tempobet yeni adresi

20/08/2014 : LONELY KAMEL - Shit City

LONELY KAMEL

Shit City

MusicCD
BluesHard RockHeavy MetalPunkStonerock

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
20/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

One thing that attracted me from the start is the nice artwork. So yes, first take a look at it and then you can start listening to the music and let yourself go! With their fourth album these Norwegians guys play a mixture from 70’s hard rock, stoner rock, blues, psychedelica and doom.

Shit City is the perfect opening track: it's hard, raw and has a punk-attitude. In a way you can even say that the song sounds between Iggy and the Stooges and The Black Crowes. The only thing that need some time to get used to are the vocals the background.

The aggressive attitude and its straightforward sound are simply great. They play as if their life depends on it!

White Lines is another one that rocks your socks off! Is it Over? sounds a bit more blues with some space influences and is probably added with some extra mushrooms from the 70's!

I feel sick sounds a bit as if they started writing about what happened after the first tracks, and yes there is that 70’s feel again!

Seal the perimeter has a heavy doom sound but enriched with sharp guitars. The tempo however is a bit too slow to be perfect, but still a good track that captivates the vocals.

Freezing could be again about drugs infiltrating the brain. The vocals stay clean and sharp, just like the music! The retro 70's sound is smoothly infiltrated with a nu-doom sound

BFD has what I would classify as a nice desert sound: very country and very blues-like!

Falling Down might sound like a love song, but is as sharp as a knife. A great retro rocker it is!

Nightjar is a great track to end with! You can smell the smoke and I assure you, it's not coming from a fire! So let’s hope we’ll hear more from them as they deserve it!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/08/2014


 

Next reviews
MARC WEBB • The Amazing Spider-Man 2
WINNE CLEMENT • Improvisations
STRIKER • City of Gold
JOHN CARPENTER • Escape From L.A.
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
ENGINEERS • Always Returning
JASON REITMAN • Labor Day
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
MASSIMO DISCEPOLI • PARALLAX
GOD'S BOW • Fallen

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
COTTON BELLY'S • Rainy Road
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012

Music reviews

16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation
08
10
SPECIAL LOVE
Unloveable
07
10
ASTARI NITE
Dreams Of Majesty
06
10
SUBTERFUGE
Blind To Reason

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!
29
09
VIII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2018 -NEWSLETTER- OF MASTERS, SERVANTS AND BIG MOMENTS!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second
03
10
PARADE GROUND
'We play with our figure as acrobats. We see the audience as instruments and love to play with them.'

PHOTOS

14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK
27
09
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Rockhal Luxemburg
25
09
LLUMEN
Electrowerkz, London, UK
25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
14
10
RED ZEBRA
The Art Of Conversation
12
10
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins