tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/03/2014 : THE GRAVIATORS - Motherload

THE GRAVIATORS

Motherload

MusicCD
DoomGaragerockHeavy MetalStonerock

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
18/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After the release of their fantastic and critically acclaimed full length "Evil Deeds" and the split 7" with their label mates MONKEY3, THE GRAVIATORS return with their latest studio effort "Motherload". The brilliant vintage analog sound combines the Hard Rock of the Seventies with a good dose of Doom Metal and Stoner Rock with an occult vibe. The voice is a mix between the early Iron Maiden, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath. A great special bonus is the re-recording of "Druid´s Ritual", a classic from the band’s back catalogue. The song lasts for almost 14 minutes and is a show off at its brilliance (and is not boring at all, you just got it all in one package). "Motherload" is an impressive Doom Stoner Metal. Well, I didn't need to change much to the promo talk to make it my own. Normally I hate promo talk and look at it and think in the end it's all blablabla, but now it's simply hitting the spot!

I simply love the epic retreo sound, great guitars, great drums, great clean voice... a fine metal jewel!

some of my favorite tracks: 'Bed of Bitches' (nice title, love the voice in this one, great guitars and bass), 'Tigress of Siberia' (love the relance and the sound), 'Lost Lord' (the intro reminds me of some 70's Black Sabbath song, the name just slips away or can it be Deep Purple and am not directly referring to 'Smoke on the water' and there's also a little The Doors 'intermission'), 'Corpauthority' (great riffs, great sound, love the roaring guitars and changes in the tempo, just as the voice: in this one a bit more like the guy from Brainstorm) and the last song is also a great one (but I already said something about it)... time for more!

The interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
18/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JOSH STOLBERG • The hungover games
SNOWBIRD • Moon / Luna
DITO MONTIEL • Empire State
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
PAUL GREENGRASS • Captain Phillips
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Hard Drugs & BDSM EP
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
ALBERT & CHARLES BAND • Doctor Mordrid
VAN CANTO • Dawn of the Brave

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls