tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/06/2014 : IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES - Cannula Coma Legio

IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES

Cannula Coma Legio

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMartialNeofolkRhythmic Industrial

[99/100]   

Cyclic Law
12/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Lead by the enigmatic Jouni Havukainen since the late 80's, he is responsible for some of the brashest and intense releases of the postindustrial genre. This new release can be seen as a prequel to things to come, it contains 3 brand new tracks, in which we see ISN plunge into less bombastic terrain and delve into more obscure ambient territories. Alongside these new pieces is reworked, remixed and upgraded material used in the last years as part of live performances by extreme body art performer Chérie Roi, giving new life and direction to some well-known passages and lesser known tracks with the trademark ISN bombastic sound and vocals. A brand new album is also scheduled for release in late 2014, and this release serves as the perfect appetizer while we wait for the main course.

So far the promotional intro, to me ISN is known for a scary & hellish sound, with incredible live shows. After my interview with Jouni (just before he had to jump on the Porta Nigra stage, in Belgium, joined by Nicolas from Empusae), he promised some things. But most important: he told me he loves to take his time and hates to be pushed. So nearly one year after we get a first bite.

The first track runs over more than 9 minutes and is a slow grower, with the typical martial percussion and scary sound. The vocals are whispering, creating this scary sound. The electronics strengthen this scary ambient sound and the title is very well chosen 'Plague walk with me' as this is what you feel. The second one creates an even darker world: 'Definition of Being Alive'. The synths render the darkness whilst the percussion delivers the rhythm and a hellish voice whispers you into the scary vibe. Never listen to this one when you are all alone at night and start to hear strange things! '

Silent Cold Body' is the first track where I can really understand the lyrics; it enforces the dark and hellish atmosphere. Scary noises and background voices (like real spooky ones) enforces the dark feel. Don't let yourself fool by the carnival organ; it is a very scary track! It will take you down; you won't even realize 11:46 minutes have passed by! I almost lost my metro exit as I was too much sucked into it and that says enough.

'Venereal Comatose/Closed My Eyes' is a slow grower, with again a very captivating sound, very scary! The voices and the music create with every passing second a denser sound, overwhelming you by darkness and pain. This is clearly a well-crafted ISN diamond! It uses an instrument that I know from Dead Can Dance (I think in 'The Carnival is Over'). 'Left Arm Right Arm As My Path' starts with the words: 'I am my god', well for a lot of people who love this genre Jouni is their god and I strongly believe in it. This track is just a new proof of it! It's a short track compared to the other ones, but it is for sure as scary and well build up as the other ones!

'Gaudium Et Alia Vitia' is yet another very dark track, with impressive percussion and electronic sounds. The roaring piano adds another great dimension. 'Ignis Et Scalpello/Angel Meat': martial percussion filled with darkness and voices that speak Russian (or something similar). I think I hear some chain whips, not sure, but something is being tortured! It's clear that this one is yet again a great classic ISN track! The last track really sounds as if we are in hell and are getting knocked down by bombs send out from heaven to destroy evil! In 'Three Three Three' I really get the feeling that good and evil are on their final round! I let you decide who won!

One thing is for sure: ISN has set a new standard and goes on creating one well-crafted diamond after another! It's sad that his first record label has died (Cold Meat Industry), but luckily there's more that keeps the industry alive! I'm pretty sure that this one will be sold out pretty fast!

Tracks :
1 Plague Walk My Earth
2 Definition Of Being Alive
3 Silent Cold Body
4 Venereal Comatose/Closed My Eyes
5 Left Arm Right Arm As My Path
6 Gaudium Et Alia Vitia
7 Ignis Et Scalpello/Angel Meat
8 Three Three Three

For the fans, click on the links below:

interview

live review of Porta Nigra

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
NIC PIZZOLATTO • True Detective
PRESTON STURGES • Sullivan's Travels
BELLY • CLASSICS: King
VERSUS YOU • Moving on
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
YOU ARE NUMBER SIX • Weird Tales EP

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death