tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2016 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Wind (Re) Wind

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Wind (Re) Wind

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[95/100]   

Mecanica
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Belgium has a lot of bands to be proud of, and Absolute Body Control surely is one of them: one of the four faces of Dirk Ivens, founded in 1980. Soon after, Eric Van Wonterghem joined this minimal synth legend. Most releases of Absolute Body Control were released on tape. When Absolute Body Control reunited in 2007, most of these releases were already collector's items and reissues such as the compilation Wind [Re] Wind, that appeared on Daft Records later, disappeared in the collections of record collectors in no time. This album is now again available on vinyl, including two new versions (Waving Hands and The Man I Wanna Be) and some songs taken from a gig at WGT 2007. In the meantime, Eric Van Wonterghem informed us that all 520 copies are sold. Why a review, then? Simply because an album is an album!

Do we really have to introduce Absolute Body Control? Perhaps yes, because the music of Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem is so timeless that it can appeal to a younger generation, even inspire it. The tunes are classified as minimal synth (that’s what they are), but Absolute Body Control surely is one of the most original bands in the wave genre.

What's the name of the movie? Probably no Belgian synth wave song starts so catchy as Figures: Fad Gadget-beats, the ingenuity of The Human League and minimal splendor. A perfect opener. Menacing synth beats on I Was Not There. There's blood on the mirror, there's blood on the floor, sings Dirk Ivens. Although it remains very poppy, it is also a very dark tune. Dancing on your own grave. Is There An Exit?, Dirk Ivens asks in an almost naïve way, and if so, to show him the way, but the synths of Eric Van Wonterghem provide the answer. There’s none!

Dirk Ivens has never hidden his admiration for Suicide, those influences you hear on Do You Feel It Inside. Repetitive icy synth noises, but in the middle some minimal synths to let your heart bleed. The synths on Love At First Sight are extremely melodic and compelling. A little less known, but surely as great, are: Did You Do It, Touch Your Skin and I'm Leaving. Playful minimal pop with funny vocoders are the ingredients on Automatic. Perhaps every fan tends to imitate the unique dance steps of Dirk Ivend during Melting Away. No, it is not a pretty sight, but it is still very nice to do! The last side contains some songs of a WGT gig, you won’t find any better live recording by Absolute Body Control then this one. Well, it’s sold out, but what a brilliant record this is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

België heeft heel wat bands om trots op te zijn en daar hoort ongetwijfeld Absolute Body Control bij, een van de vier gezichten van Dirk Ivens, opgericht in 1980. Vrij kort nadien maakte ook Eric Van Wonterghem deel uit van deze minimalsynthlegende. De meeste originele releases van Absolute Body Control zijn destijds op tape uitgebracht. Toen Absolute Body Control in 2007 opnieuw bij elkaar kwam, waren die releases natuurlijk al lang een collector's item en ook de heruitgaven, zoals de compilatie Wind[Re]Wind, die op Daft Records verscheen, verdween binnen de kortste keren in de collecties van platenverzamelaars. Deze plaat is nu opnieuw op vinyl uitgebracht met daarop twee nieuwe versies (Waving Hands en The Man I Wanna Be) en als extra nog een stukje uit een optreden tijdens WGT 2007. Allemaal leuk natuurlijk, maar ondertussen liet Eric Van Wonterghem ons weten dat alle 520 exemplaren uitverkocht zijn. Waarom dan nog een bespreking, vraag je je af? Nou simpel, omdat een plaat een plaat is!

Moeten we de muziek voorstellen? Wie kent er Absolute Body Control niet? Maar goed, de muziek van Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem is zo tijdloos dat ook een jonge generatie die kan ontdekken en en er zich door kan laten inspireren, want ook al wordt de muziek gemakshalve ondergebracht onder de noemer minimal synth, is Absolute Body Control één van de meest originele wavebands.

What’s the name of the movie? Waarschijnlijk klinkt geen enkel Belgisch synthwave-lied zo aanstekelijk als Figures: Fad Gadget-beats, het vernuft van The Human League en voor de rest minimale pracht. Een perfecte opener. De dreigende synthbeats worden voortgezet op I Wasn’t There. There’s blood on the mirror, There’s blood on the floor zingt Dirk Ivens. Alhoewel het ontzettend poppy blijft, is het tevens donker. Dansen en feestvieren op je eigen graf. Dat hoor je ook in Is There An Exit? Dirk Ivens vraagt zich op (bijna) naïeve wijze af of er een uitweg is, maar de synths van Eric Van Wonterghem geven hem op een overduidelijke manier het antwoord. Niet dus.

Dirk Ivens heeft nooit zijn bewondering voor Suicide onder stoelen of banken gestoken, dat hoor je overduidelijk op Do You Feel It Inside. Repetitieve ijskoude synthnoise, ook al zorgen de minimale synths in het midden ervoor dat je hart bloedt.

De synths op Love At First Sight zijn uiterst melodisch en meeslepend. Iets minder bekend, maar daarom niet minder goed zijn Did You Do It, Touch Your Skin en I’m Leaving. Speelse minimale pop met leuke stemvervormers dat is Automatic.

Wellicht heeft iedere fan wel de neiging om op de livefavoriet Melting Away de onnavolgbare dansjes van Dirk Ivens te imiteren. Neen, het is geen gezicht, maar het blijft ontzettend prettig om te doen.

En dan is er nog een plaatkant met live-uitvoeringen van een WGT-optreden, een betere concertopname van Absolute Body Control dan deze bestaat wellicht niet.

Tja, uitverkocht dus, maar wat een geniale plaat blijft dit!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido