tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

04/02/2016 : WHISPERING SONS - BLACK EASTER 2016

WHISPERING SONS

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
04/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The second edition of Black Easter in Antwerp includes many post-punk bands. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, but also the Belgian band Whispering Sons.

A few months ago we wre hopeful, but we could hardly imagine that today it wouldn't be necessary to introduce these youngstersfrom Belgium today. Since Endless Party was released on Wool-E, everything went quickly. Previously, the name was barely known, but due to many brilliant gigs, the name of this band from Limburg spread like a wildfire.

As we write this, the band is hoping to be selected for the finals of the Rock Rally (Belgium’s most important rock contest). Stijn Meuris, who is a very influential rock journalist and musician in Belgium, compares front woman Fenne Kuppens with Siouxsie and Nico.

Fenne’s chilling voice is indeed the trump card of this band, but also the cold wave sound makes Whispering Sons an unique band in Belgium. They do not wear any eyeliner or smear soap in their hair, but they sound like Robert Smith must have felt when he wrote One Hundred Years.

Whispering Sons plays at Black Easter on Saturday, 26th of March. 

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


NL

De tweede editie van Black Easter is dit jaar zonder meer postpunkgetint. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, maar ook Whispering Sons is van de partij.

Een paar maanden geleden waren we vol hoop, maar we konden ons amper inbeelden dat we deze jonge wolven vandaag niet meer hoeven voor te stellen. Sinds Endless Party op Wool-E Tapes verscheen, kwam alles in een immense stroomversnelling terecht. Voorheen was hun naam amper bekend, maar dankzij een resem schitterende optredens verspreidde de naam van deze Limburgse band zich als een lopend vuurtje.

Terwijl we dit schrijven dingt de band mee naar een plaatsje in de finale van de Rock Rally. Presentator Stijn Meuris (jawel!) is ondertussen diep onder de indruk en vergeleek frontvrouw Fenne Kuppens met Siouxsie en Nico. Fennes ijzingwekkende stem is inderdaad de troef van deze band, maar ook het coldwavegeluid maakt van Whispering Sons een unieke band in België. Niemand heeft eyeliner of smeert zeep in zijn haar, maar het klinkt wel zoals Robert Smith zich wellicht voelde toen hij One Hundred Years componeerde.

Whisperingt Sons staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Zappa, wie weet kijken we dan wel naar een Rock Rally-finalist!

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro