tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs

MEL BROOKS

Spaceballs

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[65/100]   

MGM
15/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Although there was no such thing as a spoof movie in his hey day, Mel Brooks is the king of this genre. Every conceivable genre was dealt with, sometimes with brilliant results: the western Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein and To Be Or Not to Be (although this is a remake of the Ernst Lubitsch classic from 1942). Cinematographically much less interesting, but equally fun is Spaceballs. For a moment it looked as if this Star Wars-parody from 1987 would get a sequel, but unfortunately the name of Mel Brooks doesn't lure the film fans to the theatres anymore, and so all plans were buried. It is a bit of a shame, as his films were perhaps a collection of stupidities, but they were also incredibly funny.

Of course, the story of this film is downright idiotic. The Spaceball-planet is ruled by Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis) and President Skroob (Mel Brooks). Their planet is so polluted that they are obliged to steal all the air on the nearby planet Druidia. Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga) is forced to marry a prince, but she runs away with her robot Dot Matrix (an effeminate version of C-3 PO). Skroob decides to abduct her so he can blackmail her father King Roland. But he is desperate and calls in the help of Lone Starr (Bill Pullman, a parody of Han Solo) and Barf (John Candy as a half-dog, half-man creature).

Nonsense for sure, but it works. Twenty years later John candy looks ridiculous and the character of Yogurt (Brooks as a sort of Yoda) doesn’t work at all, but once you have seen Dark Helmet, you will forget that: a role in which Rick Moranis stars as a Darth Vader-likef dictator, whose helmet is too big. Or how about a spaceship that is staffed by a family named Asshole? Every joke almost works and that is a rare phenomenon these days, although you better know something about the Lucas universe before you start this trip of laughter.

Didier BECU
15/03/2015


NL

Alhoewel er in zijn hoogdagen nog geen sprake was van het spoof genre, kun je Mel Brooks toch de koning van het genre noemen. Zowat alles wat denkbaar is moest eraan geloven, met soms briljante resultaten: de westernparodie Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein en To Be Or Not To Be (alhoewel dit gewoon een remake is van de Ernst Lubitsch-klassieker uit 1942). Cinematografisch veel minder interessant, maar minstens even leuk is Spaceballs. Eventjes was er sprake van dat deze Star Wars-parodie uit 1987 een vervolg zou krijgen, maar jammer genoeg betekent de naam van Mel Brooks nog amper iets voor de huidige bioscoopbezoeker, en is daar dus geen sprake meer van. Ten onrechte, want ook al stonden zijn films bol van stommiteiten, ze zijn wel stuk voor stuk grappig.

Natuurlijk is het verhaal van deze film ronduit idioot en heeft het zelfs weinig zin om er veel over te zeggen. De Spaceball-planeet die wordt geregeerd door Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis) en President Skroob (Mel Brooks) is zo vervuild dat ze verplicht zijn om alle lucht van de planeet Druidia te stelen. Net op het moment dat prinses Vespa (Daphne Zuniga) wordt gedwongen om met een oersaaie prins te trouwen, vlucht zij weg met haar robot Dot Matrix (een verwijfde versie van C-3 PO). Skroob besluit haar te ontvoeren zodat hij Vespas vader, Koning Roland, kan afpersen. Roland is ten einde raad en roept de hulp in van Lone Starr (Bill Pullman, en natuurlijk een parodie op Han Solo) en Barf (John Candy die als half-hond, half-mens Chewbacca imiteert).

Nonsens, maar het werkt wel. John Candy ziet er twintig jaar later wel ontzettend belachelijk uit en ook het personage van Yoghurt (Brooks die Yoda speelt) is allesbehalve geslaagd, toch vergeet je dat eens je Dark Helmet ziet. Moranis schittert als een Darth Vader-imitatie, wiens helm veel te groot is en steeds maar naar beneden dondert. Of wat dacht je van een ruimteschip dat wordt bemand door de familie Asshole? Iedere grap is bijna geslaagd en dat is toch een zeldzaam fenomeen, ofschoon je toch maar beter het een en ander afweet van het Lucas-universum als je aan deze lachtrip begint.

Didier BECU
15/03/2015


15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs 15/03/2015 : MEL BROOKS - Spaceballs

Music reviews

04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

04
07
EIVOR NORDIC NIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside