tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : ASH CODE - Posthuman

ASH CODE

Posthuman

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[93/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Posthuman is surely one of the records that most alternative music fans are looking forward to! After the release of the two singles Dry Your Eyes and Empty Room, Alessandro, Claudia and Adriano from Naples conquered the European post-punk scene with Oblivion: a masterpiece that can be regarded as one of the best debuts of recent years.

The title of the opening song couldn’t be any better: Time To Face The Abyss and that’s exactly how it feels! Even though the tune has a nice rhythm, the synths are (extremely) dark. The tone is set for the melodic Night Rite, with again Alessandro’s sober, dark voice, while Challenging The Sea is enlivened (well, in a way) by Claudia’s vocals.

However Posthuman is also an album on which the trio searches some new paths. You'll definitely hear some echoes of Oblivion, but Ash Code has no fear to experiment. A good example is Insensitive, in which the Italians flirt with minimal, you even hear a hint of the early sound of The Human League in it.

Sand probably will be the hit of this record as the more you play it, the better it gets! Irresistible danceable post-punk of the highest level with a poppy synth melody, while the icy bass of Adriano splits your heart in two.

The title track Posthuman is dark post-punk with some mysterious synths. You dance, you scream, you cry, even though you know the abyss (ha!) is in front of you. Try To Be Me is the most punky song, you hear a Joy Division-like pattern, but it never becomes a Joy Division song! No, Ash Code makes contemporary post-punk with respect for the masters, but this is a band that uses these influences in its own way.

Alone In Your Dance is jet black, the synths take you to the darkest soul of Ash Code. Frightening, but wonderful. Once you've landed in the dark corridors of Ash Code, you won’t get out. The key word of Tide is (again) "darkness" and that’s what the song feels like: an addictive melody that fools with your soul. Ash Code is like drugs, once they ends up in your body, it is difficult to get them out (not that you want this for one second!).

The Last Shop is another form of Ash Code that you hear for the first time: a futuristic post-punk song with the punk attitude of The Fall: a catchy melody, and you realize that you don’t give a damn about what is happening around you.

The second record by Ash Code ends with the oppressive and classy A New Dawn, the synth melody that forms the core of the track feels like a sad death march, but there is still hope...

Posthuman is not exactly the most cheerful album of the year, but without doubt one of the records that you have to hear this year!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Posthuman is ongetwijfeld één van de platen waar het meest wordt naar uitgekeken. Vanuit het grote niets brachten Alessandro, Claudia en Adriano uit Napels de twee singles Dry Your Eyes en Empty Room uit, en veroverden nadien met Oblivion de Europese postpunkscène, een meesterwerk dat zonder twijfel één van de beste debuutplaten van de afgelopen jaren is.

De titel van het openingsnummer kon niet treffender zijn dan Time To Face The Abyss. Ook al klinkt het ritme ontzettend lekker, zijn de synths loodzwaar. De toon wordt voortgezet in Night Rite en ook hier weerklinken de donkere ijle klanken van Alessandro, terwijl Challenging The Sea wordt opgevrolijkt (nou ja) door de vrouwelijke vocalen van Claudia.

Posthuman is echter ook een plaat waarop het trio nieuwe paden durft te betreden. Je hoort nog wel echo’s van Oblivion, maar Ash Code is niet bang van enig experiment. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is Insensitive, waarin de Italianen met minimal flirten, je hoort er zelfs een vleugje van de vroegere Human League in.

Wellicht zal Sand de hit van de plaat worden, hoe meer je die draait des te beter hij wordt! Onweerstaanbare postpunk met een hoog dansgehalte, inclusief een poppy synthmelodietje, terwijl de ijskoude bas van Adriano door merg en been gaat.

Dat geldt tevens voor het titelnummer Posthuman: donkere postpunk met geheimzinnige synths Je danst, je schreeuwt, je huilt, ook al weet je dat voor jou de afgrond ligt. Try To Be Me is het meest punky liedje, je hoort een Joy Division-achtig patroon zonder dat het ooit echt als Joy Division klinkt. Neen, dit is gewoon eigentijdse postpunk die respect toont voor de grootmeesters, maar van een band die er zijn eigen ding mee doet.

Alone In Your Dance is gitzwart, de synths nemen je mee naar de meest donkere ziel van Ash Code. Beangstigend, wel wondermooi. Eens je in de donkere gangen van Ash Code bent belandt, raak je er trouwens niet meer uit. Het kernwoord van Tide is (alweer) “darkness” en zo voelt de song ook aan: een verslavend melodietje dat met je ziel de gek houdt. Ash Code is zoals drugs, eens ze in je lichaam zijn belandt, is het moeilijk om ze er nog uit te krijgen (niet dat je dat ook maar één seconde zou willen...).

The Last Shop is alweer Ash Code zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord, het futuristische postpunknummer neigt soms naar het punkgevoel van The Fall: een aanstekelijke melodie, zonder dat je ook maar één moer geeft om wat er zich rondom je afspeelt.

De tweede plaat wordt klassevol afgesloten met het beklemmende A New Dawn, het synthmelodietje dat de song vergezelt, lijkt wel op een trieste dodenmars, maar er is nog hoop…

Posthuman is niet bepaald de meest vrolijke plaat van het jaar, wel zonder twijfel één van de titels die je dit jaar moet hebben gehoord!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis