tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

PRONG

X- No Absolutes

MusicCD
HardcoreTrashmetal

[89/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prong is a metal band that is around since 1986. The only constant factor in the band is Tommy Victor, who plays guitar and sings. Last year Prong released Songs From A Black Hole: an album with covers by bands like The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke or Discharge. Not an obvious choice, but now it's time to return with some own work.

The album starts in a superb way with Ultimate Authority and sets the tone. On Sense of Ease they switch up a gear, with fast guitars Prong easily equals the Slayer-standards.

Without Words does the same. The guitars sound sharp and the song has a wonderfully catchy chorus. After three songs, I must admit that I’m impressed. No Absolutes is an accessible song that you even can sing along with. Nothing wrong with that, but it rather sounds plain if you compare it with the three previous songs.

Do Nothing is a ballad with grunge influences, characterized by fine vocals. In Spite of Hindrances is sublime punk thrash with great drumming. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodic (just listen to the intro). On Worth Pursuing, Sense of Ease and Cut And Dry we enjoy some impressive drumming. The thrash metal-like bonus track Universal Law closes the album in a masterful way.

Prong mixes thrash metal (musically) with hardcore (the vocals). The result is superb. Both the vocals and the lyrics are melodic, and everything is well produced.. With this thirteenth release, Prong makes one of its best albums. Also available on red vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Prong is een naam uit de metalgeschiedenis en sedert 1986 actief. De enige constante in de band is Tommy Victor die gitaar speelt en zingt. Vorig jaar brachten deze band Songs from a Black Hole uit. Een album met niet voor de hand liggende covers van o.a. The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke en Discharge. Gedurfd, maar nu is het tijd voor eigen werk.

Het album begint vrij snedig met Ultimate Authority en zet meteen de toon. Op Sense of Ease wordt nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld en evenaart Prong met zijn snelle gitaren gemakkelijk de Slayer-norm.

Without Words is van hetzelfde kaliber. De gitaren klinken scherp en de song heeft een heerlijk catchy refrein. We zijn drie songs ver en ik ben al ferm onder de indruk. De titelsong No Absolutes is vrij toegankelijk en meezingbaar. Niets op aan te merken, maar eerder gewoontjes in vergelijking met de drie vorige songs.

Do Nothing is een ballade met grunge-invloeden die wordt gekenmerkt door een fijne zang. In Spite of Hindrances is sublieme punktrash met heerlijk drumwerk. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodieus (luister maar eens naar de intro). Op Worth Pursuing kunnen we, net als in Sense of Ease en Cut and Dry, genieten van imponerend drumwerk. De trashmetalachtige bonustrack Universal Law sluit het album magistraal af.

Prong mengt trashmetal (op muzikaal vlak) met hardcore (de zang) tot een snedig resultaat. Zowel de vocals als de lyrics zijn melodieus en prangend, en alles is uitstekend geproduceerd. Er staat geen noot te veel op X-No Absolutes en alles is mooi in evenwicht. Prong heeft met z'n dertiende release één van z'n beste albums gemaakt. Tevens verkrijgbaar op rood vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes 07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins