tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

24/01/2012 : ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN - Concert at Ancienne Belgique on 20th January 2012

ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN

Concert at Ancienne Belgique on 20th January 2012

Concert
New wavePost Punk

[80/100]   
24/01/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Following their US and UK tour, Echo And The Bunnymen were stopping by at the Ancienne Belgique to play their first two albums "Crocodiles" and "Heaven Up Here" back-to-back. These albums date from '80 and '81, and for a lot of fans, they are the best ones, that is before the band became a mainstream success.

The venue was packed as the concert was sold-out. The stage was decked with camouflage netting. To the familiar Georgian chants, on strolled the band and the show started with the first song of "Crocodiles": "Going Up" and I must admit I was impressed by the quality of the overall sound, esp. the crystal clear voice of Ian McCulloch, the band's charismatic leader. The light show was minimal and the band was constantly playing in the dark. You could barely see Ian's face but with the camera flashes you could see that he was wearing a beard.

Before the next song, "Stars Are Stars", Ian said that "Brussels is the best place to play" and of course we believed him... Hum... The title song "Crocodiles" and "Rescue" were the first highlights of the show and the fans began to move and to sing along: "Won't You Come to My... Rescue". The band went on to play "Villiers Terrace" and in the middle of the song, the band played excerpts from "Roadhouse Blues" (Doors) and "Jean Genie" (Bowie): fun! The first part of the concert ended with the wonderful single "Pictures On My Wall", followed by "All That Jazz" and "Happy Death Man". Oddly enough, they didn't play "Do It Clean" and "Read It In Books", the 2 songs which were removed from the UK release but appear on the US release and on the re-issue of 2003.

After Ian's long awaited cigarette pause, the band came back to play "Heaven Up Here", an album that contains quite a number of jewels, like "Show Of Strength", "With A Hip" and "Over The Wall". The show was pretty much the same, with very little light on stage and a rather static band. The sound was still as good but you could hear that Ian's voice was a little weaker as he struggled to reach the higher notes. Another highlight of the show came with "The Disease" and my favorite "All My Colors (Zimbo)". We were surprised to see the band leave the stage after the song, which means they didn't play the 3 last songs of the album: "No Dark Things", "Turquoise Days" and "All I Want": disappointing.

Fortunately they came back for an encore, in which they usually play a few hits from other albums of the band. In "Bring On the Dancing Horses", Ian threw his tambourine to the crowd in the balcony and the atmosphere became even hotter with "Nothing Lasts Forever". To introduce "The Killing Moon", Ian very modestly said "This is the best song ever written"... and frankly there's an element of truth in this. "The Cutter" brought the final... cut to the concert and the audience seemed to be satisfied with the show.

As a whole, it was indeed a great show musically. The band consisted of original members Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant (guitar), accompanied by Stephen Brannan (bass), Gordy Goudie (guitar), Nicholas Kilroe (drums) and Jez Wing (keyboards). The rendition of the 2 albums was perfect. Too bad that the light show sucked and that Ian made his usual provocative comments between songs (and also in the middle of some songs), a bit like Liam Ghallagher... In a nutshell: the songs were a very nice "echo" of the past but visually they were only the "shadows of the Bunnymen"...
 


Set List

Album Crocodiles
Going Up
Stars Are Stars
Pride
Monkeys
Crocodiles
Rescue
Villiers Terrace
Pictures On My Wall
All That Jazz
Happy Death Men

Pause

Album Heaven Up Here
Show of Strength
With a Hip
Over the Wall
It Was a Pleasure
A Promise
Heaven Up Here
The Disease
All My Colours

Encore

Bring On the Dancing Horses
Nothing Lasts Forever
The Killing Moon
The Cutter

Picture by Xavier Marquis for indiestyle

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
24/01/2012


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo
19
05
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE