tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

PATRICK MCDONAGH

In Bruges

MovieMovie classics
ComedyCrime

[76/100]   

Universal Pictures
13/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It almost never happens that we write something positive about Colin Farrell, because if you want to forgive us: we think that the Irishman is probably one of the worst actors, although Adam Sandler probably will be forever on top of our list. An exception however is In Bruges. No, we don’t write this down because we are in some chauvinistic mood, as we never saw a director making so many jokes about Belgium as in this crime drama. In Belgium there is nothing to do, the only thing you find there are paedophiles and chocolate. Hitman Ray (Colin Farrell) is also asking why he ended up in a shithole named Bruges. The gothic architecture and countless historical attractions (even the blood of Christ!) leave him cold. His older and more intelligent colleague Ken (Brendan Gleeson) however takes his time to discover the beauty of Bruges. The two assassins are waiting for a call from their boss Harry (Ralph Fiennes, what a relief this guy is when you let him perform a villain!), who will assign them a new job. Ken can hardly believe that he is obliged to kill his partner.

In Bruges is a very funny movie that regularly takes the viewer on a twist. Director Patrick McDonagh, who previously won an Oscar with his short film Six Shooter, squeezes everything out of the Flemish city, without making it seem like a promotional clip for tourists. The medieval and mystic character of Bruges seems like a third protagonist. The dialogues are incredibly sharp and bold, and Farrell even shows for once that he can act.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


NL

Het gebeurt bijna nooit dat we iets positiefs schrijven over Colin Farrell, want als je het ons wil vergeven: we vinden de Ier (op Adam Sandler na die wellicht eeuwig de eerste plaats zal behouden) zowat de slechtste acteur die er is. Een uitzondering is evenwel In Bruges. Neen, we schrijven het niet omdat we in één of andere chauvinistische bui zijn, want zelden zette een regisseur België zo te kakken als in dit komische misdaaddrama. In België is er immers niets te beleven , het enige wat je er vindt zijn pedofielen en chocolade, en neen geen mens weet wat hij in België zou moeten uitspoken. Ook huurmoordenaar Ray (Colin Farrell) vraagt zich luidop af waarom hij in het boerengat Brugge is beland. De gotische architectuur en de talloze historische plekjes (zelfs het bloed van Christus!) laten hem ijskoud. Zijn oudere en veel intelligentere collega Ken (Brendan Gleeson) ziet het wel zitten om Brugge te ontdekken. De twee huurmoordenaars zitten in Brugge omdat hun baas Harry (Ralph Fiennes, wat speelt die kerel toch goed als je hem de rol van een slechterik geeft!) dat van hun verlangt. Beiden wachten op een nieuwe opdracht en Ken kan het nauwelijks geloven dat hij wordt verplicht om zijn partner neer te leggen.

In Bruges is een ontzettend grappige film vol dubbele bodems. Regisseur Patrick McDonagh, die eerder met zijn kortfilm Six Shooter een Oscar won, perst alles uit de Vlaamse stad. Gelukkig is Brugge meer dan een middeleeuws decor en het lijkt het wel alsof de stad het derde personage wordt. De film is stout (de dialogen zijn ongelooflijk scherp en gewaagd), en Farrell toont voor één keer dat hij de titel van acteur waardig is.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl