tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

PATRICK MCDONAGH

In Bruges

MovieMovie classics
ComedyCrime

[76/100]   

Universal Pictures
13/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It almost never happens that we write something positive about Colin Farrell, because if you want to forgive us: we think that the Irishman is probably one of the worst actors, although Adam Sandler probably will be forever on top of our list. An exception however is In Bruges. No, we don’t write this down because we are in some chauvinistic mood, as we never saw a director making so many jokes about Belgium as in this crime drama. In Belgium there is nothing to do, the only thing you find there are paedophiles and chocolate. Hitman Ray (Colin Farrell) is also asking why he ended up in a shithole named Bruges. The gothic architecture and countless historical attractions (even the blood of Christ!) leave him cold. His older and more intelligent colleague Ken (Brendan Gleeson) however takes his time to discover the beauty of Bruges. The two assassins are waiting for a call from their boss Harry (Ralph Fiennes, what a relief this guy is when you let him perform a villain!), who will assign them a new job. Ken can hardly believe that he is obliged to kill his partner.

In Bruges is a very funny movie that regularly takes the viewer on a twist. Director Patrick McDonagh, who previously won an Oscar with his short film Six Shooter, squeezes everything out of the Flemish city, without making it seem like a promotional clip for tourists. The medieval and mystic character of Bruges seems like a third protagonist. The dialogues are incredibly sharp and bold, and Farrell even shows for once that he can act.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


NL

Het gebeurt bijna nooit dat we iets positiefs schrijven over Colin Farrell, want als je het ons wil vergeven: we vinden de Ier (op Adam Sandler na die wellicht eeuwig de eerste plaats zal behouden) zowat de slechtste acteur die er is. Een uitzondering is evenwel In Bruges. Neen, we schrijven het niet omdat we in één of andere chauvinistische bui zijn, want zelden zette een regisseur België zo te kakken als in dit komische misdaaddrama. In België is er immers niets te beleven , het enige wat je er vindt zijn pedofielen en chocolade, en neen geen mens weet wat hij in België zou moeten uitspoken. Ook huurmoordenaar Ray (Colin Farrell) vraagt zich luidop af waarom hij in het boerengat Brugge is beland. De gotische architectuur en de talloze historische plekjes (zelfs het bloed van Christus!) laten hem ijskoud. Zijn oudere en veel intelligentere collega Ken (Brendan Gleeson) ziet het wel zitten om Brugge te ontdekken. De twee huurmoordenaars zitten in Brugge omdat hun baas Harry (Ralph Fiennes, wat speelt die kerel toch goed als je hem de rol van een slechterik geeft!) dat van hun verlangt. Beiden wachten op een nieuwe opdracht en Ken kan het nauwelijks geloven dat hij wordt verplicht om zijn partner neer te leggen.

In Bruges is een ontzettend grappige film vol dubbele bodems. Regisseur Patrick McDonagh, die eerder met zijn kortfilm Six Shooter een Oscar won, perst alles uit de Vlaamse stad. Gelukkig is Brugge meer dan een middeleeuws decor en het lijkt het wel alsof de stad het derde personage wordt. De film is stout (de dialogen zijn ongelooflijk scherp en gewaagd), en Farrell toont voor één keer dat hij de titel van acteur waardig is.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain