tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

PRONG

X- No Absolutes

MusicCD
HardcoreTrashmetal

[89/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prong is a metal band that is around since 1986. The only constant factor in the band is Tommy Victor, who plays guitar and sings. Last year Prong released Songs From A Black Hole: an album with covers by bands like The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke or Discharge. Not an obvious choice, but now it's time to return with some own work.

The album starts in a superb way with Ultimate Authority and sets the tone. On Sense of Ease they switch up a gear, with fast guitars Prong easily equals the Slayer-standards.

Without Words does the same. The guitars sound sharp and the song has a wonderfully catchy chorus. After three songs, I must admit that I’m impressed. No Absolutes is an accessible song that you even can sing along with. Nothing wrong with that, but it rather sounds plain if you compare it with the three previous songs.

Do Nothing is a ballad with grunge influences, characterized by fine vocals. In Spite of Hindrances is sublime punk thrash with great drumming. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodic (just listen to the intro). On Worth Pursuing, Sense of Ease and Cut And Dry we enjoy some impressive drumming. The thrash metal-like bonus track Universal Law closes the album in a masterful way.

Prong mixes thrash metal (musically) with hardcore (the vocals). The result is superb. Both the vocals and the lyrics are melodic, and everything is well produced.. With this thirteenth release, Prong makes one of its best albums. Also available on red vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Prong is een naam uit de metalgeschiedenis en sedert 1986 actief. De enige constante in de band is Tommy Victor die gitaar speelt en zingt. Vorig jaar brachten deze band Songs from a Black Hole uit. Een album met niet voor de hand liggende covers van o.a. The Sisters of Mercy, Killing Joke en Discharge. Gedurfd, maar nu is het tijd voor eigen werk.

Het album begint vrij snedig met Ultimate Authority en zet meteen de toon. Op Sense of Ease wordt nog een versnelling hoger geschakeld en evenaart Prong met zijn snelle gitaren gemakkelijk de Slayer-norm.

Without Words is van hetzelfde kaliber. De gitaren klinken scherp en de song heeft een heerlijk catchy refrein. We zijn drie songs ver en ik ben al ferm onder de indruk. De titelsong No Absolutes is vrij toegankelijk en meezingbaar. Niets op aan te merken, maar eerder gewoontjes in vergelijking met de drie vorige songs.

Do Nothing is een ballade met grunge-invloeden die wordt gekenmerkt door een fijne zang. In Spite of Hindrances is sublieme punktrash met heerlijk drumwerk. Ice Runs Through My Veins is melodieus (luister maar eens naar de intro). Op Worth Pursuing kunnen we, net als in Sense of Ease en Cut and Dry, genieten van imponerend drumwerk. De trashmetalachtige bonustrack Universal Law sluit het album magistraal af.

Prong mengt trashmetal (op muzikaal vlak) met hardcore (de zang) tot een snedig resultaat. Zowel de vocals als de lyrics zijn melodieus en prangend, en alles is uitstekend geproduceerd. Er staat geen noot te veel op X-No Absolutes en alles is mooi in evenwicht. Prong heeft met z'n dertiende release één van z'n beste albums gemaakt. Tevens verkrijgbaar op rood vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes 07/02/2016 : PRONG - X- No Absolutes

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis