tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/06/2014 : BELLY - CLASSICS: King

BELLY

CLASSICS: King

MusicCD


[82/100]   

4-AD
10/06/2014, Didier BECU

Someone once said to me that 4-AD was ruined once the Americans invaded the label. Maybe he was right. Mind you, I’m a big fan of Pixies, but in a way they were also the reason why the label that was created by Ivo Watts was no longer an “ethereal wave”-label, you know: Cocteau Twins, Dead Can Dance… Another band who had their pro’s and con’s among 4-AD fans were definitely Throwing Muses.

This band from Newport, Rhode Island were formed by Kristin Hersh and her step sister (the cute one!) Tanya Donnely. As Kristin had very tough experiences with her physical health, and also because Tanya would wanted to do something outside the Muses, she formed in 1991 Belly. They had their MTV-fame: you know appearing on 120 Minutes and touring festivals, but after some EP’s and two albums the fun was definitely over, even if Tanya made some nice solo-albums as well.

Their best album is probably their second one, King that has been released in 1995. Even if their music was more radio friendly (“Super-connected” was the perfect indiehit), it was also more an own sound. As not only Donelly was part of the Muses, she also teamed up with Kim Deal in The Breeders and in a way, Belly was always seen as “a part of”. Shame.

Two decades later I picked up this forgotten album and started (again) wondering what a great songwriter Tanya was. Not only the three singles Seal My Fate, Now They’ll Sleep or Super-Connected) are proof to that, but the other 8 songs have also stand the test of time. And yes, you can blame me, but Tanya Donelly still has one of the most sexy vocals in indierock.

Soon after King was released Belly broke up. Another fine band disappeared. Sometimes life is unfair, but at least there are memories left. This album is still available in the 4-AD catalogue. Try out, who knows you might fall in love (again).

Didier BECU
10/06/2014


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string