tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again

JOHN CARNEY

Begin Again

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[73/100]   

E1
10/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood movie with Keira Knightley as a singer doesn’t sound promising, but don’t judge before you see it, because apart of some minor points Begin Again is definitely worth it.

 

Gretta (Keira Knightley) is a British young lady who moves to New York with her boyfriend, the popular rock singer Dave (Adam Levine, who is in his daily life the singer of Maroon 5). It all begins like a fairy tale, until Dave realizes that he is very popular with American girls. Gretta, who has decided to rerturn to England, sings one more song in a New York music club and coincidentally - but that is the way it goes in movies - Dan (Mark Ruffalo), an A & R man who has just been fired, is sitting there too. His is convinced that he can conquer the world with Gretta’s music.

 

Begin Again works especially if you know nothing about the music industry. In 2006, director John Carney made Once (a film about Irish buskers) and scored an unexpected hit in which he criticized the music industry, but it was too Hollywood-like. If you can forget that, than Begin Again is a wonderful film (even if it means nothing when you compare it to, say Whiplash by Damien Chazelle). This is mainly due to the sublime performances. Keira Knightley is simply irresistible and Mark Ruffalo is great as well. It is a pity that the accompanying soundtrack features dreadful FM rock to run away from. Despite the terrible music and the sometimes too polished scenario, Begin Again is recommended. And would the question arise in your mind: yes, Keira Knightley can sing!

 

Begin Again is out on DVD and Blu-ray from Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
10/12/2014


NL

Een feelgoodfilm met een zingende Keira Knightley klinkt allesbehalve veelbelovend, toch bekijk je hem best vooraleer je een vernietigend oordeel velt, want op een paar minpunten na is Begin Again zeker en vast de moeite.

Gretta (Keira Knightley) is een Britse jongedame die samen met haar vriendje, de populaire rockzanger Dave (Adam Levine, die in het dagelijkse leven ook als zanger van Maroon 5 een echte popster is), naar New York trekt. Het begint allemaal als een sprookje, tot op het moment dat Dave merkt dat hij bij de Amerikaanse meisjes zeer geliefd is. Net op het moment dat Gretta besluit om terug te keren naar Engeland, zingt ze nog een nummertje in een New Yorkse muziekclub. En zeer toevallig, maar zo gaat dat nu eenmaal in films, zit daar ook Dan (Mark Ruffalo), een A&R-man die net van zijn label de bons heeft gekregen. Zijn ontslag kan hem al lang niet meer schelen omdat hij ervan overtuigd is dat hij met Gretta de wereld kan veroveren.

Begin Again werkt vooral als je niets afweet van de muziekindustrie. Ook al refereert regisseur John Carney die in 2006 met Once (een film over Ierse straatmuzikanten) een onverwachte hit scoorde over het failliet van de huidige muziek, is het allemaal net iets te Hollywoodachtig. Als je dat kan vergeten dan is Begin Again een heerlijke film (ook al betekent die niks als je hem met pakweg Whiplash van Damien Chazelle vergelijkt). Dat komt vooral door de sublieme vertolkingen. Keira Knightley is onweerstaanbaar en ook Mark Ruffalo komt zeer geloofwaardig over. Jammer dat de bijbehorende soundtrack met daarop afgrijselijke FM-rock er eentje is om van weg te lopen. Ondanks de verschrikkelijke muziek en het soms net iets te afgelikte scenario, is Begin Again al bij al een aanrader. En mocht de vraag in je hoofd opkomen: jawel, Keira Knightley kan wel degelijk zingen!

Begin Again is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
10/12/2014


10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again 10/12/2014 : JOHN CARNEY - Begin Again

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure