tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/08/2014 : ANTIGEN SHIFT - Brotherhood

ANTIGEN SHIFT

Brotherhood

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectronicsIndustrialTechno

[90/100]   
27/08/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Antigen Shift is a Canadian duo from Ottawa, members are Nick Thériault and Jairus Khan. Nick already began experimenting with electronic sounds in 2000, combining world beat music with haunting, sometimes distorted, rhythmic, richly textured soundscapes. In 2009 Jairus joined the band after performing some live dates together in their hometown Ottawa. The pair began writing together, each bringing a new perspective to the other’s music.

The album is the first Antigen Shift album jointly made and produced and is inspired by three takes on the concept of their work together, the industrial music community and Thériault’s military experience.

Brotherhood is surprisingly variable in sound, I expected a much harder and industrial album, but it’s all very acceptable for most electronical lovers. Some songs can even be called ‘commercial’, but certainly not in a bad way. Antigen Shift has managed to bring lots of influences into their album, piano, guitar samples, breakbeats, but even some nice minimal soundscapes, and it certainly worked for me. Some tracks can even be called real electro house that will easily fill the dancefloor.

Tracks like Forced, Legion or Console Nation are real EDM songs for adults: VNV Nation meets Light Asylum. So Much Closer Now has some great minimal influences, cool synths, and a really great vocal sample, very nice track. Maybe the most industrial track is This Is An Exit, the distorted beats and dark synths lift this song up to one of my favourites on this album, together with Extraction: a slowly build up track that comes alive after 2 minutes, aggressive percussion, even some guitar samples, the brilliant synths and repetitive loops will surely make you move

This album surprised me. The diversity is really amazing: IDM, EDM, EBM, house and industrial influences. Together with piano, guitar, vocal samples, and lots of uplifting synths and fantastic danceable beats. So all of this makes this album my personal favourite of the month.

Tracklisting:

1.Forced 05:49

2.The Games We Played As Children 04:16

3.Angry Pillbox 05:08

4.Legion 06:49

5.Godkrusher 06:50

6.Breakaway 02:44

7.Colliding Clusters 04:51

8.Console Nation 03:40

9.This Is An Exit 04:57

10.Get Off My Lawn 04:20

11.Reborn1130 04:07

12.So Much Closer Now 04:07

13.November 05:45

14.Extraction 05:49

Peter HESELMANS
27/08/2014


 

Next reviews
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
SCOTT WAUGH • Need For Speed
• Transformers Prime - Orion Pax Season 2 Vol.1
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
RAYNE • Complex by Design
J.J. ABRAMS • Star Trek
JOHN WELLS • August: Osage County
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger
• GOMORRA, THE SERIES
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life