tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro Pop

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

To avoid misunderstandings: we are talking about the electropop and EBM band that consists of Jonas Olofsson and Patrik Hansson, and not about the eponymous metal band from Finland or the rock band from Ohio. To be honest: I did some research because the band was unknown to me. It exists since 2008 and released two albums: Sanctuary and Retribution on Conzoom Records. For this single the band teamed up with Infacted.

The EP includes three songs and four remixes of the title track. I Want To Live has a stirring rhythm, a catchy chorus and a nice structure. The lyrics include some clichés, but that’s not really disturbing. Alive Inside has dark synths and is in fact more interesting and less predictable than the title track. Rising Phoenix also has a dark side with a distinctive rhythm. Both songs contain elements of EBM, while I Want To Live sounds more like electropop. Killjoy vs. KC Exosun Star Sign Mix is the best of the four remixes on this EP. The song has body and power. The other three remixes are nice too.

With this new label, Vanguard sounds more mature and the mix between EBM and electro is nicely balanced. So that looks great for an eventual album. For fans of VNV Nation or Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Om misverstanden te vermijden: het gaat hier om de electropop- en EBM-band Vanguard die bestaat uit Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson, en dus niet om de gelijknamige Finse metalband of rockband uit Ohio. Om eerlijk te zijn heb ik wat in de archieven moeten duiken, want ik kende de band niet. Vanguard bestaat sedert 2008 en heeft twee albums uitgebracht: Sanctuary en Retribution op Conzoom Records. Voor deze single is de band in zee gegaan met Infacted.

De ep bevat uit 3 songs en vier remixes van de titeltrack I Want To Live. De single heeft een opzwepend ritme, een aanstekelijk refrein en een mooie opbouw. De tekst bevat wat clichés, maar dat is niet echt storend. Alive Inside heeft wat donkere synths en is eigenlijk boeiender en minder voorspelbaar dan de titeltrack. Ook Rising Phoenix heeft een duister kantje met een markant ritme. Beide songs bevatten EBM-elementen, terwijl I Want To Live eerder electropop is. Zoals gezegd staan er nog vier remixes op deze ep waarvan KC Killjoy vs Exosun Starsign Mix erg geslaagd is. De track is krachtig en energiek. De andere drie remixes zijn ook aantrekkelijk.

Met de overstap naar een nieuw label, lijkt Vanguard opnieuw zuurstof te hebben gevonden. De mix tussen EBM en electropop is mooi in evenwicht en laat het beste vermoeden voor het nieuwe album. Voor de liefhebbers van VNV Nation of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BIRTH OF JOY • Get Well
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO POP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
GLIS • PHOENIX
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen