tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

DECODED FEEDBACK

Dark Passenger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[81/100]   

Metropolis Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metropolis Records just released Dark Passenger, the brand new album of the Canadian duo Decoded Feedback which is formed by Marco Biagiotti and Yone Dudas. It is a de luxe version with 20 songs. Decoded Feedback is between electro and EBM, with harsh and heavy songs.

Dark Passenger opens with beautiful vocals and synths, the prelude to the more danceable and uptempo Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile sounds milder, although the message is clear: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Closely look at me (and) you'll see, the man I am, just in’t me... Not exactly what you call happy lyrics! A Lonely Place has the same tormented vibe: dark lyrics about anger, despair, confidence, but finally... love.

Nowhere has the same musical style and content. Duality has the sound and arrangement of Blutengel: dark beats that are not hard, but danceable, with a nice melody. Kill The Hate is a plea for peace, although that is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is a subdued song with a very soft synth part that sounds almost classical. Falling Down is synth pop of a high standard. Damaged Goods sounds similar, but with lots of distorted vocals.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How To Destroy A Planet Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, and Strange Times are all danceable EBM songs. Warm Leatherette is of course a cover of the classic by The Normal and is recognizable from the first notes. The song is treated with respect. We Fade To Grey passes in a peaceful way, Electric Tsunami is a minimal/synth wave-like song, a nice change on a very quirky and diverse album.

Blood Field brings us back to peace after a lot of emotions, impressions and thoughts.

Dark Passenger has something for everyone, from quiet to pure EBM. Lyrically, it's all a bit heavier as it deals with pain, doubt, mental worries, anger and disappointment. A strong album on which Decoded Feedback shows its various faces in 20 tracks.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Het Metropolis Record-label brengt de nieuwe cd Dark Passenger uit van het Canadese duo Decoded Feedback (de Italiaan Marco Biagiotti en de Hongaarse Yone Dudas). Het gaat om een deluxe-versie met 20 songs. Decoded Feedback kunnen we situeren tussen electro, EBM, met hier en daar een vleugje harsh en stevige songs.

Dark Passenger opent deze kanjer van een plaat op een vrij zachte en innemende wijze met mooie zangpartijen en vrij licht synthwerk, het voorspel voor dansbaarder en dus meer uptempo geluid in Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile is milder, hoewel de boodschap in deze song dat niet meteen is: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Look at me closely (and) you'll see, the man I am, just isn't me... Niet meteen rozengeur en maneschijn. A Lonely Place bevat diezelfde getormenteerde vibe: donkere teksten over woede, radeloosheid, vertrouwen, maar finaal toch... liefde.

Nowhere sluit daarbij aan qua muzikale stijl en inhoud. Duality doet qua klank en arrangement denken aan Blutengel: darkbeats die niet snoeihard maar dansbaar zijn, met een leuke melodie. En het zal u niet verbazen dat een song met als titel Kill The Hate (een pleidooi voor vrede) beladen klinkt: Peace is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is een ingetogen song met een heel zachte muzikale synthpartij die nagenoeg klassiek klinkt. Falling Down is synthpop van hoog niveau. Ook Damaged Goods klinkt als synthpop, met flink wat vervormde vocalen.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How to Destroy A Planet, Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, en Strange Times zijn stuk voor stuk EBM-songs, dansbaar en steviger in het zadel dan de andere pareltjes die het duo aflevert. Warm Leatherette is een cover van de klassieker van The Normal en is herkenbaar vanaf de eerste noten. De song wordt bovendien met respect behandeld. We Fade To Grey kabbelt rustig voort, Electric Tsunami is een minimal/synthwave-achtige song, een leuke afwisseling op een heel eigenzinnige en diverse langspeler.

De afsluiter Bloodfield brengt ons terug tot rust na de vele emoties, indrukken en bedenkingen in het songmateriaal.

Als geheel bevat Dark Passenger voor elk wat wils, van rustig en ingetogen materiaal to pure EBM en afgeleiden. Tekstueel is het allemaal wat zwaarder, van vrolijkheid is er weinig sprake: pijn, twijfel, mentale beslommeringen, woede, ontgoocheling en toch rechtop blijven staan, het zijn allemaal thema's die in de songs aan bod komen. Een sterke plaat waarin Decoded Feedback in 20 tracks z'n diverse gezichten toont. Het is een band die al lang meedraait en die met deze schijf zijn plaats zeer nadrukkelijk opeist tussen de besten in het genre.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger 10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

 

Next reviews
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still