tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream

JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY

When Animals Dream

Movie
Horror

[62/100]   

Remain In Light
25/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When a horror film is both screened at the Ghent Film Festival and selected for the Semaine de la Critique at Cannes, then you know thath it is a different kind of horror movie than those which we are usually overwhelmed with. Not that When Animals Dream by John Alexander Arnby does not crawl under your skin. On the contrary!

Because of its Scandinavian origins, this film is compared with Let The Right One In, and when you add a bit of Herzog to it, then that is not such a crazy idea. Marie (Sonia Suhl) lives in a Danish fishing village and already in her childhood she feels that she is not like the rest. Her father (Lars Mikkelsen, and yes, the older brother of!) is overprotective, while her mother is suffering from a strange disease, but nobody knows why. Marie's body is changing, anyway, it are not the ordinary things every girl is going through. The girl suffers from extreme hair growth and she slowly realizes that she is a werewolf.

It is of course not the first time you see a movie about a werewolf, but it is probably the first time you see it in such a way. Jonas Alexander Arnby adds some horrific scenes (especially those in the fishery) in his film, but despite the horror elements, When Animals Dream remains mainly an intimate portrait of a girl who is discovering her innerself. It is certainly not an easy quest. Just as only the best grandmasters, Jonas Alexander Arnby leaves a lot to the fantasy of the viewer.

This quirky horror picture explores various borders. You can even say that it is an arthouse version of Ginger Snaps. No matter how hard you try, you won't be able to pigeonhole this movie, all you know is that is a different type of horror!

When Animals Dream is now out on DVD on Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


NL

Als een horrorfilm zowel wordt vertoond op het Filmfestival van Gent als geselecteerd is voor de Semaine De La Critique in Cannes, dan weet je dat het om een andere soort griezelprenten gaat dan die waarmee men ons tot vervelens toe overdondert. Niet dat When Animals Dream van Jonas Alexander Arnby niet onder je huid kruipt. Integendeel!

Wegens zijn Scandinavische oorsprong wordt deze film door zowat iedereen met Let The Right One In vergeleken, en als je daar een vleugje Herzog bij optelt, dan is dat niet eens zo’n gek idee. Marie (Sonia Suhl) woont in een Deens vissersdorpje en van kindsbeen af voelt ze dat ze niet is zoals de rest. Haar vader (Lars Mikkelsen, en jawel de oudere broer van!) is overbezorgd en ook haar moeder lijdt aan een vreemde ziekte, maar niemand weet waarom. Ook Marie voelt haar lichaam veranderen, maar het zijn niet de gewone dingen die ieder meisje meemaakt. Ze heeft last van extreme haargroei en langzaam aan beseft ze dat ze een weerwolf is.

Het is natuurlijk niet de eerste keer dat je een film over een weerwolf ziet, maar het is wel wellicht de eerste keer dat je het op zo’n manier zal zien. Jonas Alexander Arnby duwt enkele weerzinwekkende scènes (vooral die in de visserij) in zijn film, maar ondanks de horrorelementen blijft When Animals Dream toch vooral een intiem portret van een meisje dat op zoek is naar zichzelf. Het is zeker geen gemakkelijke ontdekkingstocht. Net zoals alleen de beste grootmeesters dat kunnen, laat ook Jonas Alexander Arnby veel over aan de fantasie van de kijker.

Deze eigenzinnige horrorprent tast verschillende grenzen af. Je kan het zelfs met wat goede wil als een arthouseversie van Ginger Snaps categorizeren. Hoe hard je ook probeert, een passend vakje zul je niet vinden, maar na afloop weet je dat je wel naar een zeer speciale prent hebt gekeken! Horror, maar dan wel heel andere horror!

When Animals Dream is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream 25/03/2015 : JONAS ALEXANDER ARNBY - When Animals Dream

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
14
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Push
13
04
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra