tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West

SETH MACFARLANE

A Million Ways To Die In The West

Movie
ComedyParodyWestern

[63/100]   

Universal Pictures
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We better warn you before you start watching A Million Ways To Die In The West. The maker is Seth MacFarlane. Some hate him, some love him, but the man who created both Family Guy and American Dad doesn’t care. If you want to reach the big audience then they’re no borders. After having made his film debut that featured a brutal teddy bear (Ted), Universal gave him total freedom. His next move is a western parody! Wait a moment! Did Mel Brooks make something like that in 1974? Yes, but mind you, A Million Ways To Die In The West is not completely a Blazing Saddles-copy. And no, that’s not a bad thing. Seth MacFarlane will never be remembered for his cinematographic skills, but he definitely knows how to make a movie funny!

When you watch all those westerns by John Ford you’d swear you only find gunfighters in the Wild West, but there were surely some pussies around. Shepherd Albert (Seth MacFarlane) is one of them. If he’s challenged for a duel, you can bet your money on it that he runs away like a coward. His girlfriend Louise (Amanda Seyfried) is bored by this behaviour and wants a real man on her side. Albert’s life as a bachelor is short as out of the blue comes the handsome Anna (Charlize Theron) who considers him as the man of her life. The poor sod doesn’t realize that she’s the wife from the feared outlaw Clinch (Liam Neeson).

No, you won’t find any subtlety in A Million Ways To Die In The West, but this was of course never Seth MacFarlane’s goal. You even will find people around who think that this type of humour should be banned, but the real truth is that this is fun! Okay, if you really force use to say something bad then we had to admit that this parody never equals Ted and of course that’s the film is far too long (two hours for a comedy never works). The acting is decent and of course Charlize Theron is gorgeous as a cowgirl. But then again, she’s always gorgeous! Something we can’t say about Seth MacFarlane who really can’t act, and that’s quite a painful thing if you’re having the main role!

 A Million Ways To Die In The West is out on DVD and Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

Vooraleer je aan A Million Ways To Die In The West weet je maar bedenker dat de man achter de camera Seth MacFarlane is. Inderdaad, de bedenker van Family Guy en American Dad die met zijn filmdebuut het geniale idee had om met een grofgebekte teddybeer (Ted) op de proppen te komen. Het gevolg was dat MacFarlane zijn vrije gang mocht gaan van de Universal-studio’s. Hij koos dit keer voor een parodie op de western. Wacht eens, deed Mel Brooks dat niet in 1974? Jawel, maar A Million Ways To Die In The West is Blazing Saddles niet. En neen, dat is niet eens een sneer aan het adres van Seth MacFarlane. Zijn doel is overduidelijk: vulgaire grappen die net niet de grens van de goede smaak overschrijden (alhoewel!) naar het Wilde Westen transformeren. Op cinematografisch vlak valt er weinig moois te bespeuren, qua entertainment kan het tellen!

Als je de westerns van John Ford bekijkt zou je het niet meteen merken, maar niet iedereen was een held in het Wilde Westen. De schapenboer Albert (Seth MacFarlane) is zo’n mietje. Als hij wordt uitgedaagd voor een duel dan muist hij er zich op de meest lullige manier vandoor. Zijn liefje Louise (Amanda Seyfried) heeft er schoon genoeg van en wil eindelijk een echte vent aan haar zijde. Albert is echter niet voor lange tijd een vrijgezel. Geheel onverwachts maakt de knappe Anna (Charlize Theron) hem het hof. De herder vertoeft niet langt in de zevende hemel, want al gauw blijkt de blondine de echtgenote van de gevaarlijke outlaw Clinch (Liam Neeson) te zijn.

Subtiliteit moet je in A Million Ways To Die In The West niet gaan zoeken, maar iedereen weet dat dit nooit de bedoeling van Seth MacFarlane is geweest. Er zullen beslist mensen rondlopen die vinden dat zo’n humor zou moeten worden verbannen, maar het blijft een feit dat het onweerstaanbaar grappig is. In alle eerlijkheid is deze parodie niet zo grappig als Ted en is twee uur voor een komedie een te lange filmrit, toch is A Million Ways To Die In The West aan te raden als je van dit soort ongein houdt. De acteerprestaties zijn best aardig, vooral Charlize Theron is heerlijk als cowgirl (maar ja, wanneer is zij dat niet?). Seth MacFarlane daarentegen was beter achter de camera gebleven, want acteren kan hij niet en dat is pijnlijk als je de hoofdrol vertolkt!

 A Million Ways To Die In The West is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)