tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Fabrice of the post-punk band Factice Factory which albums changed his life... Here we go!

First of all, I want to thank Peek-A-Boo to have proposed me this exercise in style. In my Top 10, I will rather talk of what struck me musically in the 80’s and mid-90’s !

1. SECTION 25 - Always Now
I bought this album on a record fair. I was fascinated by the cover and especially by the artwork. The cover looked like a kind of yellow envelope, I found it very original and according to me, it’s the most beautiful sleeve Factory Records has ever done. Always Now is a very avant-garde album, a mix of psychedelic/ambient/coldwave album with themes of the Buddhist philosophy. I think it’s a totally misunderstood album and one of my favourites that I still love listen to regularly!

2. HULA - Murmur
I’ve bought this LP in Brussels in 1986. I was a few days in a youth hostel and spend my time grabbing vinyls in second-hand shops and… I discovered this amazing band ! Murmur illustrates perfectly the mood of Sheffield in the U.K. of the 80s ! Hula has never really known any great success and has always been in the shadow of bands like Cabaret Voltaire… I love this totally experimental and unknown album!

3. ATTRITION - Smiling at the Hypogonder Club
I think that it was the first vinyl I bought when I was 15 years old! Yeah! It was a crazy discovery! I really loved the contrast between the dark voice of Martin Bowes and the different female voices. My favourite song is Fate Is Smiling.

4. SKINNY PUPPY - Remission
I remember I bought this album together with Attrition's Smiling at the Hypogonder Club in the best record shop in Lille, La Boucherie Moderne (it does not exist anymore). I love this album because at that time, Skinny Puppy found a particular sound that only a few bands had. The singer had a distorted and saturated voice and I really loved the sonorities that were used. Its sound was very interesting and innovating. I was lucky to see them live in 1987, and I am still recovering of it!!

5. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV
I had heard of that French Northern band… When I found this album, I immediately fell in love with it. I think it’s the record I’ve listened to the most in my youth! For sure because Trisomie 21 were guys from my local area! The singer’s voice was so particular and it’s what I loved and still love!

6. THE CURE - Faith
In general, people think that Pornography is the best album ever done. According to me, it’s Faith, because it’s a very romantic and melancholic album. I also love Pornography! I love Robert Smith’s soft voice on Faith. A must-have!

7. AND ALSO THE TREES - Virus Meadow
I saw this band live in 1986 or 1987 It was a great experience! I remember that the guys played nearly 3 hours, it was in Lille and it was the very first time I saw them. Simon was fantastic and Justin was playing like a god. The guitars had a very particular sound that fascinated me! It was pure emotion and my nerves were on the edge.

8. SLOWDIVE - Just for a Day
In the 90s, I was still searching for new musical sonorities and I heard the album Just for a Day. I immediately loved the reverberated sound of the guitars and the ethereal and melancholic voices. I’ve been lucky to see Slowdive live in Paris 2 years ago! It was just... an amazing live show! Thrills and chills guaranteed!

9. ULTRAVOX - Rage in Eden
I discovered this band in the early 80s thanks to my brother Marc. I was very young at that time, but I must say that I immediately loved the sound of this album: a new wave sound, especially the track The Thin Wall. For sure, Ultravox must have influenced many many bands such as Clan of Xymox.

10. DEAD CAN DANCE - Spleen and Ideal
I discovered DCD in 1988 and I really loved the way Lisa Gerrard used her voice. It sounded very innovative. I also loved the use of ethnic instruments in occidental music. It has influenced my first musical project RAJNA.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room