tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again

JOHN CARNEY

Begin Again

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[73/100]   

E1
10/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood movie with Keira Knightley as a singer doesn’t sound promising, but don’t judge before you see it, because apart of some minor points Begin Again is definitely worth it.

 

Gretta (Keira Knightley) is a British young lady who moves to New York with her boyfriend, the popular rock singer Dave (Adam Levine, who is in his daily life the singer of Maroon 5). It all begins like a fairy tale, until Dave realizes that he is very popular with American girls. Gretta, who has decided to rerturn to England, sings one more song in a New York music club and coincidentally - but that is the way it goes in movies - Dan (Mark Ruffalo), an A & R man who has just been fired, is sitting there too. His is convinced that he can conquer the world with Gretta’s music.

 

Begin Again works especially if you know nothing about the music industry. In 2006, director John Carney made Once (a film about Irish buskers) and scored an unexpected hit in which he criticized the music industry, but it was too Hollywood-like. If you can forget that, than Begin Again is a wonderful film (even if it means nothing when you compare it to, say Whiplash by Damien Chazelle). This is mainly due to the sublime performances. Keira Knightley is simply irresistible and Mark Ruffalo is great as well. It is a pity that the accompanying soundtrack features dreadful FM rock to run away from. Despite the terrible music and the sometimes too polished scenario, Begin Again is recommended. And would the question arise in your mind: yes, Keira Knightley can sing!

 

Begin Again is out on DVD and Blu-ray from Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
10/12/2014


NL

Een feelgoodfilm met een zingende Keira Knightley klinkt allesbehalve veelbelovend, toch bekijk je hem best vooraleer je een vernietigend oordeel velt, want op een paar minpunten na is Begin Again zeker en vast de moeite.

Gretta (Keira Knightley) is een Britse jongedame die samen met haar vriendje, de populaire rockzanger Dave (Adam Levine, die in het dagelijkse leven ook als zanger van Maroon 5 een echte popster is), naar New York trekt. Het begint allemaal als een sprookje, tot op het moment dat Dave merkt dat hij bij de Amerikaanse meisjes zeer geliefd is. Net op het moment dat Gretta besluit om terug te keren naar Engeland, zingt ze nog een nummertje in een New Yorkse muziekclub. En zeer toevallig, maar zo gaat dat nu eenmaal in films, zit daar ook Dan (Mark Ruffalo), een A&R-man die net van zijn label de bons heeft gekregen. Zijn ontslag kan hem al lang niet meer schelen omdat hij ervan overtuigd is dat hij met Gretta de wereld kan veroveren.

Begin Again werkt vooral als je niets afweet van de muziekindustrie. Ook al refereert regisseur John Carney die in 2006 met Once (een film over Ierse straatmuzikanten) een onverwachte hit scoorde over het failliet van de huidige muziek, is het allemaal net iets te Hollywoodachtig. Als je dat kan vergeten dan is Begin Again een heerlijke film (ook al betekent die niks als je hem met pakweg Whiplash van Damien Chazelle vergelijkt). Dat komt vooral door de sublieme vertolkingen. Keira Knightley is onweerstaanbaar en ook Mark Ruffalo komt zeer geloofwaardig over. Jammer dat de bijbehorende soundtrack met daarop afgrijselijke FM-rock er eentje is om van weg te lopen. Ondanks de verschrikkelijke muziek en het soms net iets te afgelikte scenario, is Begin Again al bij al een aanrader. En mocht de vraag in je hoofd opkomen: jawel, Keira Knightley kan wel degelijk zingen!

Begin Again is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
10/12/2014


10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life