tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

PRONG

X- No Absolutes

MusicCD
HardcoreTrashmetal

[89/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prong is a metal band that is around since 1986. The only constant factor in the band is Tommy Victor, who plays guitar and sings. Last year Prong released Songs From A Black Hole: an album with covers by bands like The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke or Discharge. Not an obvious choice, but now it's time to return with some own work.

The album starts in a superb way with Ultimate Authority and sets the tone. On Sense of Ease they switch up a gear, with fast guitars Prong easily equals the Slayer-standards.

Without Words does the same. The guitars sound sharp and the song has a wonderfully catchy chorus. After three songs, I must admit that I’m impressed. No Absolutes is an accessible song that you even can sing along with. Nothing wrong with that, but it rather sounds plain if you compare it with the three previous songs.

Do Nothing is a ballad with grunge influences, characterized by fine vocals. In Spite of Hindrances is sublime punk thrash with great drumming. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodic (just listen to the intro). On Worth Pursuing, Sense of Ease and Cut And Dry we enjoy some impressive drumming. The thrash metal-like bonus track Universal Law closes the album in a masterful way.

Prong mixes thrash metal (musically) with hardcore (the vocals). The result is superb. Both the vocals and the lyrics are melodic, and everything is well produced.. With this thirteenth release, Prong makes one of its best albums. Also available on red vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Prong is een naam uit de metalgeschiedenis en sedert 1986 actief. De enige constante in de band is Tommy Victor die gitaar speelt en zingt. Vorig jaar brachten deze band Songs from a Black Hole uit. Een album met niet voor de hand liggende covers van o.a. The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke en Discharge. Gedurfd, maar nu is het tijd voor eigen werk.

Het album begint vrij snedig met Ultimate Authority en zet meteen de toon. Op Sense of Ease wordt nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld en evenaart Prong met zijn snelle gitaren gemakkelijk de Slayer-norm.

Without Words is van hetzelfde kaliber. De gitaren klinken scherp en de song heeft een heerlijk catchy refrein. We zijn drie songs ver en ik ben al ferm onder de indruk. De titelsong No Absolutes is vrij toegankelijk en meezingbaar. Niets op aan te merken, maar eerder gewoontjes in vergelijking met de drie vorige songs.

Do Nothing is een ballade met grunge-invloeden die wordt gekenmerkt door een fijne zang. In Spite of Hindrances is sublieme punktrash met heerlijk drumwerk. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodieus (luister maar eens naar de intro). Op Worth Pursuing kunnen we, net als in Sense of Ease en Cut and Dry, genieten van imponerend drumwerk. De trashmetalachtige bonustrack Universal Law sluit het album magistraal af.

Prong mengt trashmetal (op muzikaal vlak) met hardcore (de zang) tot een snedig resultaat. Zowel de vocals als de lyrics zijn melodieus en prangend, en alles is uitstekend geproduceerd. Er staat geen noot te veel op X-No Absolutes en alles is mooi in evenwicht. Prong heeft met z'n dertiende release één van z'n beste albums gemaakt. Tevens verkrijgbaar op rood vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes 07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf