tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

DECODED FEEDBACK

Dark Passenger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[81/100]   

Metropolis Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Metropolis Records just released Dark Passenger, the brand new album of the Canadian duo Decoded Feedback which is formed by Marco Biagiotti and Yone Dudas. It is a de luxe version with 20 songs. Decoded Feedback is between electro and EBM, with harsh and heavy songs.

Dark Passenger opens with beautiful vocals and synths, the prelude to the more danceable and uptempo Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile sounds milder, although the message is clear: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Closely look at me (and) you'll see, the man I am, just in’t me... Not exactly what you call happy lyrics! A Lonely Place has the same tormented vibe: dark lyrics about anger, despair, confidence, but finally... love.

Nowhere has the same musical style and content. Duality has the sound and arrangement of Blutengel: dark beats that are not hard, but danceable, with a nice melody. Kill The Hate is a plea for peace, although that is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is a subdued song with a very soft synth part that sounds almost classical. Falling Down is synth pop of a high standard. Damaged Goods sounds similar, but with lots of distorted vocals.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How To Destroy A Planet Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, and Strange Times are all danceable EBM songs. Warm Leatherette is of course a cover of the classic by The Normal and is recognizable from the first notes. The song is treated with respect. We Fade To Grey passes in a peaceful way, Electric Tsunami is a minimal/synth wave-like song, a nice change on a very quirky and diverse album.

Blood Field brings us back to peace after a lot of emotions, impressions and thoughts.

Dark Passenger has something for everyone, from quiet to pure EBM. Lyrically, it's all a bit heavier as it deals with pain, doubt, mental worries, anger and disappointment. A strong album on which Decoded Feedback shows its various faces in 20 tracks.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Het Metropolis Record-label brengt de nieuwe cd Dark Passenger uit van het Canadese duo Decoded Feedback (de Italiaan Marco Biagiotti en de Hongaarse Yone Dudas). Het gaat om een deluxe-versie met 20 songs. Decoded Feedback kunnen we situeren tussen electro, EBM, met hier en daar een vleugje harsh en stevige songs.

Dark Passenger opent deze kanjer van een plaat op een vrij zachte en innemende wijze met mooie zangpartijen en vrij licht synthwerk, het voorspel voor dansbaarder en dus meer uptempo geluid in Waiting For The Storm. Behind My Smile is milder, hoewel de boodschap in deze song dat niet meteen is: Behind my smile there is a hurting heart, behind my laughs I'm falling apart. Look at me closely (and) you'll see, the man I am, just isn't me... Niet meteen rozengeur en maneschijn. A Lonely Place bevat diezelfde getormenteerde vibe: donkere teksten over woede, radeloosheid, vertrouwen, maar finaal toch... liefde.

Nowhere sluit daarbij aan qua muzikale stijl en inhoud. Duality doet qua klank en arrangement denken aan Blutengel: darkbeats die niet snoeihard maar dansbaar zijn, met een leuke melodie. En het zal u niet verbazen dat een song met als titel Kill The Hate (een pleidooi voor vrede) beladen klinkt: Peace is a myth...

When I Lose Myself is een ingetogen song met een heel zachte muzikale synthpartij die nagenoeg klassiek klinkt. Falling Down is synthpop van hoog niveau. Ook Damaged Goods klinkt als synthpop, met flink wat vervormde vocalen.

Now And Forever, Dead Inside, How to Destroy A Planet, Pulse Code Attack, Terrible Instincts, en Strange Times zijn stuk voor stuk EBM-songs, dansbaar en steviger in het zadel dan de andere pareltjes die het duo aflevert. Warm Leatherette is een cover van de klassieker van The Normal en is herkenbaar vanaf de eerste noten. De song wordt bovendien met respect behandeld. We Fade To Grey kabbelt rustig voort, Electric Tsunami is een minimal/synthwave-achtige song, een leuke afwisseling op een heel eigenzinnige en diverse langspeler.

De afsluiter Bloodfield brengt ons terug tot rust na de vele emoties, indrukken en bedenkingen in het songmateriaal.

Als geheel bevat Dark Passenger voor elk wat wils, van rustig en ingetogen materiaal to pure EBM en afgeleiden. Tekstueel is het allemaal wat zwaarder, van vrolijkheid is er weinig sprake: pijn, twijfel, mentale beslommeringen, woede, ontgoocheling en toch rechtop blijven staan, het zijn allemaal thema's die in de songs aan bod komen. Een sterke plaat waarin Decoded Feedback in 20 tracks z'n diverse gezichten toont. Het is een band die al lang meedraait en die met deze schijf zijn plaats zeer nadrukkelijk opeist tussen de besten in het genre.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger 10/12/2016 : DECODED FEEDBACK - Dark Passenger

 

Next reviews
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation