tempobet yeni adresi

20/08/2014 : LONELY KAMEL - Shit City

LONELY KAMEL

Shit City

MusicCD
BluesHard RockHeavy MetalPunkStonerock

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
20/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

One thing that attracted me from the start is the nice artwork. So yes, first take a look at it and then you can start listening to the music and let yourself go! With their fourth album these Norwegians guys play a mixture from 70’s hard rock, stoner rock, blues, psychedelica and doom.

Shit City is the perfect opening track: it's hard, raw and has a punk-attitude. In a way you can even say that the song sounds between Iggy and the Stooges and The Black Crowes. The only thing that need some time to get used to are the vocals the background.

The aggressive attitude and its straightforward sound are simply great. They play as if their life depends on it!

White Lines is another one that rocks your socks off! Is it Over? sounds a bit more blues with some space influences and is probably added with some extra mushrooms from the 70's!

I feel sick sounds a bit as if they started writing about what happened after the first tracks, and yes there is that 70’s feel again!

Seal the perimeter has a heavy doom sound but enriched with sharp guitars. The tempo however is a bit too slow to be perfect, but still a good track that captivates the vocals.

Freezing could be again about drugs infiltrating the brain. The vocals stay clean and sharp, just like the music! The retro 70's sound is smoothly infiltrated with a nu-doom sound

BFD has what I would classify as a nice desert sound: very country and very blues-like!

Falling Down might sound like a love song, but is as sharp as a knife. A great retro rocker it is!

Nightjar is a great track to end with! You can smell the smoke and I assure you, it's not coming from a fire! So let’s hope we’ll hear more from them as they deserve it!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/08/2014


 

Next reviews
MARC WEBB • The Amazing Spider-Man 2
WINNE CLEMENT • Improvisations
STRIKER • City of Gold
JOHN CARPENTER • Escape From L.A.
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
ENGINEERS • Always Returning
JASON REITMAN • Labor Day
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
MASSIMO DISCEPOLI • PARALLAX
GOD'S BOW • Fallen

 

Same genre: BLUES
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites
COTTON BELLY'S • Rainy Road
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted