tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : VANGUARD - I Want To Live

VANGUARD

I Want To Live

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro Pop

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

To avoid misunderstandings: we are talking about the electropop and EBM band that consists of Jonas Olofsson and Patrik Hansson, and not about the eponymous metal band from Finland or the rock band from Ohio. To be honest: I did some research because the band was unknown to me. It exists since 2008 and released two albums: Sanctuary and Retribution on Conzoom Records. For this single the band teamed up with Infacted.

The EP includes three songs and four remixes of the title track. I Want To Live has a stirring rhythm, a catchy chorus and a nice structure. The lyrics include some clichés, but that’s not really disturbing. Alive Inside has dark synths and is in fact more interesting and less predictable than the title track. Rising Phoenix also has a dark side with a distinctive rhythm. Both songs contain elements of EBM, while I Want To Live sounds more like electropop. Killjoy vs. KC Exosun Star Sign Mix is the best of the four remixes on this EP. The song has body and power. The other three remixes are nice too.

With this new label, Vanguard sounds more mature and the mix between EBM and electro is nicely balanced. So that looks great for an eventual album. For fans of VNV Nation or Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Om misverstanden te vermijden: het gaat hier om de electropop- en EBM-band Vanguard die bestaat uit Jonas Olofsson en Patrik Hansson, en dus niet om de gelijknamige Finse metalband of rockband uit Ohio. Om eerlijk te zijn heb ik wat in de archieven moeten duiken, want ik kende de band niet. Vanguard bestaat sedert 2008 en heeft twee albums uitgebracht: Sanctuary en Retribution op Conzoom Records. Voor deze single is de band in zee gegaan met Infacted.

De ep bevat uit 3 songs en vier remixes van de titeltrack I Want To Live. De single heeft een opzwepend ritme, een aanstekelijk refrein en een mooie opbouw. De tekst bevat wat clichés, maar dat is niet echt storend. Alive Inside heeft wat donkere synths en is eigenlijk boeiender en minder voorspelbaar dan de titeltrack. Ook Rising Phoenix heeft een duister kantje met een markant ritme. Beide songs bevatten EBM-elementen, terwijl I Want To Live eerder electropop is. Zoals gezegd staan er nog vier remixes op deze ep waarvan KC Killjoy vs Exosun Starsign Mix erg geslaagd is. De track is krachtig en energiek. De andere drie remixes zijn ook aantrekkelijk.

Met de overstap naar een nieuw label, lijkt Vanguard opnieuw zuurstof te hebben gevonden. De mix tussen EBM en electropop is mooi in evenwicht en laat het beste vermoeden voor het nieuwe album. Voor de liefhebbers van VNV Nation of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
BIRTH OF JOY • Get Well
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
RANDOM HAND • Hit Reset
LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA • B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016
PAUL CARRACK • Soul Shadows
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
NEUGEBORENE NACHTMUSIK • Komme, was kommen mag
THE JUGGERNAUTS • The Juggernauts Are Coming
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS • SVIIB

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO POP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
GLIS • PHOENIX
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart