tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : EROTIC ELK - III

EROTIC ELK

III

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   
29/04/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Erotic Elk is a Swedish synthpop band that just released its new album called 'III'. It took three years to make this album, so maybe this is the reason why they named it this way. Let's say that they have a strange way to pick names, even the bands name sounds 'special'. Tomas Gustafson and Frederik Sigeback create a nice electropop atmosphere, they made an album that certainly will be enjoyed by classic synth and future pop lovers.

Most tracks on this album are well made pop tunes with beautiful bass tones accompanied by well-crafted melodies and melodic vocals. Highlight is the 1991 cover of Chris Isaaks monsterhit 'Wicked Games', a really beautiful but also different version, with an atmospheric synth pop touch. Erotic Elk's sound material consist mostly of analog synths, supplemented by carefully placed guitar samples.

This album is mastered by Claus Larsen of Laether Strip, so to be honest I expected a more EBM or harder electronic album, but the opposite is the case, 'III' is a modern oriented synthpop album without spectacular beats or dancefloor killers. But we will keep an eye on this band. Tthese guys have put some really brilliant melodies into their songs, together with the strong production and the extensive bonus material on this CD, this is a nice package for all Swedish synthpop lovers

Tracklist 01. Intro (01:24) 02. What You Give is What You Get (03:35) 03. Surrender (04:40) 04. Other Side of love (03:17) 05. Dark Winter (03:35) 06. Wicked Game (04:03) 07. Higher (04:41) 08. Would (05:12) 09. Distorted (04:04) 10. Burning Down Your House (Refurbished and polished version) (04:56) 11. Seal the Moment (04:34) 12. With You (00:56) 13. Without You (04:08) 14. Never Stay the Same (05:48) 15. Dark Winter (Acoustic version) (03:21) ** 16. Surrender (Remixed by Denormal) (04:57) ** 17. Other Side of Love (Remixed by Vaylon) (03:46) ** 18. Higher (Remixed by Vogon Poetry) (05:30) ** 19. My My Hey Hey (Extended version) (04:32) **

Peter HESELMANS
29/04/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel