tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/08/2014 : ANTIGEN SHIFT - Brotherhood

ANTIGEN SHIFT

Brotherhood

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectronicsIndustrialTechno

[90/100]   
27/08/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Antigen Shift is a Canadian duo from Ottawa, members are Nick Thériault and Jairus Khan. Nick already began experimenting with electronic sounds in 2000, combining world beat music with haunting, sometimes distorted, rhythmic, richly textured soundscapes. In 2009 Jairus joined the band after performing some live dates together in their hometown Ottawa. The pair began writing together, each bringing a new perspective to the other’s music.

The album is the first Antigen Shift album jointly made and produced and is inspired by three takes on the concept of their work together, the industrial music community and Thériault’s military experience.

Brotherhood is surprisingly variable in sound, I expected a much harder and industrial album, but it’s all very acceptable for most electronical lovers. Some songs can even be called ‘commercial’, but certainly not in a bad way. Antigen Shift has managed to bring lots of influences into their album, piano, guitar samples, breakbeats, but even some nice minimal soundscapes, and it certainly worked for me. Some tracks can even be called real electro house that will easily fill the dancefloor.

Tracks like Forced, Legion or Console Nation are real EDM songs for adults: VNV Nation meets Light Asylum. So Much Closer Now has some great minimal influences, cool synths, and a really great vocal sample, very nice track. Maybe the most industrial track is This Is An Exit, the distorted beats and dark synths lift this song up to one of my favourites on this album, together with Extraction: a slowly build up track that comes alive after 2 minutes, aggressive percussion, even some guitar samples, the brilliant synths and repetitive loops will surely make you move

This album surprised me. The diversity is really amazing: IDM, EDM, EBM, house and industrial influences. Together with piano, guitar, vocal samples, and lots of uplifting synths and fantastic danceable beats. So all of this makes this album my personal favourite of the month.

Tracklisting:

1.Forced 05:49

2.The Games We Played As Children 04:16

3.Angry Pillbox 05:08

4.Legion 06:49

5.Godkrusher 06:50

6.Breakaway 02:44

7.Colliding Clusters 04:51

8.Console Nation 03:40

9.This Is An Exit 04:57

10.Get Off My Lawn 04:20

11.Reborn1130 04:07

12.So Much Closer Now 04:07

13.November 05:45

14.Extraction 05:49

Peter HESELMANS
27/08/2014


 

Next reviews
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
SCOTT WAUGH • Need For Speed
• Transformers Prime - Orion Pax Season 2 Vol.1
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
RAYNE • Complex by Design
J.J. ABRAMS • Star Trek
JOHN WELLS • August: Osage County
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger
• GOMORRA, THE SERIES
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
POTOCHKINE
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance