tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

DECODED FEEDBACK

Dark Passenger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[81/100]   

Metropolis Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metropolis Records just released Dark Passenger, the brand new album of the Canadian duo Decoded Feedback which is formed by Marco Biagiotti and Yone Dudas. It is a de luxe version with 20 songs. Decoded Feedback is between electro and EBM, with harsh and heavy songs.

Dark Passenger opens with beautiful vocals and synths, the prelude to the more danceable and uptempo Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile sounds milder, although the message is clear: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Closely look at me (and) you'll see, the man I am, just in’t me... Not exactly what you call happy lyrics! A Lonely Place has the same tormented vibe: dark lyrics about anger, despair, confidence, but finally... love.

Nowhere has the same musical style and content. Duality has the sound and arrangement of Blutengel: dark beats that are not hard, but danceable, with a nice melody. Kill The Hate is a plea for peace, although that is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is a subdued song with a very soft synth part that sounds almost classical. Falling Down is synth pop of a high standard. Damaged Goods sounds similar, but with lots of distorted vocals.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How To Destroy A Planet Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, and Strange Times are all danceable EBM songs. Warm Leatherette is of course a cover of the classic by The Normal and is recognizable from the first notes. The song is treated with respect. We Fade To Grey passes in a peaceful way, Electric Tsunami is a minimal/synth wave-like song, a nice change on a very quirky and diverse album.

Blood Field brings us back to peace after a lot of emotions, impressions and thoughts.

Dark Passenger has something for everyone, from quiet to pure EBM. Lyrically, it's all a bit heavier as it deals with pain, doubt, mental worries, anger and disappointment. A strong album on which Decoded Feedback shows its various faces in 20 tracks.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Het Metropolis Record-label brengt de nieuwe cd Dark Passenger uit van het Canadese duo Decoded Feedback (de Italiaan Marco Biagiotti en de Hongaarse Yone Dudas). Het gaat om een deluxe-versie met 20 songs. Decoded Feedback kunnen we situeren tussen electro, EBM, met hier en daar een vleugje harsh en stevige songs.

Dark Passenger opent deze kanjer van een plaat op een vrij zachte en innemende wijze met mooie zangpartijen en vrij licht synthwerk, het voorspel voor dansbaarder en dus meer uptempo geluid in Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile is milder, hoewel de boodschap in deze song dat niet meteen is: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Look at me closely (and) you'll see, the man I am, just isn't me... Niet meteen rozengeur en maneschijn. A Lonely Place bevat diezelfde getormenteerde vibe: donkere teksten over woede, radeloosheid, vertrouwen, maar finaal toch... liefde.

Nowhere sluit daarbij aan qua muzikale stijl en inhoud. Duality doet qua klank en arrangement denken aan Blutengel: darkbeats die niet snoeihard maar dansbaar zijn, met een leuke melodie. En het zal u niet verbazen dat een song met als titel Kill The Hate (een pleidooi voor vrede) beladen klinkt: Peace is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is een ingetogen song met een heel zachte muzikale synthpartij die nagenoeg klassiek klinkt. Falling Down is synthpop van hoog niveau. Ook Damaged Goods klinkt als synthpop, met flink wat vervormde vocalen.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How to Destroy A Planet, Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, en Strange Times zijn stuk voor stuk EBM-songs, dansbaar en steviger in het zadel dan de andere pareltjes die het duo aflevert. Warm Leatherette is een cover van de klassieker van The Normal en is herkenbaar vanaf de eerste noten. De song wordt bovendien met respect behandeld. We Fade To Grey kabbelt rustig voort, Electric Tsunami is een minimal/synthwave-achtige song, een leuke afwisseling op een heel eigenzinnige en diverse langspeler.

De afsluiter Bloodfield brengt ons terug tot rust na de vele emoties, indrukken en bedenkingen in het songmateriaal.

Als geheel bevat Dark Passenger voor elk wat wils, van rustig en ingetogen materiaal to pure EBM en afgeleiden. Tekstueel is het allemaal wat zwaarder, van vrolijkheid is er weinig sprake: pijn, twijfel, mentale beslommeringen, woede, ontgoocheling en toch rechtop blijven staan, het zijn allemaal thema's die in de songs aan bod komen. Een sterke plaat waarin Decoded Feedback in 20 tracks z'n diverse gezichten toont. Het is een band die al lang meedraait en die met deze schijf zijn plaats zeer nadrukkelijk opeist tussen de besten in het genre.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger 10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

 

Next reviews
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

 

Same genre: EBM
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive