tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE ASSOCIATES - The Affectionate Punch

THE ASSOCIATES

The Affectionate Punch

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Union Square Music
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Although recently revisited for reissues not too long ago, these 2xCD expanded editions of Billy Mackenzie and Alan Rankine's key oddball albums of the early '80s serve a greater purpose. Terrific sleeve-notes from Billy Mackenzie biographer Tom Doyle and respected writer Martin Aston and extra discs full of rare or unheard songs only add to the educational heritage. There's also a double-disc compilation on offer for those dipping a toe in the water for the first time - this has a few rarities as well, enough to lure fans such as myself.

Debut-album The Affectionate Punch appears in its original form (it was misguidedly remixed by the pair for a 1982 re-release) and as such stands up as a quirky inaugural journey into the mind-expanded world of Dundee singer Mackenzie and Linlithgow-based studio-savvy musician and composer Rankine. Back in 1980, very few albums were comparable. Perhaps Tuxedomoon's Half-Mute, The Human League's Travelogue, John Foxx's Metamatic and Bowie's Scary Monsters and Super Creeps (as well as his earlier Berlin trilogy), all of which possess rhythmic similarities, lyrical references and evidence of harsh, industrial, urban landscapes mixed with the occasional narcotic dabbling and early member Michael Dempsey (The Cure) filling in the musical gaps.

It's an album of contrasts - A Matter of Gender is classic post-punk disco-funk while Logan Time is a brooding menacing ballad that showcases Mackenzie's gymnastic yelps. Even Dogs in the Wild exudes a surfeit of confidence and hints at the pair's Scottish legacy (fist-pumping anthemic rock, not unlike The Skids or Fingerprintz). By Bounce Back and A, you wonder just how this enigmatic stack of songs failed to crossover (in their original form or reworked). The track Deeply Concerned is The Associates at their most luxuriant and least precocious - a beautiful understated song with references to a missing person and the killer lyric, "Last time we heard she was crying/ We feel for you deeply concerned/ If you needs us, we'll be helpful/ Hopefully..."

Extras include the brave Bowie-cover Boys Keep Swinging, its intense flip Mona Property Girl, some of the aforementioned remixes plus early demos.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Other reviews from THE ASSOCIATES
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem