tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/01/2012 : GIN DEVO - Surface [169/500]

GIN DEVO

Surface [169/500]

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[91/100]   

EK Product
20/01/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

EK Product, Napoli

Release date: 2012, January 13

Emotions … surrounded by ice, concrete, steel … gently flowing liquids. Emotion in motion. Instrumental almost-inertia, slow and impressive. A futuristic, sunken, dense, metropolitan environment emerges, cold and desolate. A continuous flow of feelings embraces you … emptiness, loneliness, depth, completeness, stillness, tranquility … The soundscapes on “Surface” are contemporary timeless and are offering a monumental platform for thought and introspection, showing you what lies hidden beneath your own, private “Surface”./?

The tracks on this album were recorded in 1988 and 1989. They served as endless loops at the Antwerp art exhibitions “Fabrik 88” and “Metro 89”, that took place in an old, abandoned ice factory and unused concrete tunnels of the Antwerp metro network. Several artists used the “Surface”-tracks to support their visual works. The name Gin Devo doesn’t ring a bell? Vomito Negro, Devo’s band probably does!

“Surface” is a strong peace of conceptual art, very accessible and offering added value to its surroundings, then, in 1988 and 1989, and still! Limited to 500 copies.

Another “tour de force” by EK Product: FEEL THE ART!

 

Didier PIETERS
20/01/2012


NL

EK Product, Napoli

Releasedatum: 13 januari 2012 

De sfeer… opwindend beklemmend. Emoties … omgeven door ijs, beton, staal. Instrumentale bijna-inertie, traag en indruk-wekkend. Een soundtrack? Harmonieuze droomwereld? Schoonheid? Vorm of inhoud?

De tracks op dit album werden opgenomen in 1988 en 1989. Ze werden gebruikt ter ondersteuning van visueel werk van diverse kunstenaars tijdens de Antwerpse kunst en performance tentoonstellingen “Fabrik 88” en “Metro 89”. Deze tentoonstellingen vonden plaats in een verlaten oude ijsfabriek en nooit gebruikte, betonnen tunnels van het metronetwerk.

De bevreemdende soundscapes op “Surface”, u aangeboden door EK Product, zijn eigentijds tijdloos en doen mij denken aan een grootstad, futuristisch ondergronds, desolaat … Een louterende stroom van gevoelens omsluit je … leegheid, verlatenheid, diepte, (totaal)beleving van betekenis. “Surface” biedt een vertrekpunt voor een persoonlijke reis, een platform voor introspectie en bewondering, een doorwrocht staaltje conceptuele kunst, toegankelijk voor iedereen en meerwaarde biedend in interactie met zijn omgeving, toen reeds, in ’88 en ’89 … en nu nog steeds!

Gin Devo? De naam doet misschien geen belletje rinkelen … Vomito Negro, Devo’s groep, waarschijnlijk wel! EK Product treft eens te meer doel met het tot 500 exemplaren gelimiteerde “Surface”, een gewichtig werkstuk van een geniaal artiest!

Didier PIETERS
20/01/2012


 

Next reviews
CLAPS • Wreck
BRIEF CANDLES • Fractured Days
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
3TRI STATE CORNER • Historia
GEDANKENRASEN • Innere Apokalypse
HATESEX • A Savage Cabaret, She Said
MINERVE • Repleased
GRANDCHAOS • Refuge
DESCENDANTS OF CAIN • Songs From a Vanishing World
STEINKIND • Es Wird Zeit EP

 

Other reviews from GIN DEVO
GIN DEVO • Errata

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ALSO • Live in Celovec
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper