tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Fabrice of the post-punk band Factice Factory which albums changed his life... Here we go!

First of all, I want to thank Peek-A-Boo to have proposed me this exercise in style. In my Top 10, I will rather talk of what struck me musically in the 80’s and mid-90’s !

1. SECTION 25 - Always Now
I bought this album on a record fair. I was fascinated by the cover and especially by the artwork. The cover looked like a kind of yellow envelope, I found it very original and according to me, it’s the most beautiful sleeve Factory Records has ever done. Always Now is a very avant-garde album, a mix of psychedelic/ambient/coldwave album with themes of the Buddhist philosophy. I think it’s a totally misunderstood album and one of my favourites that I still love listen to regularly!

2. HULA - Murmur
I’ve bought this LP in Brussels in 1986. I was a few days in a youth hostel and spend my time grabbing vinyls in second-hand shops and… I discovered this amazing band ! Murmur illustrates perfectly the mood of Sheffield in the U.K. of the 80s ! Hula has never really known any great success and has always been in the shadow of bands like Cabaret Voltaire… I love this totally experimental and unknown album!

3. ATTRITION - Smiling at the Hypogonder Club
I think that it was the first vinyl I bought when I was 15 years old! Yeah! It was a crazy discovery! I really loved the contrast between the dark voice of Martin Bowes and the different female voices. My favourite song is Fate Is Smiling.

4. SKINNY PUPPY - Remission
I remember I bought this album together with Attrition's Smiling at the Hypogonder Club in the best record shop in Lille, La Boucherie Moderne (it does not exist anymore). I love this album because at that time, Skinny Puppy found a particular sound that only a few bands had. The singer had a distorted and saturated voice and I really loved the sonorities that were used. Its sound was very interesting and innovating. I was lucky to see them live in 1987, and I am still recovering of it!!

5. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV
I had heard of that French Northern band… When I found this album, I immediately fell in love with it. I think it’s the record I’ve listened to the most in my youth! For sure because Trisomie 21 were guys from my local area! The singer’s voice was so particular and it’s what I loved and still love!

6. THE CURE - Faith
In general, people think that Pornography is the best album ever done. According to me, it’s Faith, because it’s a very romantic and melancholic album. I also love Pornography! I love Robert Smith’s soft voice on Faith. A must-have!

7. AND ALSO THE TREES - Virus Meadow
I saw this band live in 1986 or 1987 It was a great experience! I remember that the guys played nearly 3 hours, it was in Lille and it was the very first time I saw them. Simon was fantastic and Justin was playing like a god. The guitars had a very particular sound that fascinated me! It was pure emotion and my nerves were on the edge.

8. SLOWDIVE - Just for a Day
In the 90s, I was still searching for new musical sonorities and I heard the album Just for a Day. I immediately loved the reverberated sound of the guitars and the ethereal and melancholic voices. I’ve been lucky to see Slowdive live in Paris 2 years ago! It was just... an amazing live show! Thrills and chills guaranteed!

9. ULTRAVOX - Rage in Eden
I discovered this band in the early 80s thanks to my brother Marc. I was very young at that time, but I must say that I immediately loved the sound of this album: a new wave sound, especially the track The Thin Wall. For sure, Ultravox must have influenced many many bands such as Clan of Xymox.

10. DEAD CAN DANCE - Spleen and Ideal
I discovered DCD in 1988 and I really loved the way Lisa Gerrard used her voice. It sounded very innovative. I also loved the use of ethnic instruments in occidental music. It has influenced my first musical project RAJNA.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August