tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/03/2014 : INNER SUN - Arcane Initiation

INNER SUN

Arcane Initiation

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopIndie RockPopPost RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Self-released
03/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, I got this via the guest vocalist and I'm very happy with it. The music is great and the vocals (Hans Luyten) reminds me a bit of Brainstorm. The production is simply great, love the sound and all is blending in perfectly! It's only 5 songs, but the band only got together in 2012 and already delivers a jewel of an EP!

The genre is what you can call something between soft rock and melodic Blues Pop. They say from themselves that they are mostly influenced by The Cure, Anathema & Killing Joke, but I for sure sense enough authenticity and yes: I'm a fan of all these bands!

'Arcane Initiation' is a nice and up-tempo rock song, well worked out and very melodic! Great riffs and great vocals! It's a real earworm! A real jewel! I love the melancholic sound on 'Gates Ajar', just as the great guitars and the showing off on the vocal side! The piano synth is also great! Love the sweetness in 'Cassandra', just as the nice backings. One has to know that Niki is a singing teacher, that says it all, right? 'Archangelica' sounds more like a mix between melancholic metal and bluesy pop, a nice one (and here I understand why they say influenced by Anathema)! I love the nice piano outro on this one! 'Blood and Sound' has a nice Brainstorm kinda sound, very melodic and melancholic! Love the hypnotic synth and great guitars (cool retro sound), just as the vocals! Once again, I use the repeat function!

It's clear that this band can become a great one, it has already enough potential! Let's hope that this review will help them to get more fans and more attention!

Here's some info:

Inner Sun :

Niels De Win : keyboard
(Red Lake Hill)
Chris Heylen : drums
(In de Schaduw, Avatar, The Avatar, Guardian Heliotrope,)
Jeroen Lemmens : bass
(Exterminator, Patriarch, Celestian, Strawberry Blonde, Process of the Spirit)
Hans Luyten : lead vocals / guitar
(Guardian Heliotrope)
Romain Swinnen : guitar
(Vstream)
Niki Dierckx : guestvocals & backings

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/03/2014


 

Next reviews
PUIN + HOOP • Er Zit Een Gat In De Soep
THEN COMES SILENCE • She Lies In Wait
NANO INFECT • Scars of Denial
STILL PATIENT? • Retrospective 88-2-99
LARRY COHEN • The Stuff
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
DJ LORDBONE • NeXuS VUS - the new 'old' partyconcept
JOE SWANBERG • Drinking Buddies
LARVA • Where The Butterflies Go To Die
DJ ZWEEF • The DJ-files: Zweef

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life