tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro Pop

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

To avoid misunderstandings: we are talking about the electropop and EBM band that consists of Jonas Olofsson and Patrik Hansson, and not about the eponymous metal band from Finland or the rock band from Ohio. To be honest: I did some research because the band was unknown to me. It exists since 2008 and released two albums: Sanctuary and Retribution on Conzoom Records. For this single the band teamed up with Infacted.

The EP includes three songs and four remixes of the title track. I Want To Live has a stirring rhythm, a catchy chorus and a nice structure. The lyrics include some clichés, but that’s not really disturbing. Alive Inside has dark synths and is in fact more interesting and less predictable than the title track. Rising Phoenix also has a dark side with a distinctive rhythm. Both songs contain elements of EBM, while I Want To Live sounds more like electropop. Killjoy vs. KC Exosun Star Sign Mix is the best of the four remixes on this EP. The song has body and power. The other three remixes are nice too.

With this new label, Vanguard sounds more mature and the mix between EBM and electro is nicely balanced. So that looks great for an eventual album. For fans of VNV Nation or Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Om misverstanden te vermijden: het gaat hier om de electropop- en EBM-band Vanguard die bestaat uit Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson, en dus niet om de gelijknamige Finse metalband of rockband uit Ohio. Om eerlijk te zijn heb ik wat in de archieven moeten duiken, want ik kende de band niet. Vanguard bestaat sedert 2008 en heeft twee albums uitgebracht: Sanctuary en Retribution op Conzoom Records. Voor deze single is de band in zee gegaan met Infacted.

De ep bevat uit 3 songs en vier remixes van de titeltrack I Want To Live. De single heeft een opzwepend ritme, een aanstekelijk refrein en een mooie opbouw. De tekst bevat wat clichés, maar dat is niet echt storend. Alive Inside heeft wat donkere synths en is eigenlijk boeiender en minder voorspelbaar dan de titeltrack. Ook Rising Phoenix heeft een duister kantje met een markant ritme. Beide songs bevatten EBM-elementen, terwijl I Want To Live eerder electropop is. Zoals gezegd staan er nog vier remixes op deze ep waarvan KC Killjoy vs Exosun Starsign Mix erg geslaagd is. De track is krachtig en energiek. De andere drie remixes zijn ook aantrekkelijk.

Met de overstap naar een nieuw label, lijkt Vanguard opnieuw zuurstof te hebben gevonden. De mix tussen EBM en electropop is mooi in evenwicht en laat het beste vermoeden voor het nieuwe album. Voor de liefhebbers van VNV Nation of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BIRTH OF JOY • Get Well
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO POP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
GLIS • PHOENIX
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP

 

Same genre: EBM
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco