tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE ASSOCIATES - The Affectionate Punch

THE ASSOCIATES

The Affectionate Punch

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Union Square Music
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Although recently revisited for reissues not too long ago, these 2xCD expanded editions of Billy Mackenzie and Alan Rankine's key oddball albums of the early '80s serve a greater purpose. Terrific sleeve-notes from Billy Mackenzie biographer Tom Doyle and respected writer Martin Aston and extra discs full of rare or unheard songs only add to the educational heritage. There's also a double-disc compilation on offer for those dipping a toe in the water for the first time - this has a few rarities as well, enough to lure fans such as myself.

Debut-album The Affectionate Punch appears in its original form (it was misguidedly remixed by the pair for a 1982 re-release) and as such stands up as a quirky inaugural journey into the mind-expanded world of Dundee singer Mackenzie and Linlithgow-based studio-savvy musician and composer Rankine. Back in 1980, very few albums were comparable. Perhaps Tuxedomoon's Half-Mute, The Human League's Travelogue, John Foxx's Metamatic and Bowie's Scary Monsters and Super Creeps (as well as his earlier Berlin trilogy), all of which possess rhythmic similarities, lyrical references and evidence of harsh, industrial, urban landscapes mixed with the occasional narcotic dabbling and early member Michael Dempsey (The Cure) filling in the musical gaps.

It's an album of contrasts - A Matter of Gender is classic post-punk disco-funk while Logan Time is a brooding menacing ballad that showcases Mackenzie's gymnastic yelps. Even Dogs in the Wild exudes a surfeit of confidence and hints at the pair's Scottish legacy (fist-pumping anthemic rock, not unlike The Skids or Fingerprintz). By Bounce Back and A, you wonder just how this enigmatic stack of songs failed to crossover (in their original form or reworked). The track Deeply Concerned is The Associates at their most luxuriant and least precocious - a beautiful understated song with references to a missing person and the killer lyric, "Last time we heard she was crying/ We feel for you deeply concerned/ If you needs us, we'll be helpful/ Hopefully..."

Extras include the brave Bowie-cover Boys Keep Swinging, its intense flip Mona Property Girl, some of the aforementioned remixes plus early demos.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Other reviews from THE ASSOCIATES
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu