tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

PATRICK MCDONAGH

In Bruges

MovieMovie classics
ComedyCrime

[76/100]   

Universal Pictures
13/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It almost never happens that we write something positive about Colin Farrell, because if you want to forgive us: we think that the Irishman is probably one of the worst actors, although Adam Sandler probably will be forever on top of our list. An exception however is In Bruges. No, we don’t write this down because we are in some chauvinistic mood, as we never saw a director making so many jokes about Belgium as in this crime drama. In Belgium there is nothing to do, the only thing you find there are paedophiles and chocolate. Hitman Ray (Colin Farrell) is also asking why he ended up in a shithole named Bruges. The gothic architecture and countless historical attractions (even the blood of Christ!) leave him cold. His older and more intelligent colleague Ken (Brendan Gleeson) however takes his time to discover the beauty of Bruges. The two assassins are waiting for a call from their boss Harry (Ralph Fiennes, what a relief this guy is when you let him perform a villain!), who will assign them a new job. Ken can hardly believe that he is obliged to kill his partner.

In Bruges is a very funny movie that regularly takes the viewer on a twist. Director Patrick McDonagh, who previously won an Oscar with his short film Six Shooter, squeezes everything out of the Flemish city, without making it seem like a promotional clip for tourists. The medieval and mystic character of Bruges seems like a third protagonist. The dialogues are incredibly sharp and bold, and Farrell even shows for once that he can act.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


NL

Het gebeurt bijna nooit dat we iets positiefs schrijven over Colin Farrell, want als je het ons wil vergeven: we vinden de Ier (op Adam Sandler na die wellicht eeuwig de eerste plaats zal behouden) zowat de slechtste acteur die er is. Een uitzondering is evenwel In Bruges. Neen, we schrijven het niet omdat we in één of andere chauvinistische bui zijn, want zelden zette een regisseur België zo te kakken als in dit komische misdaaddrama. In België is er immers niets te beleven , het enige wat je er vindt zijn pedofielen en chocolade, en neen geen mens weet wat hij in België zou moeten uitspoken. Ook huurmoordenaar Ray (Colin Farrell) vraagt zich luidop af waarom hij in het boerengat Brugge is beland. De gotische architectuur en de talloze historische plekjes (zelfs het bloed van Christus!) laten hem ijskoud. Zijn oudere en veel intelligentere collega Ken (Brendan Gleeson) ziet het wel zitten om Brugge te ontdekken. De twee huurmoordenaars zitten in Brugge omdat hun baas Harry (Ralph Fiennes, wat speelt die kerel toch goed als je hem de rol van een slechterik geeft!) dat van hun verlangt. Beiden wachten op een nieuwe opdracht en Ken kan het nauwelijks geloven dat hij wordt verplicht om zijn partner neer te leggen.

In Bruges is een ontzettend grappige film vol dubbele bodems. Regisseur Patrick McDonagh, die eerder met zijn kortfilm Six Shooter een Oscar won, perst alles uit de Vlaamse stad. Gelukkig is Brugge meer dan een middeleeuws decor en het lijkt het wel alsof de stad het derde personage wordt. De film is stout (de dialogen zijn ongelooflijk scherp en gewaagd), en Farrell toont voor één keer dat hij de titel van acteur waardig is.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars