tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/10/2015 : DISAPPEARS - Low

DISAPPEARS

Low

MusicVinyl
Post RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Sonic Cathedral
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If there ever would be a law that states that a journalist (which we are not, we are music lovers!) must be impartial, then we’re happy to break it, as this performance of Bowie’s Low by Dissapears seems a lot like the childhood dream of yours truly.

In the meantime we made it a daily activity to ask musicians which records have influenced their lives. If I had to answer that question, then I’d say without hesitation: Low by David Bowie. As a disturbed (yes) teenage boy, I thoughts for months (or was it years?) that I was David Bowie. I lost count on how many times I've played Low in my life, and although I have skipped the part of standing in front of the mirror, this album still is the best one ever.

Disappears from Chicago must have thought the same, because during a performance in their hometown, the band played the entire album. The registration of this concert is now available as a download through all official channels, and on orange (of course!) vinyl on Sonic Cathedral. It is mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3 fame.

Of course, certain Bowie fanatics will claim that this is pure sacrilege, but you hear that this performance is about passion and love. And that’s how you listen to this album. The band would be insulted when we claimed that one of their versions is better than the original. And no, of course that is never the case, but every song gets a different angle, for instance, the otherwise subdued Weeping Wall, now sounds like a performance by Mogwai. It is an extremely bold move to replay this classic, but with a superb result!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Mocht er een wet bestaan die zegt dat een journalist (wat we niet zijn, we zijn muziekliefhebbers mijnheer!) onpartijdig moet zijn, dan lappen we die met alle plezier aan onze laars, want de uitvoering van Low door Dissapears lijkt verduiveld veel op de jongensdroom van ondergetekende.

We hebben er ondertussen een dagelijkse activiteit van gemaakt om aan muzikanten te vragen welke platen hun leven hebben beïnvloed. Als die vraag ooit aan mij wordt gesteld, dan is het antwoord zonder één seconde te aarzelen: Low van David Bowie. Als gestoorde (jawel) tienerjongen had ik maanden (of was het jaren?) lang het idee dat ik David Bowie was. Ik ben ondertussen de tel kwijt geraakt hoeveel keer ik in mijn leven Low heb gedraaid, en alhoewel ik het ondertussen heb kunnen laten om voor de spiegel te staan lippen, blijft deze plaat nog steeds de allerbeste plaat ooit.

Disappears uit Chicago moet dat ook hebben gedacht, want tijdens een voorstelling in hun thuisstad speelde deze band het volledige album na. De registratie daarvan is nu als download via alle officiële kanalen beschikbaar en is tevens op oranje (natuurlijk!) vinyl op Sonic Cathedral verschenen en door Sonic Boom van Spacemen 3 gemasterd.

Natuurlijk zullen sommige Bowiefanaten beweren dat dit pure heiligschennis is, maar je hoort duidelijk dat het hier om passie en liefde gaat. En zo moet je ook dit album beluisteren. De groep zou het als een belediging beschouwen mochten we schrijven dat een van hun versies beter is dan het origineel. En neen, dat is natuurlijk nooit het geval; wel hoor je ieder nummer vanuit een andere invalshoek, zo klinkt bijv. het anders zo ingetogen Weeping Wall in deze uitvoering alsof het door Mogwai is uitgevoerd. Een uiterst gedurfde zet om deze klassieker na te spelen, maar met een subliem resultaat! 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams