tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/06/2014 : VERSUS YOU - Moving on

VERSUS YOU

Moving on

MusicCD
Post PunkPost RockPunk

[89/100]   

Bomber Music
10/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Versus You, from the city of Luxembourg, is an honest and hardworking punk rock band. Staying true to their roots, being an active part of the punk rock scene and touring as much as physically possible, has sculpted Versus You in to one of the most well-known, punk rock bands, on the European circuit.

Having sported more drummers than Spinal Tap, received chart success in their native homeland and played and toured with pretty much every alternative household name in punkrock, Versus You have certainly had an exciting 9 years since their inception in 2005. The bands touring schedule has seen them hit every corner of the mainland, including two tours through Russia and Eastern Europe, as well as endless touring through Western Europe.

2014 sees Versus You signing to Bomber Music in the UK for the release of the bands 4th studio album “Moving On”. The album is a collection of 12 songs, written about traveling, making friends, relationships and the troubles and strife of band life. Musically, Versus You can be billed between Jawbreaker, The Replacements, Husker Du and Pinhead Gunpowder, playing punkrock that is not only instantly catchy, well written and easily accessible, but also has attitude,
substance and is relevant.

I must admit that everything from the promo talk is right. I also feel like it's a great mix between Greenday and The Offspring! I loved it! It’s perfectly produced, a bit too smooth, too much sugar in it, but still... I had fun listening to it and gave them a chance to conquer and they did! 12 tracks that captivated me, set me on fire and wanted me to get off my chair and play as if I was on stage!

Thumbs up!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/06/2014


 

Next reviews
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
YOU ARE NUMBER SIX • Weird Tales EP
CARADOG W. JAMES • The Machine
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
TOM VEK • Luck Out
NUIT D'OCTOBRE • CLASSICS: Tempêtes

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK + PUNK
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Hunter

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes