tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/06/2014 : BELLY - CLASSICS: King

BELLY

CLASSICS: King

MusicCD


[82/100]   

4-AD
10/06/2014, Didier BECU

Someone once said to me that 4-AD was ruined once the Americans invaded the label. Maybe he was right. Mind you, I’m a big fan of Pixies, but in a way they were also the reason why the label that was created by Ivo Watts was no longer an “ethereal wave”-label, you know: Cocteau Twins, Dead Can Dance… Another band who had their pro’s and con’s among 4-AD fans were definitely Throwing Muses.

This band from Newport, Rhode Island were formed by Kristin Hersh and her step sister (the cute one!) Tanya Donnely. As Kristin had very tough experiences with her physical health, and also because Tanya would wanted to do something outside the Muses, she formed in 1991 Belly. They had their MTV-fame: you know appearing on 120 Minutes and touring festivals, but after some EP’s and two albums the fun was definitely over, even if Tanya made some nice solo-albums as well.

Their best album is probably their second one, King that has been released in 1995. Even if their music was more radio friendly (“Super-connected” was the perfect indiehit), it was also more an own sound. As not only Donelly was part of the Muses, she also teamed up with Kim Deal in The Breeders and in a way, Belly was always seen as “a part of”. Shame.

Two decades later I picked up this forgotten album and started (again) wondering what a great songwriter Tanya was. Not only the three singles Seal My Fate, Now They’ll Sleep or Super-Connected) are proof to that, but the other 8 songs have also stand the test of time. And yes, you can blame me, but Tanya Donelly still has one of the most sexy vocals in indierock.

Soon after King was released Belly broke up. Another fine band disappeared. Sometimes life is unfair, but at least there are memories left. This album is still available in the 4-AD catalogue. Try out, who knows you might fall in love (again).

Didier BECU
10/06/2014


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete