tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/02/2013 : GLIS - PHOENIX

GLIS

PHOENIX

MusicCD
EBMElectro PopFuturepop

[66/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
25/02/2013, Didier BECU

If you don’t count his remixalbum it’s been eight years since we heard something from Glis (aka Shaun Frandsen) whose album Nemesis was a hit and featured a collaboration with Jean-Luc De Meyer from Front 242. Lots of people thought that Glis would make one album after the other, but the man went through a very nostalgic period in where he was grabbing the records that created his musical past. The result is Phoenix, an album which Shaun describes as an ode for those who have inspired him the most without hiding his heart at all.

We usually don’t like the promotional writings that are telling us how to deal with an album, but this time it’s different. The music is so varied (and probably too varied) that Phoenix indeed sounds like an ode. The opener Apocalypse Parties puts us on the wrong track as you tend to think that you’re listening to an other futurepopband, but that’s definitely not the case.

On tracks like Keep The Memory and Coldheart Tempo, Glis is making a tribute to the Bowie-albums that have been produced by Eno. There’s even space for some ethereal wavepop when the female singer Lauren Krothe takes the vocals. Insomniac is a modern dancetune, while other tracks are more post-punk (and yes, we have to use once again Joy Division as the reference).

The biggest problem with Phoenix is that the album sounds a bit too much as a disoriented jukebox. It’s a very varied, but at the same time you feel that certainly styles are not fitting on one album. It’s definitely an album for musiclovers with an open mind. Worth your attention, but you better hear several tracks before buying it.

There is a deluxe carton box available in where there’s a bonus disc with some exclusive tracks.

Didier BECU
25/02/2013


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real