tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro Pop

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

To avoid misunderstandings: we are talking about the electropop and EBM band that consists of Jonas Olofsson and Patrik Hansson, and not about the eponymous metal band from Finland or the rock band from Ohio. To be honest: I did some research because the band was unknown to me. It exists since 2008 and released two albums: Sanctuary and Retribution on Conzoom Records. For this single the band teamed up with Infacted.

The EP includes three songs and four remixes of the title track. I Want To Live has a stirring rhythm, a catchy chorus and a nice structure. The lyrics include some clichés, but that’s not really disturbing. Alive Inside has dark synths and is in fact more interesting and less predictable than the title track. Rising Phoenix also has a dark side with a distinctive rhythm. Both songs contain elements of EBM, while I Want To Live sounds more like electropop. Killjoy vs. KC Exosun Star Sign Mix is the best of the four remixes on this EP. The song has body and power. The other three remixes are nice too.

With this new label, Vanguard sounds more mature and the mix between EBM and electro is nicely balanced. So that looks great for an eventual album. For fans of VNV Nation or Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Om misverstanden te vermijden: het gaat hier om de electropop- en EBM-band Vanguard die bestaat uit Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson, en dus niet om de gelijknamige Finse metalband of rockband uit Ohio. Om eerlijk te zijn heb ik wat in de archieven moeten duiken, want ik kende de band niet. Vanguard bestaat sedert 2008 en heeft twee albums uitgebracht: Sanctuary en Retribution op Conzoom Records. Voor deze single is de band in zee gegaan met Infacted.

De ep bevat uit 3 songs en vier remixes van de titeltrack I Want To Live. De single heeft een opzwepend ritme, een aanstekelijk refrein en een mooie opbouw. De tekst bevat wat clichés, maar dat is niet echt storend. Alive Inside heeft wat donkere synths en is eigenlijk boeiender en minder voorspelbaar dan de titeltrack. Ook Rising Phoenix heeft een duister kantje met een markant ritme. Beide songs bevatten EBM-elementen, terwijl I Want To Live eerder electropop is. Zoals gezegd staan er nog vier remixes op deze ep waarvan KC Killjoy vs Exosun Starsign Mix erg geslaagd is. De track is krachtig en energiek. De andere drie remixes zijn ook aantrekkelijk.

Met de overstap naar een nieuw label, lijkt Vanguard opnieuw zuurstof te hebben gevonden. De mix tussen EBM en electropop is mooi in evenwicht en laat het beste vermoeden voor het nieuwe album. Voor de liefhebbers van VNV Nation of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BIRTH OF JOY • Get Well
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO POP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
GLIS • PHOENIX
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP

 

Same genre: EBM
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

Music reviews

13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno
11
10
ELM
Death Of The North
11
10
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS
Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!
23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?