tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

ORPHANS OF DUSK

Revenant

MusicCD (EP)
Doom MetalGothic

[86/100]   

Hypnotic Dirge Records
26/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut EP of this New Zealand/Australian gothic-doom metal band has some elements from Type O Negative in its music. The self-released EP is out for some 6 months, but I wanted to review it anyway. Especially because they have now a deal with Hypnotic Dirge Records and Solitude Prod, that will release their debut internationally.

This EP shows us the many qualties of the trio. Growls are interpersed with vocal lines.There is much variation in the numbers in terms of rhythm, structure and the use of instruments.

Starters August Price and Starless both have unexpected transitions, gothic elements (haprsichord, synth sounds…), nice drum patterns and attractive melodies.

Nibelheim also has unexpected twist and turns, but it feels a little bit too forced. It seems like they want to throw all their good ideas in one song. Beneath the Cover of Night is a rather slow gothic metal song, but after some weird synth play it ends with a doom final.

This release isa melodic EP with many variations. I look forward to the full album of this band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


NL

Dit is de debuut-ep van deze Nieuw Zeelands/Australische gothic-doom metal band, die wat elementen van Type O Negative bevat. De release is intussen al een half jaartje uit, maar toch vond ik dat hij nog een review verdient, vooral omdat deze band nu een deal heeft met Hypnotic Dirge Records en Solitude Productions om hun werk te verdelen.

De ep toont dat dit trio heel wat in z'n mars heeft. Growls worden afgewisseld met stemmige zanglijnen. In de songs zit ook heel veel afwisseling, zowel op het vlak van ritme, structuur als instumentatie.

Opener August Price en Starless hebben allebei onverwachte overgangen, gothic elementen (clavecimbel, synthklanken, etc…), boeiende drumpatronen en aantrekkelijke melodieën. De gitaarriffs zijn overduidelijk doommetal.

Nibelheim heeft eveneens onverwachte wendingen, maar komt eerder wat geforceerd over. Het lijkt alsof men heel veel ideeën had, die men allemaal in één song wilde stoppen. Al bij al is het geen slechte nummer. Beneath the Cover of Night is eerder een traag opgebouwde gothicmetalballad. op het einde valt de song stil om na wat instrumentale spielerlei naar een laatste doomeindpunt toe te werken.

Het is een goed uitgewerkte, gevarieerde en melodieuze ep geworden. Ik kijk alvast uit naar een volwaardig album van deze band. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant 26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi