tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef

JON FAVREAU

Chef

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[53/100]   

SONY SPHE
25/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Whether we want it or not, cooking has affected the world of cinema. Most of it looks delicious, but cinematographicly you can only cite arthouse classics like Babette’s Feast, Tampopo or (at least if your stomach is strong enough) La Grande Bouffe. Chef by Jon Favreau surely doesn’t fit in that category, but is much better than most movies in the genre. If you are a movie buff, you surely have heard of Jon Favreau, the director of both Iron Man 2 and Cowboys & Aliens, and the director of the upcoming film version of The Jungle Book. Chef is a complete different matter though, a nice inbetweener for which the director could count on lots of big stars.

Chef Carl Casper (Jon Favreau) works in the restaurant of Riva (Dustin Hoffman). It is a well paid job, but his creativity is put on hold when Riva doesn’t want his cook to experiment with the menu. One day the restaurant critic Ramsey Michel (Oliver Platt) gives him a disastrous review. Through the social media Michel challenges him to refresh the menu. It all ends with a big quarrel between the two and Casper even looses his job. His ex-wife Inez (Sofia Vergara) finds a solution though. Her former husband still has a food truck, the ideal opportunity for Casper to find the passion for cooking again. With his best buddy Martin (John Leguizamo) and his son Percy (Emjay Anthony), he begins a road trip.

Chef is a nice movie, but you notice that Favreau can profit from the fact that he is a Hollywood celebrity. How else would you explain that he can get stars like Scarlett Johannson of Robert Downey Jr. for such a movie? Yeah, let us call it the Iron Man-connection, but as a result of hese role the movie differs from the rest. The performances are decent and the script, although quite predictable, is quite okay.

Chef is now out on DVD by Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


NL

Of we het nu willen of niet, ook de filmwereld is onderhevig aan de niet te stoppen kookrage. Als zelfs Vlaanderens bekendste topchef in de filmzalen met een documentaire de affiche mag vervuilen, dan is er één ding zeker: het publiek heeft er interesse voor. Wie echter een kritisch oog heeft kan alleen maar vaststellen dat kookkunst tot nu toe nog maar weinig meesterwerken op het witte doek heeft opgeleverd, of je moet teruggrijpen naar arthouseklassiekers als Babette’s Feast, Tampopo of (indien u een sterke maag heeft) La Grande Bouffe. Chef van Jon Favreau past zeker niet in dat rijtje, maar ook niet in de talloze vehikels die we de laatste maanden hebben mogen bekijken. Als je een filmverslaafde bent, dan zal de naam Jon Favreau je beslist bekend in de oren klinken. Hij is inderdaad degene die Iron Man 2, Cowboys & Aliens regisseerde, en binnenkort ook The Jungle Book mag doen. Chef is duidelijk een heel andere film, een tussendoortje, ofschoon de cineast door zijn bekendheid kan opdraven met majestueuze Hollywoodnamen.

Chef Carl Casper (Jon Favreau) werkt in het restaurant van Riva (Dustin Hoffman). De restauranthouder speelt op veilig en aanvaardt niet dat Casper met het menu experimenteert. Casper beseft dat hij gevangen zit en tot overmaat van ramp wordt hij door de restaurantcriticus Ramsey Michel (Oliver Platt) de grond ingeboord. Via de sociale media (een idee dat net iets te veel in deze film wordt gebruikt) daagt Michel hem uit om zijn menu te vernieuwen. Het eindigt met een scheldpartij waardoor Casper uiteindelijk zijn job verliest. Zijn ex-vrouw Inez (Sofia Vergara) heeft echter een oplossing klaar. Haar vorige echtgenoot (blijkbaar scheidt ze vlug) heeft in Miami nog een oude food truck, de ideale manier om weer passie in het koken te vinden, aldus Inez. Casper hapt toe en samen met zijn vriend Martin (John Leguizamo) en zijn zoontje Percy (Emjay Anthony) begint hij aan een ware culinaire roadtrip.

Chef is een leuke film, maar je merkt vooral dat Favreau kan profiteren van het feit dat hij de regisseur van blockbusters is. Hoe zou een regisseur er anders in slagen om voor zo’n kleinschalige film namen als Scarlett Johannson of Robert Downey Jr. te strikken? Het zijn dan ook die rollen die de film boven niveau houden. De vertolkingen zijn behoorlijk en het scenario (alhoewel zeer voorspelbaar) loopt lekker. Deze smulkomedie is zeker niet overdonderend, maar een heel klein beetje beter dan zijn soortgenoten.

Chef is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)