tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

04/02/2016 : WHISPERING SONS - BLACK EASTER 2016

WHISPERING SONS

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
04/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The second edition of Black Easter in Antwerp includes many post-punk bands. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, but also the Belgian band Whispering Sons.

A few months ago we wre hopeful, but we could hardly imagine that today it wouldn't be necessary to introduce these youngstersfrom Belgium today. Since Endless Party was released on Wool-E, everything went quickly. Previously, the name was barely known, but due to many brilliant gigs, the name of this band from Limburg spread like a wildfire.

As we write this, the band is hoping to be selected for the finals of the Rock Rally (Belgium’s most important rock contest). Stijn Meuris, who is a very influential rock journalist and musician in Belgium, compares front woman Fenne Kuppens with Siouxsie and Nico.

Fenne’s chilling voice is indeed the trump card of this band, but also the cold wave sound makes Whispering Sons an unique band in Belgium. They do not wear any eyeliner or smear soap in their hair, but they sound like Robert Smith must have felt when he wrote One Hundred Years.

Whispering Sons plays at Black Easter on Saturday, 26th of March. 

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


NL

De tweede editie van Black Easter is dit jaar zonder meer postpunkgetint. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, maar ook Whispering Sons is van de partij.

Een paar maanden geleden waren we vol hoop, maar we konden ons amper inbeelden dat we deze jonge wolven vandaag niet meer hoeven voor te stellen. Sinds Endless Party op Wool-E Tapes verscheen, kwam alles in een immense stroomversnelling terecht. Voorheen was hun naam amper bekend, maar dankzij een resem schitterende optredens verspreidde de naam van deze Limburgse band zich als een lopend vuurtje.

Terwijl we dit schrijven dingt de band mee naar een plaatsje in de finale van de Rock Rally. Presentator Stijn Meuris (jawel!) is ondertussen diep onder de indruk en vergeleek frontvrouw Fenne Kuppens met Siouxsie en Nico. Fennes ijzingwekkende stem is inderdaad de troef van deze band, maar ook het coldwavegeluid maakt van Whispering Sons een unieke band in België. Niemand heeft eyeliner of smeert zeep in zijn haar, maar het klinkt wel zoals Robert Smith zich wellicht voelde toen hij One Hundred Years componeerde.

Whisperingt Sons staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Zappa, wie weet kijken we dan wel naar een Rock Rally-finalist!

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)