tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : ASH CODE - Posthuman

ASH CODE

Posthuman

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[93/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Posthuman is surely one of the records that most alternative music fans are looking forward to! After the release of the two singles Dry Your Eyes and Empty Room, Alessandro, Claudia and Adriano from Naples conquered the European post-punk scene with Oblivion: a masterpiece that can be regarded as one of the best debuts of recent years.

The title of the opening song couldn’t be any better: Time To Face The Abyss and that’s exactly how it feels! Even though the tune has a nice rhythm, the synths are (extremely) dark. The tone is set for the melodic Night Rite, with again Alessandro’s sober, dark voice, while Challenging The Sea is enlivened (well, in a way) by Claudia’s vocals.

However Posthuman is also an album on which the trio searches some new paths. You'll definitely hear some echoes of Oblivion, but Ash Code has no fear to experiment. A good example is Insensitive, in which the Italians flirt with minimal, you even hear a hint of the early sound of The Human League in it.

Sand probably will be the hit of this record as the more you play it, the better it gets! Irresistible danceable post-punk of the highest level with a poppy synth melody, while the icy bass of Adriano splits your heart in two.

The title track Posthuman is dark post-punk with some mysterious synths. You dance, you scream, you cry, even though you know the abyss (ha!) is in front of you. Try To Be Me is the most punky song, you hear a Joy Division-like pattern, but it never becomes a Joy Division song! No, Ash Code makes contemporary post-punk with respect for the masters, but this is a band that uses these influences in its own way.

Alone In Your Dance is jet black, the synths take you to the darkest soul of Ash Code. Frightening, but wonderful. Once you've landed in the dark corridors of Ash Code, you won’t get out. The key word of Tide is (again) "darkness" and that’s what the song feels like: an addictive melody that fools with your soul. Ash Code is like drugs, once they ends up in your body, it is difficult to get them out (not that you want this for one second!).

The Last Shop is another form of Ash Code that you hear for the first time: a futuristic post-punk song with the punk attitude of The Fall: a catchy melody, and you realize that you don’t give a damn about what is happening around you.

The second record by Ash Code ends with the oppressive and classy A New Dawn, the synth melody that forms the core of the track feels like a sad death march, but there is still hope...

Posthuman is not exactly the most cheerful album of the year, but without doubt one of the records that you have to hear this year!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Posthuman is ongetwijfeld één van de platen waar het meest wordt naar uitgekeken. Vanuit het grote niets brachten Alessandro, Claudia en Adriano uit Napels de twee singles Dry Your Eyes en Empty Room uit, en veroverden nadien met Oblivion de Europese postpunkscène, een meesterwerk dat zonder twijfel één van de beste debuutplaten van de afgelopen jaren is.

De titel van het openingsnummer kon niet treffender zijn dan Time To Face The Abyss. Ook al klinkt het ritme ontzettend lekker, zijn de synths loodzwaar. De toon wordt voortgezet in Night Rite en ook hier weerklinken de donkere ijle klanken van Alessandro, terwijl Challenging The Sea wordt opgevrolijkt (nou ja) door de vrouwelijke vocalen van Claudia.

Posthuman is echter ook een plaat waarop het trio nieuwe paden durft te betreden. Je hoort nog wel echo’s van Oblivion, maar Ash Code is niet bang van enig experiment. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is Insensitive, waarin de Italianen met minimal flirten, je hoort er zelfs een vleugje van de vroegere Human League in.

Wellicht zal Sand de hit van de plaat worden, hoe meer je die draait des te beter hij wordt! Onweerstaanbare postpunk met een hoog dansgehalte, inclusief een poppy synthmelodietje, terwijl de ijskoude bas van Adriano door merg en been gaat.

Dat geldt tevens voor het titelnummer Posthuman: donkere postpunk met geheimzinnige synths Je danst, je schreeuwt, je huilt, ook al weet je dat voor jou de afgrond ligt. Try To Be Me is het meest punky liedje, je hoort een Joy Division-achtig patroon zonder dat het ooit echt als Joy Division klinkt. Neen, dit is gewoon eigentijdse postpunk die respect toont voor de grootmeesters, maar van een band die er zijn eigen ding mee doet.

Alone In Your Dance is gitzwart, de synths nemen je mee naar de meest donkere ziel van Ash Code. Beangstigend, wel wondermooi. Eens je in de donkere gangen van Ash Code bent belandt, raak je er trouwens niet meer uit. Het kernwoord van Tide is (alweer) “darkness” en zo voelt de song ook aan: een verslavend melodietje dat met je ziel de gek houdt. Ash Code is zoals drugs, eens ze in je lichaam zijn belandt, is het moeilijk om ze er nog uit te krijgen (niet dat je dat ook maar één seconde zou willen...).

The Last Shop is alweer Ash Code zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord, het futuristische postpunknummer neigt soms naar het punkgevoel van The Fall: een aanstekelijke melodie, zonder dat je ook maar één moer geeft om wat er zich rondom je afspeelt.

De tweede plaat wordt klassevol afgesloten met het beklemmende A New Dawn, het synthmelodietje dat de song vergezelt, lijkt wel op een trieste dodenmars, maar er is nog hoop…

Posthuman is niet bepaald de meest vrolijke plaat van het jaar, wel zonder twijfel één van de titels die je dit jaar moet hebben gehoord!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
KARL BARTOS • Communication
ORGAN • Tetro
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
THE BESNARD LAKES • A Coliseum Complex Museum
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise

 

Other reviews from ASH CODE
ASH CODE • Oblivion
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)