tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

24/03/2015 : IAN DURY - New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

IAN DURY

New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

MusicAlbum Classics
Post Punk

[90/100]   

Edsel Records
24/03/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Part of a reissue programme for Lord Upminster (actually born in Harrow Weald), Edsel's involvement in Ian Dury's back catalogue began almost 12 years ago with identical slipcase versions of both albums. For 2015, they've merely tweaked the packaging, added a parental advisory sticker for those offended by the word 'cunts' and a few new pictures.

As they stand, both albums have their plus and minuses. 1977's New Boots and Panties (★★★★★★★★★☆) followed his recent break-up with first outfit Kilburn and the High Roads and unlocked songwriting gold with new Blockhead enlistee Chaz Jankel and includes the profane Plaistow Patricia, the edgy Sweet Gene Vincent and dramatic Billericay Dickie, characters all. His stubborn decision to save his best for singles continued through most of his career and upon listening to New Boots, you'd be hard-pressed to disagree with him. Great though Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll is, it would have just got in the way of its ten neighbours.

There are seventeen demo versions of various NBAP compositions, as well as some unreleased songs without a home namely some original readings of My Old Man and Sink My Boats, plus Wifey and Apples.

Second album Do It Yourself (★★★★★★★☆☆☆) had an awful lot to live up to and to many ears at the time, it fell short. Repeated listens, however, reveal a band at the peak of its powers. How opener Inbetweenies avoided UK release schedules as a single remains a frustrating mystery - well, not so much a mystery, Dury just didn't want album-tracks issued separately. Other pub-funk highlights include the jaunty Don't Ask Me (another potential single), Quiet and the powerful Dance Of The Screamers, alongside the extra single inclusions of chart-topper Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick and the hits What a Waste and Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt 3.

Charismatic extras include demos, excerpts from the 1977 Stiff's Live Stiffs tour and one of the best-ever b-sides, There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards. To be fair, DIY might have benefitted from having a rejig of songs and an inclusion of at least What a Waste but it's still a decent set.

What Do It Yourself lacked in verbose versatility ("..up your bum..." proclaims Dury on Uneasy Sunny Day Hotsy Totsy), it made up for with musicianship and a few nifty couplets. "....Mrs Elizabeth Walk of Lambeth Walk, had a husband who was jubblified with only half a stalk..." being one of them. Well, quite.

Jankel left the Blockheads soon after Do It Yourself - you can hear the results of later recordings on further Edsel reissues of Laughter (with Wilko Johnson - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆) and Bus Driver's Prayer (Chaz Jankel returns - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆)

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/03/2015


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
PULP
Babies
27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games