tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

30/10/2015 : THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI - Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015

THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI

Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015

Concert
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Emiliana Torrini, the Icelandic artist with the Italian sounding name, just had three days to rehearse her songs before starting this Belgian adventure. Of course, she knew her lyrics through and through, but Aarich Jespers (Zita Swoon, Kiss My Jazz) and Kobe Proesmans (Gabriel Rios), who form the core of The Colorist, asked the singer whether she was willing to go on tour with the six-member band. For the singer, this was quite a challenge because the six musicians processed her songs in a very different way, in a style that they associate with Kronos Quartet. It was therefore understandable that Emiliana Torrini was skeptical about this proposal, but she could be persuaded and her radiant smile in the nearly sold out Handelsbeurs showed that she was happy with her decision.

The set started with (an almost unrecognizable) instrumental version of her smash hit Jungle Drum. Immediately the public understood that the musicians are real experts with their (often homemade) instruments. When Emiliana Torrini entered the stage in a colorful outfit and sang Caterpillar, you knew that the two acts were simply born for each other. Through her funny Icelandic accent, Emiliana Torrini will probably forvever be associated with Björk, but her music is different, especially if you combine it with the beautiful sound carpet of these six Belgians.

You have to take the group name The Colorist quite literally. They take a song and tear it apart, then build up the empty frame with their own musical colors. Tracks such as Nightfall (Pale Blue), which was written by Kid Koala, Gun, Today Has Been OK or Jungle Drum (which closed the set), were in their version almost unrecognizable. It wasn’t even easy for the singer, but she was happy as a child, just because her compositions were given a second (new) life in this way.

It was quiet in de Handelsbeurs, the audience neatly sat on the chairs, no one dared to pick up his phone, because the respect was just too big. Rightly so, because admit it, if you can even touch the public with a plastic bag as an instrument, then you surely can be proud of yourself, can't you? This intimate, highly original concert almost begs to be released on CD!

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

De IJslandse artieste met de Italiaanse klinkende naam, Emiliana Torrini, had amper drie dagen tijd om haar songs te repeteren alvorens ze aan dit Belgisch avontuur begon. Natuurlijk kende ze haar teksten door en door, maar Aarich Jespers (Zita Swoon, Kiss My Jazz) en Kobe Proesmans (Gabriel Rios) die de kern vormen van The Colorist, vroegen aan de zangeres of zij bereid was om samen met de zeskoppige band op toer te gaan. Voor de zangeres was dat een hele uitdaging omdat de zes muzikanten haar nummers op een heel andere manier hadden verwerkt, met een stijl die zij zelf met Kronos Quartet associëren. Het was dan ook begrijpelijk dat Emiliana Torrini sceptisch stond tegenover dit voorstel, maar ze liet zich overhalen en aan haar stralende glimlach die ze in de bijna uitverkochte Handelsbeurs toonde, kon je merken dat ze blij was met haar beslissing.

De set begon met (een bijna onherkenbare) instrumentale bewerking van haar superhit Jungle Drum. Meteen begreep de concertganger dat de muzikanten perfect hun (vaak zelfgemaakte) instrumenten beheersen. Toen Emiliana Torrini in een kleurrijke outfit het podium besteeg en Caterpillar zong, wist je dat de twee voor elkaar geboren zijn. Door haar grappige IJslandse accent, zal Emiliana Torrini wellicht altijd wel een beetje op Björk lijken, maar haar muziek is toch anders, zeker als je ze combineert met het prachtige klankentapijt van deze zes Belgen.

De groepsnaam The Colorist moet je ook letterlijk nemen. Ze halen een nummer volledig uit elkaar en ze bouwen het lege geraamte op met hun eigen muzikale kleuren. Songs zoals Nightfall (Pale Blue), dat werd geschreven door Kid Koala, Gun, Today Has Been OK of Jungle Drum (waarmee de set werd afgesloten), waren in hun versie bijna onherkenbaar. Zelfs de zangeres had het er allesbehalve gemakkelijk mee, maar ze glunderde omdat op deze manier haar composities een tweede (nieuwe) leven krijgen.

Het was muisstil in de Handelsbeurs, het publiek bleef netjes op de stoel zitten, geen mens die het waagde om zijn telefoon boven te halen, want daarvoor was het respect veel te groot. Terecht, want zeg nu zelf, als je zelfs met een plastic zak als instrument een publiek kan beroeren, dan mag je toch wel trots zijn op jezelf, niet? Dit intieme, uiterst originele concert smeekt bijna om op cd te worden uitgebracht!

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete