tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride

GEORGE TILLMAN JR.

The Longest Ride

Movie
Romantic

[64/100]   

20th Century Fox
03/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Nicholas Sparks can call himself the king of the modern romantic book. Since 1999 his works are bestsellers, although the American author actually uses the same theme (the invincible love) all these years, but the public seems to like it a lot. So why changing a winning team? Hollywood quickly offered his novels into a film form, and The Longest Ride is already the tenth novel that was made into a film. The most famous of the series is without a doubt The Notebook with Ryan Gosling, but if you're someone who likes to melt away by romantic images then you'll probably also remember Dear John and The Lucky One.

Those who fancy more than two hours bittersweet romantic scenes will be delighted with The Longest Ride because director George Tillman Jr. knows very well what he has to do to please this audience. Sophia Danko (Britt Robertson) is tired of life at the country side, and she looks forward to a brand new future in New York where she’ll start an internship in a famous art gallery. Just before her departure, she ends up at a rodeo and meets there the tough Luke Collins (Scott Eastwood). You easily can guess the rest: it is love at first sight. Luke might be the ideal son, but Sophia still prefers New York over a life at the farm. Besides, the student has no interest in bulls, and the cowboy does not understand how someone can love something like abstract art. Just before the two say goodbye to each other, they notice on the road a burning car wreck. Luke can free the man from the car, and Sophia saves a box of letters from the fire. When the driver (Alan Aldo) awakes from a coma, he asks Sophia to read him the letters. And yes, these stories bring Sophia and Luke together again.

If you’re feeling sick when reading this story, you'd better start not The Longest Ride. And yet, it must be said, despite the clichés for which each every scenario writer would be nailed on the cross, this romantic film works. You’ll see artificial characters (especially Scott Eastwood, the son of, seems to be made of plastic) and the situations only can happen in Hollywood movies, but The Longest Ride keeps standing. One for teenage girls, and adults who secretly admire this type of nonsense!

 Now out at 20th Century Fox, on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
03/09/2015


NL

Nicholas Sparks mag zich zonder veel schaamte tot koning van het moderne romantische boek kronen. Ofschoon zijn werken al sinds 1999 de deur uitvliegen, gebruikt de Amerikaanse auteur eigenlijk al twee decennia lang hetzelfde thema (de onoverwinnelijke liefde), toch blijft het publiek dit met plezier slikken. Hollywood was er als de kippen bij om zijn romans in een filmvorm aan te bieden, waarmee The Longest Ride ondertussen al de tiende roman is die werd verfilmd. De bekendste uit de reeks is zonder twijfel The Notebook met Ryan Gosling, maar indien je iemand bent die graag wegsmelt bij beelden waarin je ziet hoe tortelduifjes vechten om bij elkaar te blijven, zul je je waarschijnlijk ook wel Dear John en The Lucky One herinneren.

Voor wie zin heeft in ruim twee uur zeemzoeterige taferelen kan de filmavond met The Longest Ride alvast niet meer stuk, want regisseur George Tillman Jr. weet wat hij moet doen om dit publiek aan de buis te kluisteren. Sophia Danko (Britt Robertson) vindt het plattelandsleven maar niks, en ze kijkt dan ook reikhalzend uit naar een nieuwe toekomst in New York waar ze stage mag lopen in een befaamde kunstgalerij. Net voor haar vertrek komt ze op een rodeo terecht en ontmoet daar de stoere Luke Collins (Scott Eastwood) en je kan het raden: het is liefde op het eerste gezicht. Luke mag dan wel de ideale schoonzoon zijn, toch staat het voor Sophia vast dat ze New York boven een boerenleven verkiest. Trouwens, de studente vindt stieren maar niks, en de cowboy begrijpt niet hoe iemand gek kan zijn op abstracte kunst. Net voor de twee voorgoed afscheid nemen van elkaar, bemerken ze op de baan een brandend autowrak. Luke kan de man uit de wagen bevrijden, en Sophia kan een doosje met brieven uit de brand redden. Wanneer de chauffeur (Alan Aldo) uit een coma ontwaakt, vraagt hij aan Sophia om hem de brieven voor te lezen. En jawel, het zijn deze verhalen die Sophia en Luke opnieuw bijeen brengen.

Mocht je maag omkeren bij het lezen van dit verhaaltje, begin je maar beter niet aan The Longest Ride. En toch, het moet worden gezegd, ondanks de torenhoge clichés waarvoor iedere scenarioschrijver aan het kruis zou worden voor genageld, werkt deze romantische film toch uitstekend. Het zijn wel stuk voor stuk kunstmatige personages (vooral Scott Eastwood, zoon van, lijkt van plastic te zijn gemaakt) en situaties die alleen maar in Hollywoodfilms kunnen gebeuren, desalniettemin blijft The Longest Ride overeind staan. Eentje voor bakvissen, en volwassenen die stiekem kunnen genieten van dit soort onzin!

Nu uit op 20th Century Fox, op dvd en Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
03/09/2015


03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride 03/09/2015 : GEORGE TILLMAN JR. - The Longest Ride

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire