tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/03/2014 : VAN CANTO - Dawn of the Brave

VAN CANTO

Dawn of the Brave

MusicCD
ExperimentalHeavy MetalPost-Metal

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
14/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Van Canto stands for a nice mix of a capella (they are a German sextet) voices mixed with a symphonic metal-sound! The vocals are very diverse and really powerful, supported by a real drum! The songs are well chosen and as they are all talented it isn’t all the time the same one singing, so the variety in the vocals is very wide! Or as one posted after reading this review: it's metal without guitars?!' And that is very innovative!

more info: Charlie Bauerfeind (Blind Guardian, Helloween, Hammerfall) produced the drum recordings. The album was mixed by sound wizard Ronald Prent (Manowar, Rammstein, Within Temptation) at the Wisseloord Studio 2

The album starts with 'Dawn of the Brave', a very good one for an intro: almost completely a capella!

'Fight for your life' has nice guitars & drums! This one is really the full throttle for the sextet of great voices! The symphonic metal is here at its best! A great song!

'To the mountains' gets a more Wagner-minded approach, love the 'ticky dum'-minded lyrical part.

'Bedaboom' has a nice sound à la Haggard, very symphonic and reaching a high!

'The Final Countdown' gets a great version, this song has been played and taken over by a lot of bands, but this version is really a pearl! Just listen to it and hear for yourself!

'Steal Breaker' brings us catchy metal with a high octane male voice! Sounds something for old school metal lovers, well I love it anyway!

'The Awakening' is simply a great song with great voices! I love the chorus & the battle of voices! It's a bit a Haggard minded song (very symphonic, energetic, great drums & rhythmic guitar work). I simply love the sound and one can't stop moving during this song. It must be an absolute hit on stage?!

'The other ones' has a more introverted sound, it almost sounds like a metal-minded ballad. Love the massive chorus and the powerful voices! This song is as strong as 'Nothing else Matters' from Metallica!

'Holding out for a hero' is my favorite one on this album. In a previous life it was a big hit for Bonnie Tyler and I just love their approach! It's strong and melodic metal. The fantasy elements really come to life in this version! Love the drive and the fresh approach of this band!

'Unholy' has a nice Voicemale kinda sound, the main singer has a great voice and love the ads of the other voices! The musical sound is a bit melancholic and very filled with fantasy elements! I can see the song happening in my fantasy! Simply great! You really got sucked into the fight!

'My Utopia' is a very epic song with lot of twists within the song. Love the bombastic sound and the high octane driven vocals! Once again the fantasy and heroic elements in this song come right into your life and feels o so true!

'Into the west', well: do you remember the original song from the Lords of the Ring movie ('Return of the King')? Annie Lennox almost made a tearjerker out of it. Well, this song is much stronger and much richer as the original! The drive is a bit higher and less mellow! Maybe they can postulate for the next Hobbit movie?

'Paranoid' is the last song and it's really a great version of the old school Black Sabbat hit! Once again a great and fresh version!

Repeat function gets used, once again and again and again...

After listening to this jewel I noticed I missed their concert in my hometown, so I hope they do some more touring, soon! I feel they can fit in a festival like Trolls et Légendes in Mons, so I'll keep the organizer informed about it, but it's off course not up to me too book them. Their fantasy world would fit in nicely, just as the powerful music! Thumbs up folks and hope to see you soon!

Click on interview to read about our nice chat.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JON TURTELTAUB • Last Vegas
DSX • Shifted
POU-SOI CHEANG • Motorway
THE ARMS OF SOMEONE NEW • Every Seventh Wave EP
STURLA GUNNARSSON • Ice Soldiers
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
JULIA MURAT • Historias Que So existem Quando Lembradas
LAIBACH • Laibach - Spectre Tour @ Depot - Leuven - B (10.03.2014)
DJ BOO-LEE • The DJ-files: Boo-Lee
DAVID MOREAU • It Boy

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death