tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

24/03/2015 : IAN DURY - New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

IAN DURY

New Boots and Panties/Do It Yourself

MusicAlbum Classics
Post Punk

[90/100]   

Edsel Records
24/03/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Part of a reissue programme for Lord Upminster (actually born in Harrow Weald), Edsel's involvement in Ian Dury's back catalogue began almost 12 years ago with identical slipcase versions of both albums. For 2015, they've merely tweaked the packaging, added a parental advisory sticker for those offended by the word 'cunts' and a few new pictures.

As they stand, both albums have their plus and minuses. 1977's New Boots and Panties (★★★★★★★★★☆) followed his recent break-up with first outfit Kilburn and the High Roads and unlocked songwriting gold with new Blockhead enlistee Chaz Jankel and includes the profane Plaistow Patricia, the edgy Sweet Gene Vincent and dramatic Billericay Dickie, characters all. His stubborn decision to save his best for singles continued through most of his career and upon listening to New Boots, you'd be hard-pressed to disagree with him. Great though Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll is, it would have just got in the way of its ten neighbours.

There are seventeen demo versions of various NBAP compositions, as well as some unreleased songs without a home namely some original readings of My Old Man and Sink My Boats, plus Wifey and Apples.

Second album Do It Yourself (★★★★★★★☆☆☆) had an awful lot to live up to and to many ears at the time, it fell short. Repeated listens, however, reveal a band at the peak of its powers. How opener Inbetweenies avoided UK release schedules as a single remains a frustrating mystery - well, not so much a mystery, Dury just didn't want album-tracks issued separately. Other pub-funk highlights include the jaunty Don't Ask Me (another potential single), Quiet and the powerful Dance Of The Screamers, alongside the extra single inclusions of chart-topper Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick and the hits What a Waste and Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt 3.

Charismatic extras include demos, excerpts from the 1977 Stiff's Live Stiffs tour and one of the best-ever b-sides, There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards. To be fair, DIY might have benefitted from having a rejig of songs and an inclusion of at least What a Waste but it's still a decent set.

What Do It Yourself lacked in verbose versatility ("..up your bum..." proclaims Dury on Uneasy Sunny Day Hotsy Totsy), it made up for with musicianship and a few nifty couplets. "....Mrs Elizabeth Walk of Lambeth Walk, had a husband who was jubblified with only half a stalk..." being one of them. Well, quite.

Jankel left the Blockheads soon after Do It Yourself - you can hear the results of later recordings on further Edsel reissues of Laughter (with Wilko Johnson - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆) and Bus Driver's Prayer (Chaz Jankel returns - ★★★★★★★☆☆☆)

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/03/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)