tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

24/03/2015 : IAN DURY - New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

IAN DURY

New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

MusicAlbum Classics
Post Punk

[90/100]   

Edsel Records
24/03/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Part of a reissue programme for Lord Upminster (actually born in Harrow Weald), Edsel's involvement in Ian Dury's back catalogue began almost 12 years ago with identical slipcase versions of both albums. For 2015, they've merely tweaked the packaging, added a parental advisory sticker for those offended by the word 'cunts' and a few new pictures.

As they stand, both albums have their plus and minuses. 1977's New Boots and Panties (★★★★★★★★★☆) followed his recent break-up with first outfit Kilburn and the High Roads and unlocked songwriting gold with new Blockhead enlistee Chaz Jankel and includes the profane Plaistow Patricia, the edgy Sweet Gene Vincent and dramatic Billericay Dickie, characters all. His stubborn decision to save his best for singles continued through most of his career and upon listening to New Boots, you'd be hard-pressed to disagree with him. Great though Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll is, it would have just got in the way of its ten neighbours.

There are seventeen demo versions of various NBAP compositions, as well as some unreleased songs without a home namely some original readings of My Old Man and Sink My Boats, plus Wifey and Apples.

Second album Do It Yourself (★★★★★★★☆☆☆) had an awful lot to live up to and to many ears at the time, it fell short. Repeated listens, however, reveal a band at the peak of its powers. How opener Inbetweenies avoided UK release schedules as a single remains a frustrating mystery - well, not so much a mystery, Dury just didn't want album-tracks issued separately. Other pub-funk highlights include the jaunty Don't Ask Me (another potential single), Quiet and the powerful Dance Of The Screamers, alongside the extra single inclusions of chart-topper Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick and the hits What a Waste and Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt 3.

Charismatic extras include demos, excerpts from the 1977 Stiff's Live Stiffs tour and one of the best-ever b-sides, There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards. To be fair, DIY might have benefitted from having a rejig of songs and an inclusion of at least What a Waste but it's still a decent set.

What Do It Yourself lacked in verbose versatility ("..up your bum..." proclaims Dury on Uneasy Sunny Day Hotsy Totsy), it made up for with musicianship and a few nifty couplets. "....Mrs Elizabeth Walk of Lambeth Walk, had a husband who was jubblified with only half a stalk..." being one of them. Well, quite.

Jankel left the Blockheads soon after Do It Yourself - you can hear the results of later recordings on further Edsel reissues of Laughter (with Wilko Johnson - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆) and Bus Driver's Prayer (Chaz Jankel returns - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆)

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/03/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)