tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

PATRICK MCDONAGH

In Bruges

MovieMovie classics
ComedyCrime

[76/100]   

Universal Pictures
13/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It almost never happens that we write something positive about Colin Farrell, because if you want to forgive us: we think that the Irishman is probably one of the worst actors, although Adam Sandler probably will be forever on top of our list. An exception however is In Bruges. No, we don’t write this down because we are in some chauvinistic mood, as we never saw a director making so many jokes about Belgium as in this crime drama. In Belgium there is nothing to do, the only thing you find there are paedophiles and chocolate. Hitman Ray (Colin Farrell) is also asking why he ended up in a shithole named Bruges. The gothic architecture and countless historical attractions (even the blood of Christ!) leave him cold. His older and more intelligent colleague Ken (Brendan Gleeson) however takes his time to discover the beauty of Bruges. The two assassins are waiting for a call from their boss Harry (Ralph Fiennes, what a relief this guy is when you let him perform a villain!), who will assign them a new job. Ken can hardly believe that he is obliged to kill his partner.

In Bruges is a very funny movie that regularly takes the viewer on a twist. Director Patrick McDonagh, who previously won an Oscar with his short film Six Shooter, squeezes everything out of the Flemish city, without making it seem like a promotional clip for tourists. The medieval and mystic character of Bruges seems like a third protagonist. The dialogues are incredibly sharp and bold, and Farrell even shows for once that he can act.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


NL

Het gebeurt bijna nooit dat we iets positiefs schrijven over Colin Farrell, want als je het ons wil vergeven: we vinden de Ier (op Adam Sandler na die wellicht eeuwig de eerste plaats zal behouden) zowat de slechtste acteur die er is. Een uitzondering is evenwel In Bruges. Neen, we schrijven het niet omdat we in één of andere chauvinistische bui zijn, want zelden zette een regisseur België zo te kakken als in dit komische misdaaddrama. In België is er immers niets te beleven , het enige wat je er vindt zijn pedofielen en chocolade, en neen geen mens weet wat hij in België zou moeten uitspoken. Ook huurmoordenaar Ray (Colin Farrell) vraagt zich luidop af waarom hij in het boerengat Brugge is beland. De gotische architectuur en de talloze historische plekjes (zelfs het bloed van Christus!) laten hem ijskoud. Zijn oudere en veel intelligentere collega Ken (Brendan Gleeson) ziet het wel zitten om Brugge te ontdekken. De twee huurmoordenaars zitten in Brugge omdat hun baas Harry (Ralph Fiennes, wat speelt die kerel toch goed als je hem de rol van een slechterik geeft!) dat van hun verlangt. Beiden wachten op een nieuwe opdracht en Ken kan het nauwelijks geloven dat hij wordt verplicht om zijn partner neer te leggen.

In Bruges is een ontzettend grappige film vol dubbele bodems. Regisseur Patrick McDonagh, die eerder met zijn kortfilm Six Shooter een Oscar won, perst alles uit de Vlaamse stad. Gelukkig is Brugge meer dan een middeleeuws decor en het lijkt het wel alsof de stad het derde personage wordt. De film is stout (de dialogen zijn ongelooflijk scherp en gewaagd), en Farrell toont voor één keer dat hij de titel van acteur waardig is.

Didier BECU
13/03/2015


13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges 13/03/2015 : PATRICK MCDONAGH - In Bruges

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On