tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

ORPHANS OF DUSK

Revenant

MusicCD (EP)
Doom MetalGothic

[86/100]   

Hypnotic Dirge Records
26/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut EP of this New Zealand/Australian gothic-doom metal band has some elements from Type O Negative in its music. The self-released EP is out for some 6 months, but I wanted to review it anyway. Especially because they have now a deal with Hypnotic Dirge Records and Solitude Prod, that will release their debut internationally.

This EP shows us the many qualties of the trio. Growls are interpersed with vocal lines.There is much variation in the numbers in terms of rhythm, structure and the use of instruments.

Starters August Price and Starless both have unexpected transitions, gothic elements (haprsichord, synth sounds…), nice drum patterns and attractive melodies.

Nibelheim also has unexpected twist and turns, but it feels a little bit too forced. It seems like they want to throw all their good ideas in one song. Beneath the Cover of Night is a rather slow gothic metal song, but after some weird synth play it ends with a doom final.

This release isa melodic EP with many variations. I look forward to the full album of this band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


NL

Dit is de debuut-ep van deze Nieuw Zeelands/Australische gothic-doom metal band, die wat elementen van Type O Negative bevat. De release is intussen al een half jaartje uit, maar toch vond ik dat hij nog een review verdient, vooral omdat deze band nu een deal heeft met Hypnotic Dirge Records en Solitude Productions om hun werk te verdelen.

De ep toont dat dit trio heel wat in z'n mars heeft. Growls worden afgewisseld met stemmige zanglijnen. In de songs zit ook heel veel afwisseling, zowel op het vlak van ritme, structuur als instumentatie.

Opener August Price en Starless hebben allebei onverwachte overgangen, gothic elementen (clavecimbel, synthklanken, etc…), boeiende drumpatronen en aantrekkelijke melodieën. De gitaarriffs zijn overduidelijk doommetal.

Nibelheim heeft eveneens onverwachte wendingen, maar komt eerder wat geforceerd over. Het lijkt alsof men heel veel ideeën had, die men allemaal in één song wilde stoppen. Al bij al is het geen slechte nummer. Beneath the Cover of Night is eerder een traag opgebouwde gothicmetalballad. op het einde valt de song stil om na wat instrumentale spielerlei naar een laatste doomeindpunt toe te werken.

Het is een goed uitgewerkte, gevarieerde en melodieuze ep geworden. Ik kijk alvast uit naar een volwaardig album van deze band. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant 26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire