tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/10/2015 : DISAPPEARS - Low

DISAPPEARS

Low

MusicVinyl
Post RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Sonic Cathedral
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If there ever would be a law that states that a journalist (which we are not, we are music lovers!) must be impartial, then we’re happy to break it, as this performance of Bowie’s Low by Dissapears seems a lot like the childhood dream of yours truly.

In the meantime we made it a daily activity to ask musicians which records have influenced their lives. If I had to answer that question, then I’d say without hesitation: Low by David Bowie. As a disturbed (yes) teenage boy, I thoughts for months (or was it years?) that I was David Bowie. I lost count on how many times I've played Low in my life, and although I have skipped the part of standing in front of the mirror, this album still is the best one ever.

Disappears from Chicago must have thought the same, because during a performance in their hometown, the band played the entire album. The registration of this concert is now available as a download through all official channels, and on orange (of course!) vinyl on Sonic Cathedral. It is mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3 fame.

Of course, certain Bowie fanatics will claim that this is pure sacrilege, but you hear that this performance is about passion and love. And that’s how you listen to this album. The band would be insulted when we claimed that one of their versions is better than the original. And no, of course that is never the case, but every song gets a different angle, for instance, the otherwise subdued Weeping Wall, now sounds like a performance by Mogwai. It is an extremely bold move to replay this classic, but with a superb result!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Mocht er een wet bestaan die zegt dat een journalist (wat we niet zijn, we zijn muziekliefhebbers mijnheer!) onpartijdig moet zijn, dan lappen we die met alle plezier aan onze laars, want de uitvoering van Low door Dissapears lijkt verduiveld veel op de jongensdroom van ondergetekende.

We hebben er ondertussen een dagelijkse activiteit van gemaakt om aan muzikanten te vragen welke platen hun leven hebben beïnvloed. Als die vraag ooit aan mij wordt gesteld, dan is het antwoord zonder één seconde te aarzelen: Low van David Bowie. Als gestoorde (jawel) tienerjongen had ik maanden (of was het jaren?) lang het idee dat ik David Bowie was. Ik ben ondertussen de tel kwijt geraakt hoeveel keer ik in mijn leven Low heb gedraaid, en alhoewel ik het ondertussen heb kunnen laten om voor de spiegel te staan lippen, blijft deze plaat nog steeds de allerbeste plaat ooit.

Disappears uit Chicago moet dat ook hebben gedacht, want tijdens een voorstelling in hun thuisstad speelde deze band het volledige album na. De registratie daarvan is nu als download via alle officiële kanalen beschikbaar en is tevens op oranje (natuurlijk!) vinyl op Sonic Cathedral verschenen en door Sonic Boom van Spacemen 3 gemasterd.

Natuurlijk zullen sommige Bowiefanaten beweren dat dit pure heiligschennis is, maar je hoort duidelijk dat het hier om passie en liefde gaat. En zo moet je ook dit album beluisteren. De groep zou het als een belediging beschouwen mochten we schrijven dat een van hun versies beter is dan het origineel. En neen, dat is natuurlijk nooit het geval; wel hoor je ieder nummer vanuit een andere invalshoek, zo klinkt bijv. het anders zo ingetogen Weeping Wall in deze uitvoering alsof het door Mogwai is uitgevoerd. Een uiterst gedurfde zet om deze klassieker na te spelen, maar met een subliem resultaat! 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day