tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire

R. ELLIS FRAZIER

Misfire

Movie
Action

[55/100]   

Image Entertainment
06/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Over here the name from Gary Daniels isn’t that known, but in the States that is totally different. He played some minor roles in films like The Expendables, but everybody knows him there as the ruling champ in the WKBA kickbox-league. Lots of fans were waiting for Misfire: a movie that since now is available in the UK through Image Entertainment.

This action flick by R. Ellis Frazier is not innovating, but surely good enough for fans who wants to see some real fists instead of cheap CG-effects. The story is a bit thin, but that is compensated by good performances. Daniels who looks really familiar with Daniel Craig does what he’s supposed to do (beating his contenders to death), but especially his helper Vannessa Vasquez was a nice relief. And no, we’re not saying this because this lady looks so gorgeous!

Oh yes, and you need that story too! Cole (Gary Daniels) is a DEA-agent who is specialised in chasing drug dealers. He is suspended because once again he has obeyed some orders. There’s no time to sit still as his ex-wife Sarah (Patricia Peinado-Cruz) is kidnapped by a Mexican drug cartel. Sarah is a journalist and it seems like she has done her job a bit too precious. In the meantime, Sarah has married Cole’s brother, but as her ex is the only person who can handle such things, he’s send to Mexico to free her. During this dangerous mission Cole gets the unexpected, but great help from Gracie (Vannessa Vasquez).

We’re honest about it, you don’t have to buy this movie for its story as everyone can come up with something like that. But, and that you know too, such scripts are normal for this genre. You saw it before, and probably even better, but if you love this type of films then you can consider it as an ode to the good old fashioned action films from the 80’s.

Misfire is out on Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
06/10/2014


NL

Bij ons is de naam van Gary Daniels zo goed als bekend, maar in de States is dat toch heel andere koek. Hij speelde een heleboel kleine rolletjes in films zoals The Expendables, maar is in de eerste plaats een gevierde WKBA kickboks-kampioen waardoor menig fan uitkeek naar Misfire: een film die sinds kort via Image nu ook in het Verenigd Koninkrijk beschikbaar is.

Deze actiefilm van R. Ellis Frazier is verre van vernieuwend, maar aantrekkelijk genoeg voor actiefans die nog eens echte vuisten in plaats van goedkope CG-effecten op hun scherm willen zien. Het verhaal is wat slapjes, maar wordt gelukkig opgevangen door degelijke vertolkingen. Daniels die verdomd veel op Daniel Craig lijkt doet wat hij moet doen (zijn tegenstanders neermeppen), maar vooral zijn hulpje Vannessa Vasquez kon ons bekoren. En neen, dat zeggen we niet alleen omdat deze dame er zo betoverend mooi uitziet!

O ja, en dan dat verhaal! Cole (Gary Daniels) is een drugagent die voor onbepaalde tijd is geschorst omdat hij steeds maar de bevelen aan zijn laars lapt. Hij komt te weten dat zijn ex-vrouw Sarah (Patricia Peinado-Cruz) door een drugkartel is gekidnapt omdat zij haar werk als journaliste net iets te nauwkeurig uitvoerde. Ondertussen is zijn broer met zijn ex getrouwd, maar omdat Cole over de nodige vuisten beschikt is Cole de man die het zaakje zal moeten klaren. Cole krijgt de onverwachte hulp van Gracie (Vannessa Vasquez). Samen gaan zij richting Mexico in de hoop Sarah uit de klauwen van de maffia te kunnen krijgen.

In alle eerlijkheid zouden zelfs wij dit verhaal hebben kunnen bedenken (wie niet trouwens?), maar dergelijke scenario’s zijn nu eenmaal schering en inslag bij dit soort films. Je hebt het allemaal al eens eerder gezien (om niet te zeggen beter), maar toch bezit Misfire een heerlijk vleugje melancholie dat je doet terugdenken aan de hoogdagen van de videotape toen de winkelrekken met dit soort actiefilms werd overspoeld. Verwaarloosbaar, zo veel is zeker, maar genietbaar voor wie van ouderwetse knokfilms houdt.

Misfire is uit op Image Entertainment.

Didier BECU
06/10/2014


06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire 06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire 06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire 06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire 06/10/2014 : R. ELLIS FRAZIER - Misfire

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design