tempobet yeni adresi

03/03/2014 : INNER SUN - Arcane Initiation

INNER SUN

Arcane Initiation

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopIndie RockPopPost RockShoegaze

[90/100]   

Self-released
03/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, I got this via the guest vocalist and I'm very happy with it. The music is great and the vocals (Hans Luyten) reminds me a bit of Brainstorm. The production is simply great, love the sound and all is blending in perfectly! It's only 5 songs, but the band only got together in 2012 and already delivers a jewel of an EP!

The genre is what you can call something between soft rock and melodic Blues Pop. They say from themselves that they are mostly influenced by The Cure, Anathema & Killing Joke, but I for sure sense enough authenticity and yes: I'm a fan of all these bands!

'Arcane Initiation' is a nice and up-tempo rock song, well worked out and very melodic! Great riffs and great vocals! It's a real earworm! A real jewel! I love the melancholic sound on 'Gates Ajar', just as the great guitars and the showing off on the vocal side! The piano synth is also great! Love the sweetness in 'Cassandra', just as the nice backings. One has to know that Niki is a singing teacher, that says it all, right? 'Archangelica' sounds more like a mix between melancholic metal and bluesy pop, a nice one (and here I understand why they say influenced by Anathema)! I love the nice piano outro on this one! 'Blood and Sound' has a nice Brainstorm kinda sound, very melodic and melancholic! Love the hypnotic synth and great guitars (cool retro sound), just as the vocals! Once again, I use the repeat function!

It's clear that this band can become a great one, it has already enough potential! Let's hope that this review will help them to get more fans and more attention!

Here's some info:

Inner Sun :

Niels De Win : keyboard
(Red Lake Hill)
Chris Heylen : drums
(In de Schaduw, Avatar, The Avatar, Guardian Heliotrope,)
Jeroen Lemmens : bass
(Exterminator, Patriarch, Celestian, Strawberry Blonde, Process of the Spirit)
Hans Luyten : lead vocals / guitar
(Guardian Heliotrope)
Romain Swinnen : guitar
(Vstream)
Niki Dierckx : guestvocals & backings

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/03/2014


 

Next reviews
PUIN + HOOP • Er Zit Een Gat In De Soep
THEN COMES SILENCE • She Lies In Wait
NANO INFECT • Scars of Denial
STILL PATIENT? • Retrospective 88-2-99
LARRY COHEN • The Stuff
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
DJ LORDBONE • NeXuS VUS - the new 'old' partyconcept
JOE SWANBERG • Drinking Buddies
LARVA • Where The Butterflies Go To Die
DJ ZWEEF • The DJ-files: Zweef

 

Same genre: DARK POP
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)