tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/02/2013 : GLIS - PHOENIX

GLIS

PHOENIX

MusicCD
EBMElectro PopFuturepop

[66/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
25/02/2013, Didier BECU

If you don’t count his remixalbum it’s been eight years since we heard something from Glis (aka Shaun Frandsen) whose album Nemesis was a hit and featured a collaboration with Jean-Luc De Meyer from Front 242. Lots of people thought that Glis would make one album after the other, but the man went through a very nostalgic period in where he was grabbing the records that created his musical past. The result is Phoenix, an album which Shaun describes as an ode for those who have inspired him the most without hiding his heart at all.

We usually don’t like the promotional writings that are telling us how to deal with an album, but this time it’s different. The music is so varied (and probably too varied) that Phoenix indeed sounds like an ode. The opener Apocalypse Parties puts us on the wrong track as you tend to think that you’re listening to an other futurepopband, but that’s definitely not the case.

On tracks like Keep The Memory and Coldheart Tempo, Glis is making a tribute to the Bowie-albums that have been produced by Eno. There’s even space for some ethereal wavepop when the female singer Lauren Krothe takes the vocals. Insomniac is a modern dancetune, while other tracks are more post-punk (and yes, we have to use once again Joy Division as the reference).

The biggest problem with Phoenix is that the album sounds a bit too much as a disoriented jukebox. It’s a very varied, but at the same time you feel that certainly styles are not fitting on one album. It’s definitely an album for musiclovers with an open mind. Worth your attention, but you better hear several tracks before buying it.

There is a deluxe carton box available in where there’s a bonus disc with some exclusive tracks.

Didier BECU
25/02/2013


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete