tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : SOLAR FAKE - Another Manic Episode

SOLAR FAKE

Another Manic Episode

MusicCD
Electro

[75/100]   

Out Of Line
30/10/2015, Britta Tabrit

EN

The Berlin-based project Solar Fake just released its 4th album Another Manic Episode on the German label Out Of Line. The new electronic universe that is created by Sven Friedrich (formerly of Dreadful Shadows and Zeraphine) and André Feller, comes as a 10 track album and is also available as a deluxe version that contains a double CD (including a bonus mini-album) and a limited fan box.

The opener Not What I Wanted is a well-chosen one. It softly pushes you into the manic episode that is waiting for you, enjoy the ride! With Fake To Be Alive ,Solar Fake floors the accelerator. A great dancefloor hymn that surely will be heard in clubs in the future. And when it comes to future….

All The Things You Say combines glorious future pop with the classical electro dance elements. Flowing beats, the “out-of-space-feeling” and a catchy chorus. For me, one of their best songs so far! So, you still feel like everything is Under Control? The next song is in no way inferior to the previous one. A bit more synth pop and clear vocal sounds form a perfect mix for another manically thrilling track. Still feeling alright with this manic episode? Waiting Until It’s Over? No way! A slower song, but hey!? Ever faced manic episodes with all its ups and downs?

So, take a deep breath as Observer is definitely the climatic song on this record! Powerful hard electro. Honestly, I didn’t expect that here. But really well implemented, this one surely blows your mind! At first The Race Of The Rats appears more minimalistic, but then it bursts into your ears. Every time you think it’s over, you’re disabused again and again. The eighth track brings a bit of relief. But only a bit. If I Were You can be classified as one of those “standard” synth pop tracks. Nothing bad, but nothing really special either. I Don’t Want You In Here is the ballad on this record. A down-to-earth song for the hearts of the tortured ones. But still electronical enough to fit with the rest of this trip to the soul of a twisted mind.

Stay is the culmination of Solar Fake’s latest ornament. This song leaves you silent, emotionally disturbed and devastated. Is it the end of the manic episode? Yes, but only for a short while. Because it’s just Another Manic Episode and Solar Fake will surely be back soon with more of this resourceful art that constitutes their music.

Tracklist 'Another Manic Episode':
01 - Not what I wanted
02 - Fake to be alive
03 - All the things you say
04 - Under control
05 – Until it’s over
06 - Observer
07 - The race of the rats
08 - If I were you
09 - I don't want you in here
10 – Stay

Britta Tabrit
30/10/2015


NL

Met Another Manic Episode heeft het Berlijnse duo Solar Fake z'n vierde plaat uitgebracht. Het nieuwe elektronische universum van Sven Friedrich (vroeger bij Dreadful Shadows en Zeraphine) en André Feller is op Out Of Line in twee versies beschikbaar: het reguliere album met daarop de tien nieuwe nummers, of een luxe versie met een dubbel-cd (inclusief een bonus mini-album) en een gelimiteerde fanbox.

De opener Not What I Wanted kon niet beter gekozen zijn, het is een track die je zachtjes naar een manische episode duwt. Ben je er klaar voor? Geniet van de rit! Met Fake To Be Alive trapt Solar Fake nog eens extra op het gaspedaal: het is een dansvloerhymne die je in de toekomst zeker in heel wat clubs zal horen. En tja, als het om de toekomst gaat...

All The Things You Say combineert glorieuze futurepop met klassieke electrodance-elementen. Knappe beats, het geeft je het gevoel dat je weggezogen wordt en het heeft een krachtig refrein, voor mij is het tot dusver één van de beste nummers. Is alles nog onder controle? Het volgende nummer is zeker niet minder dan het vorige. Under Control klinkt wel een beetje meer synthpop en de zang is clean, maar het is een perfecte mix voor alweer een manische rit. Voel je je nog steeds goed in je vel na deze manische episode? Zin in een trager nummer? Dat is Until It’s Over, en voor je iets zegt: een manie gaat nu eenmaal gepaard met ups en downs!

Observer is iets heel anders. Ik had eerlijkheidshalve geen krachtige harde electro op deze plaat verwacht. Het is echt goed uitgevoerd, het nummer blaast je gewoon weg! The Race Of The Rats lijkt op het eerste gezicht wat minimalistisch, maar plotseling barst het nummer in je oren open. Iedere keer als je denkt dat het over is, word je opnieuw mishandeld.

Het achtste nummer brengt wat opluchting. Ten minste, een klein beetje toch. If I Were You is een typisch synthpopnummer. Het is niet slecht, maar ook niets bijzonders. I Don’t Want You In Here is de ballade van de plaat, het ideale lied voor gekwelde geesten, maar elektronisch goed genoeg om te passen bij de rest van deze reis.

Stay is het hoogtepunt van Solar Fake's nieuwste werk. Het nummer maakt je stil, je wordt er emotioneel gestoord door en het laat je verwoest achter. Is dit het einde van de manische episode? Ja, maar voor eventjes maar. Er zullen er immers nog volgen, en reken maar dat ook Solar Fake weer van de partij zal zijn!

Britta Tabrit
30/10/2015


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love