tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

DECODED FEEDBACK

Dark Passenger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[81/100]   

Metropolis Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metropolis Records just released Dark Passenger, the brand new album of the Canadian duo Decoded Feedback which is formed by Marco Biagiotti and Yone Dudas. It is a de luxe version with 20 songs. Decoded Feedback is between electro and EBM, with harsh and heavy songs.

Dark Passenger opens with beautiful vocals and synths, the prelude to the more danceable and uptempo Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile sounds milder, although the message is clear: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Closely look at me (and) you'll see, the man I am, just in’t me... Not exactly what you call happy lyrics! A Lonely Place has the same tormented vibe: dark lyrics about anger, despair, confidence, but finally... love.

Nowhere has the same musical style and content. Duality has the sound and arrangement of Blutengel: dark beats that are not hard, but danceable, with a nice melody. Kill The Hate is a plea for peace, although that is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is a subdued song with a very soft synth part that sounds almost classical. Falling Down is synth pop of a high standard. Damaged Goods sounds similar, but with lots of distorted vocals.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How To Destroy A Planet Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, and Strange Times are all danceable EBM songs. Warm Leatherette is of course a cover of the classic by The Normal and is recognizable from the first notes. The song is treated with respect. We Fade To Grey passes in a peaceful way, Electric Tsunami is a minimal/synth wave-like song, a nice change on a very quirky and diverse album.

Blood Field brings us back to peace after a lot of emotions, impressions and thoughts.

Dark Passenger has something for everyone, from quiet to pure EBM. Lyrically, it's all a bit heavier as it deals with pain, doubt, mental worries, anger and disappointment. A strong album on which Decoded Feedback shows its various faces in 20 tracks.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Het Metropolis Record-label brengt de nieuwe cd Dark Passenger uit van het Canadese duo Decoded Feedback (de Italiaan Marco Biagiotti en de Hongaarse Yone Dudas). Het gaat om een deluxe-versie met 20 songs. Decoded Feedback kunnen we situeren tussen electro, EBM, met hier en daar een vleugje harsh en stevige songs.

Dark Passenger opent deze kanjer van een plaat op een vrij zachte en innemende wijze met mooie zangpartijen en vrij licht synthwerk, het voorspel voor dansbaarder en dus meer uptempo geluid in Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile is milder, hoewel de boodschap in deze song dat niet meteen is: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Look at me closely (and) you'll see, the man I am, just isn't me... Niet meteen rozengeur en maneschijn. A Lonely Place bevat diezelfde getormenteerde vibe: donkere teksten over woede, radeloosheid, vertrouwen, maar finaal toch... liefde.

Nowhere sluit daarbij aan qua muzikale stijl en inhoud. Duality doet qua klank en arrangement denken aan Blutengel: darkbeats die niet snoeihard maar dansbaar zijn, met een leuke melodie. En het zal u niet verbazen dat een song met als titel Kill The Hate (een pleidooi voor vrede) beladen klinkt: Peace is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is een ingetogen song met een heel zachte muzikale synthpartij die nagenoeg klassiek klinkt. Falling Down is synthpop van hoog niveau. Ook Damaged Goods klinkt als synthpop, met flink wat vervormde vocalen.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How to Destroy A Planet, Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, en Strange Times zijn stuk voor stuk EBM-songs, dansbaar en steviger in het zadel dan de andere pareltjes die het duo aflevert. Warm Leatherette is een cover van de klassieker van The Normal en is herkenbaar vanaf de eerste noten. De song wordt bovendien met respect behandeld. We Fade To Grey kabbelt rustig voort, Electric Tsunami is een minimal/synthwave-achtige song, een leuke afwisseling op een heel eigenzinnige en diverse langspeler.

De afsluiter Bloodfield brengt ons terug tot rust na de vele emoties, indrukken en bedenkingen in het songmateriaal.

Als geheel bevat Dark Passenger voor elk wat wils, van rustig en ingetogen materiaal to pure EBM en afgeleiden. Tekstueel is het allemaal wat zwaarder, van vrolijkheid is er weinig sprake: pijn, twijfel, mentale beslommeringen, woede, ontgoocheling en toch rechtop blijven staan, het zijn allemaal thema's die in de songs aan bod komen. Een sterke plaat waarin Decoded Feedback in 20 tracks z'n diverse gezichten toont. Het is een band die al lang meedraait en die met deze schijf zijn plaats zeer nadrukkelijk opeist tussen de besten in het genre.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger 10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

 

Next reviews
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control

 

Same genre: EBM
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'
12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands