tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

04/02/2016 : WHISPERING SONS - BLACK EASTER 2016

WHISPERING SONS

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
04/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The second edition of Black Easter in Antwerp includes many post-punk bands. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, but also the Belgian band Whispering Sons.

A few months ago we wre hopeful, but we could hardly imagine that today it wouldn't be necessary to introduce these youngstersfrom Belgium today. Since Endless Party was released on Wool-E, everything went quickly. Previously, the name was barely known, but due to many brilliant gigs, the name of this band from Limburg spread like a wildfire.

As we write this, the band is hoping to be selected for the finals of the Rock Rally (Belgium’s most important rock contest). Stijn Meuris, who is a very influential rock journalist and musician in Belgium, compares front woman Fenne Kuppens with Siouxsie and Nico.

Fenne’s chilling voice is indeed the trump card of this band, but also the cold wave sound makes Whispering Sons an unique band in Belgium. They do not wear any eyeliner or smear soap in their hair, but they sound like Robert Smith must have felt when he wrote One Hundred Years.

Whispering Sons plays at Black Easter on Saturday, 26th of March. 

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


NL

De tweede editie van Black Easter is dit jaar zonder meer postpunkgetint. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, maar ook Whispering Sons is van de partij.

Een paar maanden geleden waren we vol hoop, maar we konden ons amper inbeelden dat we deze jonge wolven vandaag niet meer hoeven voor te stellen. Sinds Endless Party op Wool-E Tapes verscheen, kwam alles in een immense stroomversnelling terecht. Voorheen was hun naam amper bekend, maar dankzij een resem schitterende optredens verspreidde de naam van deze Limburgse band zich als een lopend vuurtje.

Terwijl we dit schrijven dingt de band mee naar een plaatsje in de finale van de Rock Rally. Presentator Stijn Meuris (jawel!) is ondertussen diep onder de indruk en vergeleek frontvrouw Fenne Kuppens met Siouxsie en Nico. Fennes ijzingwekkende stem is inderdaad de troef van deze band, maar ook het coldwavegeluid maakt van Whispering Sons een unieke band in België. Niemand heeft eyeliner of smeert zeep in zijn haar, maar het klinkt wel zoals Robert Smith zich wellicht voelde toen hij One Hundred Years componeerde.

Whisperingt Sons staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Zappa, wie weet kijken we dan wel naar een Rock Rally-finalist!

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige