tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

ORPHANS OF DUSK

Revenant

MusicCD (EP)
Doom MetalGothic

[86/100]   

Hypnotic Dirge Records
26/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut EP of this New Zealand/Australian gothic-doom metal band has some elements from Type O Negative in its music. The self-released EP is out for some 6 months, but I wanted to review it anyway. Especially because they have now a deal with Hypnotic Dirge Records and Solitude Prod, that will release their debut internationally.

This EP shows us the many qualties of the trio. Growls are interpersed with vocal lines.There is much variation in the numbers in terms of rhythm, structure and the use of instruments.

Starters August Price and Starless both have unexpected transitions, gothic elements (haprsichord, synth sounds…), nice drum patterns and attractive melodies.

Nibelheim also has unexpected twist and turns, but it feels a little bit too forced. It seems like they want to throw all their good ideas in one song. Beneath the Cover of Night is a rather slow gothic metal song, but after some weird synth play it ends with a doom final.

This release isa melodic EP with many variations. I look forward to the full album of this band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


NL

Dit is de debuut-ep van deze Nieuw Zeelands/Australische gothic-doom metal band, die wat elementen van Type O Negative bevat. De release is intussen al een half jaartje uit, maar toch vond ik dat hij nog een review verdient, vooral omdat deze band nu een deal heeft met Hypnotic Dirge Records en Solitude Productions om hun werk te verdelen.

De ep toont dat dit trio heel wat in z'n mars heeft. Growls worden afgewisseld met stemmige zanglijnen. In de songs zit ook heel veel afwisseling, zowel op het vlak van ritme, structuur als instumentatie.

Opener August Price en Starless hebben allebei onverwachte overgangen, gothic elementen (clavecimbel, synthklanken, etc…), boeiende drumpatronen en aantrekkelijke melodieën. De gitaarriffs zijn overduidelijk doommetal.

Nibelheim heeft eveneens onverwachte wendingen, maar komt eerder wat geforceerd over. Het lijkt alsof men heel veel ideeën had, die men allemaal in één song wilde stoppen. Al bij al is het geen slechte nummer. Beneath the Cover of Night is eerder een traag opgebouwde gothicmetalballad. op het einde valt de song stil om na wat instrumentale spielerlei naar een laatste doomeindpunt toe te werken.

Het is een goed uitgewerkte, gevarieerde en melodieuze ep geworden. Ik kijk alvast uit naar een volwaardig album van deze band. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant 26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela