tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/06/2014 : VERSUS YOU - Moving on

VERSUS YOU

Moving on

MusicCD
Post PunkPost RockPunk

[89/100]   

Bomber Music
10/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Versus You, from the city of Luxembourg, is an honest and hardworking punk rock band. Staying true to their roots, being an active part of the punk rock scene and touring as much as physically possible, has sculpted Versus You in to one of the most well-known, punk rock bands, on the European circuit.

Having sported more drummers than Spinal Tap, received chart success in their native homeland and played and toured with pretty much every alternative household name in punkrock, Versus You have certainly had an exciting 9 years since their inception in 2005. The bands touring schedule has seen them hit every corner of the mainland, including two tours through Russia and Eastern Europe, as well as endless touring through Western Europe.

2014 sees Versus You signing to Bomber Music in the UK for the release of the bands 4th studio album “Moving On”. The album is a collection of 12 songs, written about traveling, making friends, relationships and the troubles and strife of band life. Musically, Versus You can be billed between Jawbreaker, The Replacements, Husker Du and Pinhead Gunpowder, playing punkrock that is not only instantly catchy, well written and easily accessible, but also has attitude,
substance and is relevant.

I must admit that everything from the promo talk is right. I also feel like it's a great mix between Greenday and The Offspring! I loved it! It’s perfectly produced, a bit too smooth, too much sugar in it, but still... I had fun listening to it and gave them a chance to conquer and they did! 12 tracks that captivated me, set me on fire and wanted me to get off my chair and play as if I was on stage!

Thumbs up!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/06/2014


 

Next reviews
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
YOU ARE NUMBER SIX • Weird Tales EP
CARADOG W. JAMES • The Machine
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
TOM VEK • Luck Out
NUIT D'OCTOBRE • CLASSICS: Tempêtes

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK + PUNK
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Hunter

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PUNK
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born