tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter

MORTILLERY

Shapeshifter

MusicCD
Trashmetal

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Every week a ton of trash metal records is released. Sometimes it takes some time to find a worthy album or one that can make the difference. The Canadian band Mortillery succeeds in doing so with guitar solos and chasing melodic or sounding like Iron Maiden with trashy rhythm guitars from a different metal genre. The rhythm section is solid and firm. In between, we hear Cara McCutchen's vocals: loud but melodic and somewhat anarchic too. A firm female voice. Together it forms a successful entity with some pretty good compositions that actually offer a lot of variety. Opener Radiation Sickness and the subsequent track Age of Stone are good examples. Bullet begins with a slow and heavy riff and then shoots off the starting blocks. Wendigo is less strong and less sharp than the other compositions. The vocals cannot always persuade me and the guitars sound a bit predictable. At the Gates sounds a lot fresher, sharper and inspired. The themes of the songs deal with the apocalyptic nature or death and terror. Themes that are around a lot in the genre.

Shapeshifter is the third album. It sounds different and somewhat less consistent than the album Origin of Extension, but it is almost as good, with better compositions than on the debut Murder Death Kill. Fortunately, Mortillery tries to evolve musically and you can hear that in Shapeshifter.

Fans of Holy Moses, Exploited and Death Angel will like this album. The digipack contains 3 bonus tracks, including the Motörhead cover Shine. The black vinyl contains two bonus tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Elke week komt er een ton trashmetalplaten uit. Het is soms wel eens zoeken naar releases die echt de moeite waard zijn of die het verschil maken. Het Canadese Mortillery slaagt daar wonderwel in. Met o.a. gitaarsolo’s die melodieus zijn en soms als Iron Maiden klinken en met trashy ritmegitaren uit een heel ander metalgenre. De ritmesectie staat stevig in haar schoenen. Daartussen of daarboven horen we de vocals van Cara McCutchen die schreeuwerig doch melodieus alsook ietwat anarchistisch klinken. Een ferme vrouwelijke zangstem. Alles samen een geslaagd geheel met redelijk wat goede compositie die eigenlijk veel variatie bieden. Opener Radiation Sickness en de daaropvolgende track Age of Stone zijn uitstekende voorbeelden. Bullet begint met een logge riff en schiet vervolgens uit de startblokken. Wendigo is minder sterk en minder scherp dan de andere composities. De zang kan mij niet altijd overtuigen en het gitaarspel klinkt wat voorspelbaar. At the Gates klinkt veel frisser, vinniger en geïnspireerder. De thema’s van de songs zijn veelal van apocalyptische aard of gaan over dood en terreur. Thema’s die veel rondwaren in het genre.

Shapeshifter is de derde langspeler en staat goed tussen de twee vorige: anders en iets minder consistent dan Origin of Extension maar haast even goed en voorzien van betere composities dan het debuut Murder Death Kill. Gelukkig probeert Mortillery muzikaal zich voort te ontwikkelen en dat hoor je op Shapeshifter.

Fans van Holy Moses, Exploited, Death Angel, etc. zullen hiermee aan hun trekken komen. Op de digipack vind je 3 bonustracks waaronder de Motörhead-cover Shine. Op het zwarte vinyl staan twee bonustracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter 11/12/2016 : MORTILLERY - Shapeshifter

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life