tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/03/2014 : VAN CANTO - Dawn of the Brave

VAN CANTO

Dawn of the Brave

MusicCD
ExperimentalHeavy MetalPost-Metal

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
14/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Van Canto stands for a nice mix of a capella (they are a German sextet) voices mixed with a symphonic metal-sound! The vocals are very diverse and really powerful, supported by a real drum! The songs are well chosen and as they are all talented it isn’t all the time the same one singing, so the variety in the vocals is very wide! Or as one posted after reading this review: it's metal without guitars?!' And that is very innovative!

more info: Charlie Bauerfeind (Blind Guardian, Helloween, Hammerfall) produced the drum recordings. The album was mixed by sound wizard Ronald Prent (Manowar, Rammstein, Within Temptation) at the Wisseloord Studio 2

The album starts with 'Dawn of the Brave', a very good one for an intro: almost completely a capella!

'Fight for your life' has nice guitars & drums! This one is really the full throttle for the sextet of great voices! The symphonic metal is here at its best! A great song!

'To the mountains' gets a more Wagner-minded approach, love the 'ticky dum'-minded lyrical part.

'Bedaboom' has a nice sound à la Haggard, very symphonic and reaching a high!

'The Final Countdown' gets a great version, this song has been played and taken over by a lot of bands, but this version is really a pearl! Just listen to it and hear for yourself!

'Steal Breaker' brings us catchy metal with a high octane male voice! Sounds something for old school metal lovers, well I love it anyway!

'The Awakening' is simply a great song with great voices! I love the chorus & the battle of voices! It's a bit a Haggard minded song (very symphonic, energetic, great drums & rhythmic guitar work). I simply love the sound and one can't stop moving during this song. It must be an absolute hit on stage?!

'The other ones' has a more introverted sound, it almost sounds like a metal-minded ballad. Love the massive chorus and the powerful voices! This song is as strong as 'Nothing else Matters' from Metallica!

'Holding out for a hero' is my favorite one on this album. In a previous life it was a big hit for Bonnie Tyler and I just love their approach! It's strong and melodic metal. The fantasy elements really come to life in this version! Love the drive and the fresh approach of this band!

'Unholy' has a nice Voicemale kinda sound, the main singer has a great voice and love the ads of the other voices! The musical sound is a bit melancholic and very filled with fantasy elements! I can see the song happening in my fantasy! Simply great! You really got sucked into the fight!

'My Utopia' is a very epic song with lot of twists within the song. Love the bombastic sound and the high octane driven vocals! Once again the fantasy and heroic elements in this song come right into your life and feels o so true!

'Into the west', well: do you remember the original song from the Lords of the Ring movie ('Return of the King')? Annie Lennox almost made a tearjerker out of it. Well, this song is much stronger and much richer as the original! The drive is a bit higher and less mellow! Maybe they can postulate for the next Hobbit movie?

'Paranoid' is the last song and it's really a great version of the old school Black Sabbat hit! Once again a great and fresh version!

Repeat function gets used, once again and again and again...

After listening to this jewel I noticed I missed their concert in my hometown, so I hope they do some more touring, soon! I feel they can fit in a festival like Trolls et Légendes in Mons, so I'll keep the organizer informed about it, but it's off course not up to me too book them. Their fantasy world would fit in nicely, just as the powerful music! Thumbs up folks and hope to see you soon!

Click on interview to read about our nice chat.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JON TURTELTAUB • Last Vegas
DSX • Shifted
POU-SOI CHEANG • Motorway
THE ARMS OF SOMEONE NEW • Every Seventh Wave EP
STURLA GUNNARSSON • Ice Soldiers
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells
JULIA MURAT • Historias Que So existem Quando Lembradas
LAIBACH • Laibach - Spectre Tour @ Depot - Leuven - B (10.03.2014)
DJ BOO-LEE • The DJ-files: Boo-Lee
DAVID MOREAU • It Boy

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real