tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle

KEVIN GREUTERT

Jessabelle

Movie
Horror

[64/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Apparently it seems that people always want to hear the bad news first, so here we go! You already have seen a movie like Jessabelle more than once, and it’s kind of normal that you will not find any surprises in it. And what about the good news then? Well, Jessabelle isn’t that bad as some want you to believe, at least if you’re still keen on spending your time on horror.

The movie starts with images of a happy Jessie (Sarah Snook). It seems as if the young will have a bright future with her boyfriend, but unfortunately a passing truck destroys her dream. Her partner is killed and Jessie is taken to a hospital in a very critical condition. She recovers, but she’s bound for the rest of her life to a wheelchair. The only person who’s willing to take care of her, is her father (David Andrews), although he’s not that enthusiastic about it. From the moment she enters his home in Louisiana, we learn to know why. Jessie’s mother died of cancer after she was born. Mom had a dark past and did some things you don’t expect from a loyal spouse (of course we won’t tell you what she did). Jessie discovers some old videotapes her mother recorded. They all contain warnings. Her father is furious when he finds out Jessie saw them. And yes you’re right, from the moment the tapes are being watched a phantom joins the cast!

It was during Saw 3D that producers gave Kevin Greutert the script of Ben Garant (indeed the deputy of Reno 911 and also the writer of the American Taxi). It seemed a good choice, but Greutertcan surely be accused of working in a too routinous way. On the other hand, you will certainly see that he knows how to direct a decent horror flick. A main minor point (there are indeed some) is probably the fact that Jessabelle isn’t bloody enough and will probably be categorized by horror fans as too soft. But believe us, you can find worse than that!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


NL

Blijkbaar willen de mensen altijd het slechte nieuws eerst horen, dus laten we daarmee maar beginnen. Een film als Jessabelle heb je al meerdere keren gezien. Het is dan ook normaal dat er weinig of geen verrassingen in deze prent zitten. En wat met het (voorspelbare) goede nieuws dan? Wel, Jessabelle is helemaal nog zo slecht niet, ten minste als je nog bereid bent om je tijd op te offeren voor horror.

De film begint met beelden van een dolgelukkige Jessie (Sarah Snook). Het lijkt erop alsof ze met haar vriendje een gouden toekomst tegemoet gaat. Helaas besluit een voorbijrazende vrachtwagen daar anders over. Haar partner overleeft de crash niet en Jessie wordt in kritieke toestand naar het ziekenhuis overgebracht. Het jonge meisje krijgt te horen dat ze voor de rest van haar leven aan een rolstoel gekluisterd zit. De enige die zich over haar nog wil bekommeren is haar wereldvreemde vader (David Andrews), ook al is dat zeer tegen zijn zin. Vanaf het moment dat ze naar zijn verlaten huis in Louisiana trekt, wordt het duidelijk waarom haar vader zo vreemd reageert.

Jessies moeder, die bij haar geboorte stierf aan de gevolgen van kanker, heeft een duister verleden en deed ook allerlei dingen die een trouwe echtgenote niet hoort te doen (wat dat is verklappen we uiteraard niet!). Jessie ontdekt oude videotapes waarop haar moeder boodschappen heeft ingesproken. Het zijn allemaal waarschuwingen. Als de vader ontdekt dat zijn dochter naar die opnames zit te kijken, wordt hij razend. En jawel, beste horrorvrienden, van zodra de video’s zijn bovengehaald komt ook het spook tot leven dat je anderhalf uur de stuipen op het lijf jaagt.

Het was tijdens de opnames van Saw 3D dat men het scenario van Ben Garant (inderdaad de sheriff uit Reno 911 en ook de schrijver van de Amerikaanse variant op Taxi) in de handen van Kevin Greutert stopte. Een goede keuze, zo blijkt, want ook al gaat Greutert zeer routineus te werk, merk je toch dat er een filmmaker achter de camera staat die de knepen van het horrorvak kent. Een minpunt (want die zijn er ook) is dat Jessabelle veel te braaf is waardoor echte horrorfans dit louter voer voor doetjes zullen vinden. Maar geloof ons, in dit genre vind je heel wat slechter.

Kijkers die tevreden zijn met een horrorprent die veilig de wegen van het genre aflegt, mogen gerust Jessabelle in de lader duwen. Het is wel allemaal net iets te routineus, maar er wordt degelijk geacteerd en ook al schrik je maar weinig, is er van verveling nooit echt sprake.

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design