tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/10/2015 : DISAPPEARS - Low

DISAPPEARS

Low

MusicVinyl
Post RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Sonic Cathedral
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If there ever would be a law that states that a journalist (which we are not, we are music lovers!) must be impartial, then we’re happy to break it, as this performance of Bowie’s Low by Dissapears seems a lot like the childhood dream of yours truly.

In the meantime we made it a daily activity to ask musicians which records have influenced their lives. If I had to answer that question, then I’d say without hesitation: Low by David Bowie. As a disturbed (yes) teenage boy, I thoughts for months (or was it years?) that I was David Bowie. I lost count on how many times I've played Low in my life, and although I have skipped the part of standing in front of the mirror, this album still is the best one ever.

Disappears from Chicago must have thought the same, because during a performance in their hometown, the band played the entire album. The registration of this concert is now available as a download through all official channels, and on orange (of course!) vinyl on Sonic Cathedral. It is mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3 fame.

Of course, certain Bowie fanatics will claim that this is pure sacrilege, but you hear that this performance is about passion and love. And that’s how you listen to this album. The band would be insulted when we claimed that one of their versions is better than the original. And no, of course that is never the case, but every song gets a different angle, for instance, the otherwise subdued Weeping Wall, now sounds like a performance by Mogwai. It is an extremely bold move to replay this classic, but with a superb result!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Mocht er een wet bestaan die zegt dat een journalist (wat we niet zijn, we zijn muziekliefhebbers mijnheer!) onpartijdig moet zijn, dan lappen we die met alle plezier aan onze laars, want de uitvoering van Low door Dissapears lijkt verduiveld veel op de jongensdroom van ondergetekende.

We hebben er ondertussen een dagelijkse activiteit van gemaakt om aan muzikanten te vragen welke platen hun leven hebben beïnvloed. Als die vraag ooit aan mij wordt gesteld, dan is het antwoord zonder één seconde te aarzelen: Low van David Bowie. Als gestoorde (jawel) tienerjongen had ik maanden (of was het jaren?) lang het idee dat ik David Bowie was. Ik ben ondertussen de tel kwijt geraakt hoeveel keer ik in mijn leven Low heb gedraaid, en alhoewel ik het ondertussen heb kunnen laten om voor de spiegel te staan lippen, blijft deze plaat nog steeds de allerbeste plaat ooit.

Disappears uit Chicago moet dat ook hebben gedacht, want tijdens een voorstelling in hun thuisstad speelde deze band het volledige album na. De registratie daarvan is nu als download via alle officiële kanalen beschikbaar en is tevens op oranje (natuurlijk!) vinyl op Sonic Cathedral verschenen en door Sonic Boom van Spacemen 3 gemasterd.

Natuurlijk zullen sommige Bowiefanaten beweren dat dit pure heiligschennis is, maar je hoort duidelijk dat het hier om passie en liefde gaat. En zo moet je ook dit album beluisteren. De groep zou het als een belediging beschouwen mochten we schrijven dat een van hun versies beter is dan het origineel. En neen, dat is natuurlijk nooit het geval; wel hoor je ieder nummer vanuit een andere invalshoek, zo klinkt bijv. het anders zo ingetogen Weeping Wall in deze uitvoering alsof het door Mogwai is uitgevoerd. Een uiterst gedurfde zet om deze klassieker na te spelen, maar met een subliem resultaat! 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo