tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

PRONG

X- No Absolutes

MusicCD
HardcoreTrashmetal

[89/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prong is a metal band that is around since 1986. The only constant factor in the band is Tommy Victor, who plays guitar and sings. Last year Prong released Songs From A Black Hole: an album with covers by bands like The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke or Discharge. Not an obvious choice, but now it's time to return with some own work.

The album starts in a superb way with Ultimate Authority and sets the tone. On Sense of Ease they switch up a gear, with fast guitars Prong easily equals the Slayer-standards.

Without Words does the same. The guitars sound sharp and the song has a wonderfully catchy chorus. After three songs, I must admit that I’m impressed. No Absolutes is an accessible song that you even can sing along with. Nothing wrong with that, but it rather sounds plain if you compare it with the three previous songs.

Do Nothing is a ballad with grunge influences, characterized by fine vocals. In Spite of Hindrances is sublime punk thrash with great drumming. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodic (just listen to the intro). On Worth Pursuing, Sense of Ease and Cut And Dry we enjoy some impressive drumming. The thrash metal-like bonus track Universal Law closes the album in a masterful way.

Prong mixes thrash metal (musically) with hardcore (the vocals). The result is superb. Both the vocals and the lyrics are melodic, and everything is well produced.. With this thirteenth release, Prong makes one of its best albums. Also available on red vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Prong is een naam uit de metalgeschiedenis en sedert 1986 actief. De enige constante in de band is Tommy Victor die gitaar speelt en zingt. Vorig jaar brachten deze band Songs from a Black Hole uit. Een album met niet voor de hand liggende covers van o.a. The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke en Discharge. Gedurfd, maar nu is het tijd voor eigen werk.

Het album begint vrij snedig met Ultimate Authority en zet meteen de toon. Op Sense of Ease wordt nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld en evenaart Prong met zijn snelle gitaren gemakkelijk de Slayer-norm.

Without Words is van hetzelfde kaliber. De gitaren klinken scherp en de song heeft een heerlijk catchy refrein. We zijn drie songs ver en ik ben al ferm onder de indruk. De titelsong No Absolutes is vrij toegankelijk en meezingbaar. Niets op aan te merken, maar eerder gewoontjes in vergelijking met de drie vorige songs.

Do Nothing is een ballade met grunge-invloeden die wordt gekenmerkt door een fijne zang. In Spite of Hindrances is sublieme punktrash met heerlijk drumwerk. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodieus (luister maar eens naar de intro). Op Worth Pursuing kunnen we, net als in Sense of Ease en Cut and Dry, genieten van imponerend drumwerk. De trashmetalachtige bonustrack Universal Law sluit het album magistraal af.

Prong mengt trashmetal (op muzikaal vlak) met hardcore (de zang) tot een snedig resultaat. Zowel de vocals als de lyrics zijn melodieus en prangend, en alles is uitstekend geproduceerd. Er staat geen noot te veel op X-No Absolutes en alles is mooi in evenwicht. Prong heeft met z'n dertiende release één van z'n beste albums gemaakt. Tevens verkrijgbaar op rood vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes 07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem