tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : ASH CODE - Posthuman

ASH CODE

Posthuman

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[93/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Posthuman is surely one of the records that most alternative music fans are looking forward to! After the release of the two singles Dry Your Eyes and Empty Room, Alessandro, Claudia and Adriano from Naples conquered the European post-punk scene with Oblivion: a masterpiece that can be regarded as one of the best debuts of recent years.

The title of the opening song couldn’t be any better: Time To Face The Abyss and that’s exactly how it feels! Even though the tune has a nice rhythm, the synths are (extremely) dark. The tone is set for the melodic Night Rite, with again Alessandro’s sober, dark voice, while Challenging The Sea is enlivened (well, in a way) by Claudia’s vocals.

However Posthuman is also an album on which the trio searches some new paths. You'll definitely hear some echoes of Oblivion, but Ash Code has no fear to experiment. A good example is Insensitive, in which the Italians flirt with minimal, you even hear a hint of the early sound of The Human League in it.

Sand probably will be the hit of this record as the more you play it, the better it gets! Irresistible danceable post-punk of the highest level with a poppy synth melody, while the icy bass of Adriano splits your heart in two.

The title track Posthuman is dark post-punk with some mysterious synths. You dance, you scream, you cry, even though you know the abyss (ha!) is in front of you. Try To Be Me is the most punky song, you hear a Joy Division-like pattern, but it never becomes a Joy Division song! No, Ash Code makes contemporary post-punk with respect for the masters, but this is a band that uses these influences in its own way.

Alone In Your Dance is jet black, the synths take you to the darkest soul of Ash Code. Frightening, but wonderful. Once you've landed in the dark corridors of Ash Code, you won’t get out. The key word of Tide is (again) "darkness" and that’s what the song feels like: an addictive melody that fools with your soul. Ash Code is like drugs, once they ends up in your body, it is difficult to get them out (not that you want this for one second!).

The Last Shop is another form of Ash Code that you hear for the first time: a futuristic post-punk song with the punk attitude of The Fall: a catchy melody, and you realize that you don’t give a damn about what is happening around you.

The second record by Ash Code ends with the oppressive and classy A New Dawn, the synth melody that forms the core of the track feels like a sad death march, but there is still hope...

Posthuman is not exactly the most cheerful album of the year, but without doubt one of the records that you have to hear this year!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Posthuman is ongetwijfeld één van de platen waar het meest wordt naar uitgekeken. Vanuit het grote niets brachten Alessandro, Claudia en Adriano uit Napels de twee singles Dry Your Eyes en Empty Room uit, en veroverden nadien met Oblivion de Europese postpunkscène, een meesterwerk dat zonder twijfel één van de beste debuutplaten van de afgelopen jaren is.

De titel van het openingsnummer kon niet treffender zijn dan Time To Face The Abyss. Ook al klinkt het ritme ontzettend lekker, zijn de synths loodzwaar. De toon wordt voortgezet in Night Rite en ook hier weerklinken de donkere ijle klanken van Alessandro, terwijl Challenging The Sea wordt opgevrolijkt (nou ja) door de vrouwelijke vocalen van Claudia.

Posthuman is echter ook een plaat waarop het trio nieuwe paden durft te betreden. Je hoort nog wel echo’s van Oblivion, maar Ash Code is niet bang van enig experiment. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is Insensitive, waarin de Italianen met minimal flirten, je hoort er zelfs een vleugje van de vroegere Human League in.

Wellicht zal Sand de hit van de plaat worden, hoe meer je die draait des te beter hij wordt! Onweerstaanbare postpunk met een hoog dansgehalte, inclusief een poppy synthmelodietje, terwijl de ijskoude bas van Adriano door merg en been gaat.

Dat geldt tevens voor het titelnummer Posthuman: donkere postpunk met geheimzinnige synths Je danst, je schreeuwt, je huilt, ook al weet je dat voor jou de afgrond ligt. Try To Be Me is het meest punky liedje, je hoort een Joy Division-achtig patroon zonder dat het ooit echt als Joy Division klinkt. Neen, dit is gewoon eigentijdse postpunk die respect toont voor de grootmeesters, maar van een band die er zijn eigen ding mee doet.

Alone In Your Dance is gitzwart, de synths nemen je mee naar de meest donkere ziel van Ash Code. Beangstigend, wel wondermooi. Eens je in de donkere gangen van Ash Code bent belandt, raak je er trouwens niet meer uit. Het kernwoord van Tide is (alweer) “darkness” en zo voelt de song ook aan: een verslavend melodietje dat met je ziel de gek houdt. Ash Code is zoals drugs, eens ze in je lichaam zijn belandt, is het moeilijk om ze er nog uit te krijgen (niet dat je dat ook maar één seconde zou willen...).

The Last Shop is alweer Ash Code zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord, het futuristische postpunknummer neigt soms naar het punkgevoel van The Fall: een aanstekelijke melodie, zonder dat je ook maar één moer geeft om wat er zich rondom je afspeelt.

De tweede plaat wordt klassevol afgesloten met het beklemmende A New Dawn, het synthmelodietje dat de song vergezelt, lijkt wel op een trieste dodenmars, maar er is nog hoop…

Posthuman is niet bepaald de meest vrolijke plaat van het jaar, wel zonder twijfel één van de titels die je dit jaar moet hebben gehoord!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
KARL BARTOS • Communication
ORGAN • Tetro
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
THE BESNARD LAKES • A Coliseum Complex Museum
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise

 

Other reviews from ASH CODE
ASH CODE • Oblivion
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout