tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

14/03/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4

VARIOUS ARTISTS

UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthMinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Walhalla Records
14/03/2014, Peter TYLER

Walhalla Records, the recordstore and cult label of Lieven De Ridder, released it’s fourth in this great series of Underground Wave, a very fine selection of tracks for the first time ever on vinyl !

Schicksal opens the album with “Power hate destruction” a great and exclusive unreleased track. On Volume 1 of this series you could find the tracks “Saturday” and “Time”  two tracks coming from the 1985 compilation tape “Climax”. The founder of the label “Climax Productions” was Desa D who appears twice here, once with “Ratbau” and also with “A Thunder Orchestra” Two excellent tracks and we’re completely back in 1985 as the Ratbau track “Ordinateur” is a live recoding recorded at the “Tom Tom Club” in Antwerp. My favourite of side A is M.Bryo, the solo project of Mark Burghgraeve of Somnambulist. The Arch is also present with “Ice in your eyes” a track of which they say it was the last song at concerts back in 1988, it sounds a bit like the Cassandra Complex, but it made me check my turntable twice to see if it was still spinning at the correct speed..

Side B opens brilliantly with “Genetic Factor”"Another nice thing on these compilations is the nice insert full of info on each track.. because I could have sworn it was a Marc Verhaeghen track but no Genetic Factor is a guy named Richard Zeilstra.. made in 1982 (not the guy but the track that is)

We’re staying in Holland with the next track from “Elektronische Maschine” a band I have already seen live too and for the first time we have a track of the nineties on this Underground Wave compilations series.. Elektronische Maschine is a great band, also live, and this track is fresh synth-pop.

The last band from Holland on this Lp is “No honey from these”.. and what a discovery this is.. first time I can really compare a band with “Suicide” and "Alan Vega"

Back to Belgium with the last two tracks of this great album.. Paschen’s law, another discovery, sounds a bit like Yellow Magic Orchestra, Logic, … and Bene Gesserit. has the honour of closing this compilation album. with a track so brilliant I’m playing this one over and over.. ‘Les Aliens’ starts with a piano like the Are Friends Electric cover by An Pierlé and evolves in a very Attrition-like track…

This whole album breaths an unlimited passion and creativity.. compiled by someone with those same qualities.

Lieven is like a walking encyclopedia of underground, wave, minimal synth, coldwave.. and thanks to his huge collection of tapes and records we can all discover some great tunes that were impossible to find before. Each time when you think you’ve heard it all.. he comes up with a new compilation with a whole bunch of “new” discoveries or long forgotten tracks.. 

 Tracklist:

A-side

1) Schicksal: Power Hate Destruction (03:41)

2) Ratbau: Ordinateur (05:06)

3) Palais Des Bauzards: It’s Disgusting (remix) (04:29)

4) A Thunder Orchestra: Shall I Do It? (04:02)

5) M.Bryo: Let’s Go To War (04:18)

6) The Arch: Ice In Your Eyes (03:11)

 

B-side

7) Genetic Factor: The Lizard King, Empty Highway (05:02)

8) Elektronische Machine: Tanz 86 (04:11)

9) No Honey From These: Dreams (04:32)

10) Paschen’s Law: Magnifying Transmitter (06:20)

11) Bene Gesserit: Les Aliens (06:03)

 

Peter TYLER
14/03/2014


14/03/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4 14/03/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4

 

Next reviews
ALBERT & CHARLES BAND • Doctor Mordrid
VAN CANTO • Dawn of the Brave
JON TURTELTAUB • Last Vegas
DSX • Shifted
POU-SOI CHEANG • Motorway
THE ARMS OF SOMEONE NEW • Every Seventh Wave EP
STURLA GUNNARSSON • Ice Soldiers
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
JULIA MURAT • Historias Que So existem Quando Lembradas
LAIBACH • Laibach - Spectre Tour @ Depot - Leuven - B (10.03.2014)

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna