tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

MovieTV series
ActionTV Series
Warner Home Video
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Today, television stations try everything to make their series look like films. Money is not important (at least that is what we think) and lots of films simply fade next to current series. There are plenty of examples, but if you have to choose the ultimate action series, then Strike Back is without doubt one of the best.

Critics often compare the style of Strike Back with the work of Guy Richie and Paul Greengrass, and that's not such a crazy comparison, because the uptight camerawork of Strike Back makes you feel like you are in the middle of the action. This Cinemax-production was especially in English-speaking countries a huge success. In England, fiv e seasons have been released, but because the series was detected at a much later stage here, the third season is now in the shops.

This ten-part series is based on the book by former SAS soldier Chris Ryan and focuses on the elite team Section 20 (a part of MI6, since the third season under the leadership of Major Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). This time the team is sent to Africa because a cargo of nuclear weapons has fallen into wrong hands during a mission in Somalia. Section 25 has to deal with the millionaire Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) who wants to use these nuclear weapons to strengthen the position of his own private army. Although this mission forms the main part of the third season, there are also a lot of other stories added, so we get to know better the Section 20-members. They behave like superheroes, but in their hearts they are simple people who are full of doubts, they’re fighting machines with a conscience. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is seeking revenge on Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), the murderer of his wife, and his American colleague Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) has to deal with CIA agent Christy Bryant ( Stephanie Vogt).

Perhaps you could say that the characters are a bit flat, but tension and action create so much adrenaline that you forget that quickly. The stories are not always credible, but on the other hand, the characters are real, and not the kind of Rambo’s like only Hollywood can create them. Or to summarize it in one sentence: anyone who wants to see sublime action, can take Strike Back at home. The third season is now out on Warner, both on DVD and Blu-ray. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Tegenwoordig proberen televisiestations alles om hun series er als films uit te laten zien. Er wordt niet naar het kostenplaatje gekeken (ten minste dat denken we toch) en vaak verbleken heel wat films als je ze naast de huidige overvloed van series legt. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg, maar als je de ultieme actieserie uit het torenhoge aanbod moet lichten, dan is Strike Back zonder meer één van de allerbeste in zijn soort.

Buitenlandse recensenten vergelijken de stijl van Strike Back vaak met die van Guy Richie en Paul Greengrass, en dat is niet eens zo’n maffe vergelijking, want net als bij deze gerenommeerde cineasten zorgt ook hier het hypernerveuze camerawerk ervoor dat het lijkt alsof je middenin de actie zit. Vooral in de Engelstalige landen is deze productie van Cinemax een gigantisch succes. In Engeland heeft men ondertussen met het vijfde seizoen definitief het doek over deze actiereeks gegooid, maar omdat het hier een tijdje duurde vooraleer men Strike Back ontdekte, zitten wij nog maar aan het derde seizoen.

Deze tiendelige reeks is gebaseerd op het gelijknamige boek van de gewezen SAS-soldaat Chris Ryan en spitst zich toe op het eliteteam Section 20 (een onderdeel van MI6) dat sinds het derde seizoen onder leiding staat van Majoor Rachel Dalton (Rhona Mitra). Meteen wordt het team naar Afrika gestuurd omdat een lading nucleaire wapens tijdens een missie in Somalië in de verkeerde handen zijn gevallen. Daarmee komt het team tegenover de miljonair Conrad Knox (Charles Dance) te staan die de kernwapens wil gebruiken om de positie van zijn eigen privéleger te versterken. Alhoewel deze opdracht de hoofdbrok van dit derde seizoen vormt, zijn er ook een heleboel randverhalen waardoor we de leden van de Section 20 beter leren kennen. Ze gedragen zich als superhelden, maar in hun binnenste zijn het gewoon mensen vol twijfels, gevechtmachines met een geweten. Michael Stonebridge (Philip Winchester) is op zoek naar Craig Hanson (Shane Taylor), de moordenaar van zijn vrouw, en ook zijn Amerikaanse collega Damien Scott (Sullivan Stapleton) heeft een rekening te vereffenen, en wel met de CIA-agente Christy Bryant (Stephanie Vogt).

Je kan misschien wel zeggen dat men de karakters niet voldoende heeft uitgediept (bij welke actiereeks, behalve 24 misschien, doet men dat trouwens wel?), maar de spanning en de actie zorgen voor zo veel adrenaline dat je dat snel vergeet. De verhalen zijn niet altijd even geloofwaardig, maar daar staat tegenover dat de personages levensecht zijn en geen Rambos zoals alleen Hollywood ze kan bedenken. Of om het in één zin samen te vatten: wie sublieme actie wil, moet Strike Back in huis halen. Het derde seizoen is vanaf nu uit op Warner, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3 18/08/2015 :  - STRIKE BACK SEASON 3

 

Next reviews
THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS • Born In The Echoes
DEZ MONA • Ten albums That Changed (our) Lives
HERMAN KLAPHOLZ (AH CAMA-SOTZ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DESIREE AKHAVAN • Appropriate Behavior
DEAD • TRANSMISSIONS & VERSE (EP)
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
DAVID CRONENBERG • Maps To The Stars
CESAR CANALI (VOLKOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
KAMMARHEIT • The Nest

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: ACTION + TV SERIES
• Arrow-Season 2
• Chicago Fire Season 2
• NIKITA Season 4
• Nikita, Season 3

 

Same genre: ACTION
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
JULIUS AVERY • Son Of A Gun
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
JAMES WAN • Fast & Furious 7
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
GILLES BEHAT • Rue Barbare
• THE 100 SEASON 1
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday