tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

DECODED FEEDBACK

Dark Passenger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[81/100]   

Metropolis Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metropolis Records just released Dark Passenger, the brand new album of the Canadian duo Decoded Feedback which is formed by Marco Biagiotti and Yone Dudas. It is a de luxe version with 20 songs. Decoded Feedback is between electro and EBM, with harsh and heavy songs.

Dark Passenger opens with beautiful vocals and synths, the prelude to the more danceable and uptempo Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile sounds milder, although the message is clear: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Closely look at me (and) you'll see, the man I am, just in’t me... Not exactly what you call happy lyrics! A Lonely Place has the same tormented vibe: dark lyrics about anger, despair, confidence, but finally... love.

Nowhere has the same musical style and content. Duality has the sound and arrangement of Blutengel: dark beats that are not hard, but danceable, with a nice melody. Kill The Hate is a plea for peace, although that is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is a subdued song with a very soft synth part that sounds almost classical. Falling Down is synth pop of a high standard. Damaged Goods sounds similar, but with lots of distorted vocals.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How To Destroy A Planet Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, and Strange Times are all danceable EBM songs. Warm Leatherette is of course a cover of the classic by The Normal and is recognizable from the first notes. The song is treated with respect. We Fade To Grey passes in a peaceful way, Electric Tsunami is a minimal/synth wave-like song, a nice change on a very quirky and diverse album.

Blood Field brings us back to peace after a lot of emotions, impressions and thoughts.

Dark Passenger has something for everyone, from quiet to pure EBM. Lyrically, it's all a bit heavier as it deals with pain, doubt, mental worries, anger and disappointment. A strong album on which Decoded Feedback shows its various faces in 20 tracks.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Het Metropolis Record-label brengt de nieuwe cd Dark Passenger uit van het Canadese duo Decoded Feedback (de Italiaan Marco Biagiotti en de Hongaarse Yone Dudas). Het gaat om een deluxe-versie met 20 songs. Decoded Feedback kunnen we situeren tussen electro, EBM, met hier en daar een vleugje harsh en stevige songs.

Dark Passenger opent deze kanjer van een plaat op een vrij zachte en innemende wijze met mooie zangpartijen en vrij licht synthwerk, het voorspel voor dansbaarder en dus meer uptempo geluid in Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile is milder, hoewel de boodschap in deze song dat niet meteen is: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Look at me closely (and) you'll see, the man I am, just isn't me... Niet meteen rozengeur en maneschijn. A Lonely Place bevat diezelfde getormenteerde vibe: donkere teksten over woede, radeloosheid, vertrouwen, maar finaal toch... liefde.

Nowhere sluit daarbij aan qua muzikale stijl en inhoud. Duality doet qua klank en arrangement denken aan Blutengel: darkbeats die niet snoeihard maar dansbaar zijn, met een leuke melodie. En het zal u niet verbazen dat een song met als titel Kill The Hate (een pleidooi voor vrede) beladen klinkt: Peace is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is een ingetogen song met een heel zachte muzikale synthpartij die nagenoeg klassiek klinkt. Falling Down is synthpop van hoog niveau. Ook Damaged Goods klinkt als synthpop, met flink wat vervormde vocalen.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How to Destroy A Planet, Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, en Strange Times zijn stuk voor stuk EBM-songs, dansbaar en steviger in het zadel dan de andere pareltjes die het duo aflevert. Warm Leatherette is een cover van de klassieker van The Normal en is herkenbaar vanaf de eerste noten. De song wordt bovendien met respect behandeld. We Fade To Grey kabbelt rustig voort, Electric Tsunami is een minimal/synthwave-achtige song, een leuke afwisseling op een heel eigenzinnige en diverse langspeler.

De afsluiter Bloodfield brengt ons terug tot rust na de vele emoties, indrukken en bedenkingen in het songmateriaal.

Als geheel bevat Dark Passenger voor elk wat wils, van rustig en ingetogen materiaal to pure EBM en afgeleiden. Tekstueel is het allemaal wat zwaarder, van vrolijkheid is er weinig sprake: pijn, twijfel, mentale beslommeringen, woede, ontgoocheling en toch rechtop blijven staan, het zijn allemaal thema's die in de songs aan bod komen. Een sterke plaat waarin Decoded Feedback in 20 tracks z'n diverse gezichten toont. Het is een band die al lang meedraait en die met deze schijf zijn plaats zeer nadrukkelijk opeist tussen de besten in het genre.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger 10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

 

Next reviews
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts

 

Same genre: EBM
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible