tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

ORPHANS OF DUSK

Revenant

MusicCD (EP)
Doom MetalGothic

[86/100]   

Hypnotic Dirge Records
26/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut EP of this New Zealand/Australian gothic-doom metal band has some elements from Type O Negative in its music. The self-released EP is out for some 6 months, but I wanted to review it anyway. Especially because they have now a deal with Hypnotic Dirge Records and Solitude Prod, that will release their debut internationally.

This EP shows us the many qualties of the trio. Growls are interpersed with vocal lines.There is much variation in the numbers in terms of rhythm, structure and the use of instruments.

Starters August Price and Starless both have unexpected transitions, gothic elements (haprsichord, synth sounds…), nice drum patterns and attractive melodies.

Nibelheim also has unexpected twist and turns, but it feels a little bit too forced. It seems like they want to throw all their good ideas in one song. Beneath the Cover of Night is a rather slow gothic metal song, but after some weird synth play it ends with a doom final.

This release isa melodic EP with many variations. I look forward to the full album of this band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


NL

Dit is de debuut-ep van deze Nieuw Zeelands/Australische gothic-doom metal band, die wat elementen van Type O Negative bevat. De release is intussen al een half jaartje uit, maar toch vond ik dat hij nog een review verdient, vooral omdat deze band nu een deal heeft met Hypnotic Dirge Records en Solitude Productions om hun werk te verdelen.

De ep toont dat dit trio heel wat in z'n mars heeft. Growls worden afgewisseld met stemmige zanglijnen. In de songs zit ook heel veel afwisseling, zowel op het vlak van ritme, structuur als instumentatie.

Opener August Price en Starless hebben allebei onverwachte overgangen, gothic elementen (clavecimbel, synthklanken, etc…), boeiende drumpatronen en aantrekkelijke melodieën. De gitaarriffs zijn overduidelijk doommetal.

Nibelheim heeft eveneens onverwachte wendingen, maar komt eerder wat geforceerd over. Het lijkt alsof men heel veel ideeën had, die men allemaal in één song wilde stoppen. Al bij al is het geen slechte nummer. Beneath the Cover of Night is eerder een traag opgebouwde gothicmetalballad. op het einde valt de song stil om na wat instrumentale spielerlei naar een laatste doomeindpunt toe te werken.

Het is een goed uitgewerkte, gevarieerde en melodieuze ep geworden. Ik kijk alvast uit naar een volwaardig album van deze band. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant 26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna