tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/06/2014 : VERSUS YOU - Moving on

VERSUS YOU

Moving on

MusicCD
Post PunkPost RockPunk

[89/100]   

Bomber Music
10/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Versus You, from the city of Luxembourg, is an honest and hardworking punk rock band. Staying true to their roots, being an active part of the punk rock scene and touring as much as physically possible, has sculpted Versus You in to one of the most well-known, punk rock bands, on the European circuit.

Having sported more drummers than Spinal Tap, received chart success in their native homeland and played and toured with pretty much every alternative household name in punkrock, Versus You have certainly had an exciting 9 years since their inception in 2005. The bands touring schedule has seen them hit every corner of the mainland, including two tours through Russia and Eastern Europe, as well as endless touring through Western Europe.

2014 sees Versus You signing to Bomber Music in the UK for the release of the bands 4th studio album “Moving On”. The album is a collection of 12 songs, written about traveling, making friends, relationships and the troubles and strife of band life. Musically, Versus You can be billed between Jawbreaker, The Replacements, Husker Du and Pinhead Gunpowder, playing punkrock that is not only instantly catchy, well written and easily accessible, but also has attitude,
substance and is relevant.

I must admit that everything from the promo talk is right. I also feel like it's a great mix between Greenday and The Offspring! I loved it! It’s perfectly produced, a bit too smooth, too much sugar in it, but still... I had fun listening to it and gave them a chance to conquer and they did! 12 tracks that captivated me, set me on fire and wanted me to get off my chair and play as if I was on stage!

Thumbs up!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/06/2014


 

Next reviews
FIREFORCE • Deathbringer
BEN STILLER • The secret life of Walter Mitty
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
YOU ARE NUMBER SIX • Weird Tales EP
CARADOG W. JAMES • The Machine
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion
TOM VEK • Luck Out
NUIT D'OCTOBRE • CLASSICS: Tempêtes

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK + PUNK
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Hunter

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PUNK
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!

Music reviews

15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)