloofwaardig, maar daar staat tegenover dat de personages levensecht zijn en geen Rambos zoals alleen Hollywood ze kan bedenken. Of om het in één zin samen te vatten: wie sublieme actie wil, moet Strike Back in huis halen. Het derde seizoen is vanaf nu uit op Warner, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

 

Next reviews
THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS • Born In The Echoes
DEZ MONA • Ten albums That Changed (our) Lives
HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DESIREE AKHAVAN • Appropriate Behavior
DEAD • TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: ACTION + TV SERIES
• Arrow-Season 2
• Chicago Fire Season 2
• NIKITA Season 4
• Nikita, Season 3

 

Same genre: ACTION
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
JULIUS AVERY • Son Of A Gun
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
JAMES WAN • Fast & Furious 7
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
GILLES BEHAT • Rue Barbare
• THE 100 SEASON 1
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide