tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/10/2015 : DISAPPEARS - Low

DISAPPEARS

Low

MusicVinyl
Post RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Sonic Cathedral
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If there ever would be a law that states that a journalist (which we are not, we are music lovers!) must be impartial, then we’re happy to break it, as this performance of Bowie’s Low by Dissapears seems a lot like the childhood dream of yours truly.

In the meantime we made it a daily activity to ask musicians which records have influenced their lives. If I had to answer that question, then I’d say without hesitation: Low by David Bowie. As a disturbed (yes) teenage boy, I thoughts for months (or was it years?) that I was David Bowie. I lost count on how many times I've played Low in my life, and although I have skipped the part of standing in front of the mirror, this album still is the best one ever.

Disappears from Chicago must have thought the same, because during a performance in their hometown, the band played the entire album. The registration of this concert is now available as a download through all official channels, and on orange (of course!) vinyl on Sonic Cathedral. It is mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3 fame.

Of course, certain Bowie fanatics will claim that this is pure sacrilege, but you hear that this performance is about passion and love. And that’s how you listen to this album. The band would be insulted when we claimed that one of their versions is better than the original. And no, of course that is never the case, but every song gets a different angle, for instance, the otherwise subdued Weeping Wall, now sounds like a performance by Mogwai. It is an extremely bold move to replay this classic, but with a superb result!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Mocht er een wet bestaan die zegt dat een journalist (wat we niet zijn, we zijn muziekliefhebbers mijnheer!) onpartijdig moet zijn, dan lappen we die met alle plezier aan onze laars, want de uitvoering van Low door Dissapears lijkt verduiveld veel op de jongensdroom van ondergetekende.

We hebben er ondertussen een dagelijkse activiteit van gemaakt om aan muzikanten te vragen welke platen hun leven hebben beïnvloed. Als die vraag ooit aan mij wordt gesteld, dan is het antwoord zonder één seconde te aarzelen: Low van David Bowie. Als gestoorde (jawel) tienerjongen had ik maanden (of was het jaren?) lang het idee dat ik David Bowie was. Ik ben ondertussen de tel kwijt geraakt hoeveel keer ik in mijn leven Low heb gedraaid, en alhoewel ik het ondertussen heb kunnen laten om voor de spiegel te staan lippen, blijft deze plaat nog steeds de allerbeste plaat ooit.

Disappears uit Chicago moet dat ook hebben gedacht, want tijdens een voorstelling in hun thuisstad speelde deze band het volledige album na. De registratie daarvan is nu als download via alle officiële kanalen beschikbaar en is tevens op oranje (natuurlijk!) vinyl op Sonic Cathedral verschenen en door Sonic Boom van Spacemen 3 gemasterd.

Natuurlijk zullen sommige Bowiefanaten beweren dat dit pure heiligschennis is, maar je hoort duidelijk dat het hier om passie en liefde gaat. En zo moet je ook dit album beluisteren. De groep zou het als een belediging beschouwen mochten we schrijven dat een van hun versies beter is dan het origineel. En neen, dat is natuurlijk nooit het geval; wel hoor je ieder nummer vanuit een andere invalshoek, zo klinkt bijv. het anders zo ingetogen Weeping Wall in deze uitvoering alsof het door Mogwai is uitgevoerd. Een uiterst gedurfde zet om deze klassieker na te spelen, maar met een subliem resultaat! 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself