tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter

MORTILLERY

Shapeshifter

MusicCD
Trashmetal

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Every week a ton of trash metal records is released. Sometimes it takes some time to find a worthy album or one that can make the difference. The Canadian band Mortillery succeeds in doing so with guitar solos and chasing melodic or sounding like Iron Maiden with trashy rhythm guitars from a different metal genre. The rhythm section is solid and firm. In between, we hear Cara McCutchen's vocals: loud but melodic and somewhat anarchic too. A firm female voice. Together it forms a successful entity with some pretty good compositions that actually offer a lot of variety. Opener Radiation Sickness and the subsequent track Age of Stone are good examples. Bullet begins with a slow and heavy riff and then shoots off the starting blocks. Wendigo is less strong and less sharp than the other compositions. The vocals cannot always persuade me and the guitars sound a bit predictable. At the Gates sounds a lot fresher, sharper and inspired. The themes of the songs deal with the apocalyptic nature or death and terror. Themes that are around a lot in the genre.

Shapeshifter is the third album. It sounds different and somewhat less consistent than the album Origin of Extension, but it is almost as good, with better compositions than on the debut Murder Death Kill. Fortunately, Mortillery tries to evolve musically and you can hear that in Shapeshifter.

Fans of Holy Moses, Exploited and Death Angel will like this album. The digipack contains 3 bonus tracks, including the Motörhead cover Shine. The black vinyl contains two bonus tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Elke week komt er een ton trashmetalplaten uit. Het is soms wel eens zoeken naar releases die echt de moeite waard zijn of die het verschil maken. Het Canadese Mortillery slaagt daar wonderwel in. Met o.a. gitaarsolo’s die melodieus zijn en soms als Iron Maiden klinken en met trashy ritmegitaren uit een heel ander metalgenre. De ritmesectie staat stevig in haar schoenen. Daartussen of daarboven horen we de vocals van Cara McCutchen die schreeuwerig doch melodieus alsook ietwat anarchistisch klinken. Een ferme vrouwelijke zangstem. Alles samen een geslaagd geheel met redelijk wat goede compositie die eigenlijk veel variatie bieden. Opener Radiation Sickness en de daaropvolgende track Age of Stone zijn uitstekende voorbeelden. Bullet begint met een logge riff en schiet vervolgens uit de startblokken. Wendigo is minder sterk en minder scherp dan de andere composities. De zang kan mij niet altijd overtuigen en het gitaarspel klinkt wat voorspelbaar. At the Gates klinkt veel frisser, vinniger en geïnspireerder. De thema’s van de songs zijn veelal van apocalyptische aard of gaan over dood en terreur. Thema’s die veel rondwaren in het genre.

Shapeshifter is de derde langspeler en staat goed tussen de twee vorige: anders en iets minder consistent dan Origin of Extension maar haast even goed en voorzien van betere composities dan het debuut Murder Death Kill. Gelukkig probeert Mortillery muzikaal zich voort te ontwikkelen en dat hoor je op Shapeshifter.

Fans van Holy Moses, Exploited, Death Angel, etc. zullen hiermee aan hun trekken komen. Op de digipack vind je 3 bonustracks waaronder de Motörhead-cover Shine. Op het zwarte vinyl staan twee bonustracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter 11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom