tempobet yeni adresi

12/06/2014 : IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES - Cannula Coma Legio

IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES

Cannula Coma Legio

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMartialNeofolkRhythmic Industrial

[99/100]   

Cyclic Law
12/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Lead by the enigmatic Jouni Havukainen since the late 80's, he is responsible for some of the brashest and intense releases of the postindustrial genre. This new release can be seen as a prequel to things to come, it contains 3 brand new tracks, in which we see ISN plunge into less bombastic terrain and delve into more obscure ambient territories. Alongside these new pieces is reworked, remixed and upgraded material used in the last years as part of live performances by extreme body art performer Chérie Roi, giving new life and direction to some well-known passages and lesser known tracks with the trademark ISN bombastic sound and vocals. A brand new album is also scheduled for release in late 2014, and this release serves as the perfect appetizer while we wait for the main course.

So far the promotional intro, to me ISN is known for a scary & hellish sound, with incredible live shows. After my interview with Jouni (just before he had to jump on the Porta Nigra stage, in Belgium, joined by Nicolas from Empusae), he promised some things. But most important: he told me he loves to take his time and hates to be pushed. So nearly one year after we get a first bite.

The first track runs over more than 9 minutes and is a slow grower, with the typical martial percussion and scary sound. The vocals are whispering, creating this scary sound. The electronics strengthen this scary ambient sound and the title is very well chosen 'Plague walk with me' as this is what you feel. The second one creates an even darker world: 'Definition of Being Alive'. The synths render the darkness whilst the percussion delivers the rhythm and a hellish voice whispers you into the scary vibe. Never listen to this one when you are all alone at night and start to hear strange things! '

Silent Cold Body' is the first track where I can really understand the lyrics; it enforces the dark and hellish atmosphere. Scary noises and background voices (like real spooky ones) enforces the dark feel. Don't let yourself fool by the carnival organ; it is a very scary track! It will take you down; you won't even realize 11:46 minutes have passed by! I almost lost my metro exit as I was too much sucked into it and that says enough.

'Venereal Comatose/Closed My Eyes' is a slow grower, with again a very captivating sound, very scary! The voices and the music create with every passing second a denser sound, overwhelming you by darkness and pain. This is clearly a well-crafted ISN diamond! It uses an instrument that I know from Dead Can Dance (I think in 'The Carnival is Over'). 'Left Arm Right Arm As My Path' starts with the words: 'I am my god', well for a lot of people who love this genre Jouni is their god and I strongly believe in it. This track is just a new proof of it! It's a short track compared to the other ones, but it is for sure as scary and well build up as the other ones!

'Gaudium Et Alia Vitia' is yet another very dark track, with impressive percussion and electronic sounds. The roaring piano adds another great dimension. 'Ignis Et Scalpello/Angel Meat': martial percussion filled with darkness and voices that speak Russian (or something similar). I think I hear some chain whips, not sure, but something is being tortured! It's clear that this one is yet again a great classic ISN track! The last track really sounds as if we are in hell and are getting knocked down by bombs send out from heaven to destroy evil! In 'Three Three Three' I really get the feeling that good and evil are on their final round! I let you decide who won!

One thing is for sure: ISN has set a new standard and goes on creating one well-crafted diamond after another! It's sad that his first record label has died (Cold Meat Industry), but luckily there's more that keeps the industry alive! I'm pretty sure that this one will be sold out pretty fast!

Tracks :
1 Plague Walk My Earth
2 Definition Of Being Alive
3 Silent Cold Body
4 Venereal Comatose/Closed My Eyes
5 Left Arm Right Arm As My Path
6 Gaudium Et Alia Vitia
7 Ignis Et Scalpello/Angel Meat
8 Three Three Three

For the fans, click on the links below:

interview

live review of Porta Nigra

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/06/2014


 

Next reviews
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
NIC PIZZOLATTO • True Detective
PRESTON STURGES • Sullivan's Travels
BELLY • CLASSICS: King
VERSUS YOU • Moving on
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
YOU ARE NUMBER SIX • Weird Tales EP

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same genre: RHYTHMIC INDUSTRIAL
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
FORMS OF HANDS 15 FESTIVAL • Bönen, Germany (25/04/2016)
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
DISTEL • Puur
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Dance Meccanica
SYNTECH • Only Ruins Remain / Decade
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
TOTAKEKE • Me.Tem.Psy.Cho.Sis

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)