tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!

JAMES BRYAN

Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!

MovieCult movies
CultHorror

[48/100]   

88 Films
16/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Do not Go In The Woods... Alone from 1981 is a cult favourite for all the wrong reasons. The main reason why so many people talked about this horror picture is because some fool forbid the screening of it. It is only available in the stores since 2007 (you read that right!). During all those years the film was only available through the black market, of course at prices that make you dizzy. Meanwhile, the film is out on Blu-ray (on 88 Films). All good news, except that after 80 minutes (the length of the film) you start wondering what the fuzz was about, because not one scene is scary or shocking.

Behind the camera stood one James Bryan, who directly mainly soft porn movies, although under a pseudonym. Bryan was not interested whether the movie was good or bad, he only wanted to jump on the train of the slasher genre since John Carpenter’s Halloween did so well. Almost everything is wrong in this film. Not only the clumsy directing technique, but the acting is also beyond every form of good taste: the women are expected to scream, while the men pronounce the most stupid phrases. The simple story is about a group of young friends who are walking in the woods, but do not know that a bizarre creature murders everyone who crosses his path.

There isn’t anymore to say! In the first half-hour you see how some hikers lose their limbs (without showing these images in close-up). Only after 30 minuted do we learn who or what the killer is. The reason for his actions will always remain a mystery (not that we are keen on solving that issue). All we see is a strange creature, that at first sight looks like a rampaging Neanderthal. And once you know that, you witness how the youngsters run for their life, for another 50 minutes.

The strangest thing about this movie is the bizarre soundtrack by H. Kingsley Thurber. It never fits the story and sounds like electronic slapstick music for The Benny Hill Show. And we haven't even mentioned the bizarre humour: laughing with disabled people in a wheelchair or small abducted children... in Do not Go In The Woods... Alone, you are supposed to find that funny! Only recommended for cult freaks. So, you better think twice before you go into the woods, and you better think three times before you start watching this movie.

Didier BECU
16/03/2015


NL

De in 1981 uitgebrachte Don’t Go In The Woods… Alone is een cultfavoriet om alle foute redenen. De belangrijkste reden waarom deze horrorprent een hebbeding werd was gewoon omdat één of andere gek het in zijn hoofd kreeg om de film te verbieden. Het duurde tot 2007 (jawel!) vooraleer deze productie in de winkelrekken lag. In al die jaren was de film alleen maar op de zwarte markt te vinden, vaak tegen duizelingwekkende prijzen. Ondertussen is de film zeer vlot verkrijgbaar, zelfs op Blu-ray (op 88 Films). Alleen vraag je je na 80 minuten (zo lang duurt de film) af waarom het allemaal zo’n vaart liep, want de film is niet eens angstaanjagend of choquerend en nog minder interessant.

Achter de camera stond ene James Bryan, die in zijn carrière vooral veel softpornofilms heeft gedraaid, weliswaar onder pseudoniemen. Het interesseerde Bryan wellicht geen moer of de film goed of slecht was, het enige waar het de Texaan om te doen was, was succes in het slashergenre. Zowat alles is fout aan deze film. Er is niet alleen de stuntelige regietechniek, ook het acteerwerk is een zooitje van jewelste. Nu ja, veel acteren komt er uiteindelijk niet aan te pas, want van de vrouwen wordt alleen maar verwacht dat zij gillen en van de heren dat zij nietszeggende stomme zinnetjes uitkramen. Van een verhaal is ook maar weinig sprake. Een groepje jonge vrienden trekt op avontuur in de bossen, maar weet niet dat er een creatuur rondloopt die alle voorbijgangers op wrede manier afslacht.

Meer valt er eigenlijk niet te vertellen, gewoon omdat er niets meer te vertellen valt! In het eerste halfuur zie je hoe wandelaars hun ledematen verliezen (zonder dat de camera deze beelden in close up brengt). Wie of wat de moordenaar is komen we pas na 30 minuten te weten, het waarom van zijn daden zelfs nooit. Al wat we zien is dat het om een vreemde creatuur gaat, die op het eerste gezicht wat op een losgeslagen neanderthaler lijkt. En eens je dat weet, heb je nog recht op vijftig minuten gestuntel, want ons groepje moet natuurlijk de eindmeet halen (of ten minste een paar van hun).

Het vreemdste element in deze film is de muziek van H. Kingsley Thurber, die helemaal niet past bij het verhaal en die de sfeer compleet verknalt. Je kan de soundtrack omschrijven als elektronische slapstick, deuntjes die je eerder bij Benny Hill zou verwachten. En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over de foute humor gehad: lachen om gehandicapten die met hun rolstoel van een helling donderen of kleine kindjes die ontvoerd worden…het moet allemaal kunnen in Don’t Go In The Woods… Alone. Alleen maar aan te raden voor cultfreaks die alles slikken. Twee keer nadenken dus vooraleer je alleen het bos intrekt, maar nog meer nadenken alvorens je aan deze film begint.

Didier BECU
16/03/2015


16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone! 16/03/2015 : JAMES BRYAN - Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love