tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : CHRIST - Tower

CHRIST

Tower

MusicCD
Ambient

[80/100]   

LíOeil du Tigre
29/04/2015, William LI√ČNARD

EN

CHRIST is a band from Montreal. The group debuted in 2014 and shared the stage with Godspeed You! Black Emperor shortly after. Later this spring, they begin their first extensive tour of North America (along with Cult of Luna) and they just released their first full album Tower, containing four long instrumental compositions.

The over 12-minute long Sine kicks off with slow and atmospheric guitar drones, melodic, warm and melodious, with a firm nod towards Pink Floyd. Harmless, but beautiful with halfway quiet drums and floating synths that complement the atmospheric sound scape. Rope follows almost seamlessly with voices and guitars that sound like dreamy church bells, and evolves over time to good sounding guitar drones: warm, emphatic, thin and ethereal. It sounds very nice.

Planer begins with dark guitar drones, emphatic drums and squealing electronics. The pace is higher than in the two previous compositions and the sound is a lot more dangerous, almost industrial, turning crescendo after a while with a short far away vocal in the mix. The more than eleven minutes long Ornament chooses a much quieter path, focusing on atmospheric and melodic guitars and cautious synth sounds.

Tower of CHRIST sounds nice and is highly recommended.

Tracklist:
1. Sine (12:08)
2. Rope (10.25)
3. Planer (7:49)
4. Ornement (11:19)

infochrst@gmail.com

William LI√ČNARD
29/04/2015


NL

CHRIST is een band uit Montreal. Het gezelschap debuteerde in 2014 en stond sindsdien op het podium met o.a. Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Later dit voorjaar beginnen ze aan hun eerste uitgebreide tournee door Noord-Amerika (samen met Cult of Luna) en nu is er alvast hun eerste full album Tower met vier lange instrumentale composities.

Het ruim 12 minuten durende Sine bijt de spits af met langzame en atmosferische gitaardrones, melodisch, warm en welluidend, met een flinke knipoog richting Pink Floyd. Ongevaarlijk, maar wondermooi met halfweg rustige drums en zweverige synths die het atmosferisch geluidsbeeld vervolledigen. Rope sluit bijna naadloos aan met stemmen, en gitaren die klinken als dromerige kerkklokken en die na verloop van tijd evolueren tot nadrukkelijke, maar altijd goed klinkende gitaardrones, warm, nadrukkelijk en tegelijk ijl en etherisch. Klinkt heel erg mooi.

Planer begint met donkere gitaardrones, nadrukkelijke drums en piepend elektro. Het stuwende tempo ligt hoger dan in de beide vorige composities en het geluid klinkt een stuk gevaarlijker, haast industrial, en gaat na vijf minuten crescendo met een korte zangpartij die evenwel niet nadrukkelijk door de muziek is gemixt. Het meer dan elf minuten durende Ornament kiest opnieuw een veel rustiger pad, met de nadruk op atmosferische en melodische gitaren en voorzichtig synthgeluid.

Tower van CHRIST klinkt mooi en is een aanrader.

William LI√ČNARD
29/04/2015


29/04/2015 : CHRIST - Tower 29/04/2015 : CHRIST - Tower

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel