tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/08/2014 : ANTIGEN SHIFT - Brotherhood

ANTIGEN SHIFT

Brotherhood

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectronicsIndustrialTechno

[90/100]   
27/08/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Antigen Shift is a Canadian duo from Ottawa, members are Nick Thériault and Jairus Khan. Nick already began experimenting with electronic sounds in 2000, combining world beat music with haunting, sometimes distorted, rhythmic, richly textured soundscapes. In 2009 Jairus joined the band after performing some live dates together in their hometown Ottawa. The pair began writing together, each bringing a new perspective to the other’s music.

The album is the first Antigen Shift album jointly made and produced and is inspired by three takes on the concept of their work together, the industrial music community and Thériault’s military experience.

Brotherhood is surprisingly variable in sound, I expected a much harder and industrial album, but it’s all very acceptable for most electronical lovers. Some songs can even be called ‘commercial’, but certainly not in a bad way. Antigen Shift has managed to bring lots of influences into their album, piano, guitar samples, breakbeats, but even some nice minimal soundscapes, and it certainly worked for me. Some tracks can even be called real electro house that will easily fill the dancefloor.

Tracks like Forced, Legion or Console Nation are real EDM songs for adults: VNV Nation meets Light Asylum. So Much Closer Now has some great minimal influences, cool synths, and a really great vocal sample, very nice track. Maybe the most industrial track is This Is An Exit, the distorted beats and dark synths lift this song up to one of my favourites on this album, together with Extraction: a slowly build up track that comes alive after 2 minutes, aggressive percussion, even some guitar samples, the brilliant synths and repetitive loops will surely make you move

This album surprised me. The diversity is really amazing: IDM, EDM, EBM, house and industrial influences. Together with piano, guitar, vocal samples, and lots of uplifting synths and fantastic danceable beats. So all of this makes this album my personal favourite of the month.

Tracklisting:

1.Forced 05:49

2.The Games We Played As Children 04:16

3.Angry Pillbox 05:08

4.Legion 06:49

5.Godkrusher 06:50

6.Breakaway 02:44

7.Colliding Clusters 04:51

8.Console Nation 03:40

9.This Is An Exit 04:57

10.Get Off My Lawn 04:20

11.Reborn1130 04:07

12.So Much Closer Now 04:07

13.November 05:45

14.Extraction 05:49

Peter HESELMANS
27/08/2014


 

Next reviews
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
SCOTT WAUGH • Need For Speed
• Transformers Prime - Orion Pax Season 2 Vol.1
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
RAYNE • Complex by Design
J.J. ABRAMS • Star Trek
JOHN WELLS • August: Osage County
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger
• GOMORRA, THE SERIES
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith