tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/03/2014 : VAN CANTO - Dawn of the Brave

VAN CANTO

Dawn of the Brave

MusicCD
ExperimentalHeavy MetalPost-Metal

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
14/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Van Canto stands for a nice mix of a capella (they are a German sextet) voices mixed with a symphonic metal-sound! The vocals are very diverse and really powerful, supported by a real drum! The songs are well chosen and as they are all talented it isn’t all the time the same one singing, so the variety in the vocals is very wide! Or as one posted after reading this review: it's metal without guitars?!' And that is very innovative!

more info: Charlie Bauerfeind (Blind Guardian, Helloween, Hammerfall) produced the drum recordings. The album was mixed by sound wizard Ronald Prent (Manowar, Rammstein, Within Temptation) at the Wisseloord Studio 2

The album starts with 'Dawn of the Brave', a very good one for an intro: almost completely a capella!

'Fight for your life' has nice guitars & drums! This one is really the full throttle for the sextet of great voices! The symphonic metal is here at its best! A great song!

'To the mountains' gets a more Wagner-minded approach, love the 'ticky dum'-minded lyrical part.

'Bedaboom' has a nice sound à la Haggard, very symphonic and reaching a high!

'The Final Countdown' gets a great version, this song has been played and taken over by a lot of bands, but this version is really a pearl! Just listen to it and hear for yourself!

'Steal Breaker' brings us catchy metal with a high octane male voice! Sounds something for old school metal lovers, well I love it anyway!

'The Awakening' is simply a great song with great voices! I love the chorus & the battle of voices! It's a bit a Haggard minded song (very symphonic, energetic, great drums & rhythmic guitar work). I simply love the sound and one can't stop moving during this song. It must be an absolute hit on stage?!

'The other ones' has a more introverted sound, it almost sounds like a metal-minded ballad. Love the massive chorus and the powerful voices! This song is as strong as 'Nothing else Matters' from Metallica!

'Holding out for a hero' is my favorite one on this album. In a previous life it was a big hit for Bonnie Tyler and I just love their approach! It's strong and melodic metal. The fantasy elements really come to life in this version! Love the drive and the fresh approach of this band!

'Unholy' has a nice Voicemale kinda sound, the main singer has a great voice and love the ads of the other voices! The musical sound is a bit melancholic and very filled with fantasy elements! I can see the song happening in my fantasy! Simply great! You really got sucked into the fight!

'My Utopia' is a very epic song with lot of twists within the song. Love the bombastic sound and the high octane driven vocals! Once again the fantasy and heroic elements in this song come right into your life and feels o so true!

'Into the west', well: do you remember the original song from the Lords of the Ring movie ('Return of the King')? Annie Lennox almost made a tearjerker out of it. Well, this song is much stronger and much richer as the original! The drive is a bit higher and less mellow! Maybe they can postulate for the next Hobbit movie?

'Paranoid' is the last song and it's really a great version of the old school Black Sabbat hit! Once again a great and fresh version!

Repeat function gets used, once again and again and again...

After listening to this jewel I noticed I missed their concert in my hometown, so I hope they do some more touring, soon! I feel they can fit in a festival like Trolls et Légendes in Mons, so I'll keep the organizer informed about it, but it's off course not up to me too book them. Their fantasy world would fit in nicely, just as the powerful music! Thumbs up folks and hope to see you soon!

Click on interview to read about our nice chat.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JON TURTELTAUB • Last Vegas
DSX • Shifted
POU-SOI CHEANG • Motorway
THE ARMS OF SOMEONE NEW • Every Seventh Wave EP
STURLA GUNNARSSON • Ice Soldiers
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
JULIA MURAT • Historias Que So existem Quando Lembradas
LAIBACH • Laibach - Spectre Tour @ Depot - Leuven - B (10.03.2014)
DJ BOO-LEE • The DJ-files: Boo-Lee
DAVID MOREAU • It Boy

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque