tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

04/02/2016 : WHISPERING SONS - BLACK EASTER 2016

WHISPERING SONS

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
04/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The second edition of Black Easter in Antwerp includes many post-punk bands. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, but also the Belgian band Whispering Sons.

A few months ago we wre hopeful, but we could hardly imagine that today it wouldn't be necessary to introduce these youngstersfrom Belgium today. Since Endless Party was released on Wool-E, everything went quickly. Previously, the name was barely known, but due to many brilliant gigs, the name of this band from Limburg spread like a wildfire.

As we write this, the band is hoping to be selected for the finals of the Rock Rally (Belgium’s most important rock contest). Stijn Meuris, who is a very influential rock journalist and musician in Belgium, compares front woman Fenne Kuppens with Siouxsie and Nico.

Fenne’s chilling voice is indeed the trump card of this band, but also the cold wave sound makes Whispering Sons an unique band in Belgium. They do not wear any eyeliner or smear soap in their hair, but they sound like Robert Smith must have felt when he wrote One Hundred Years.

Whispering Sons plays at Black Easter on Saturday, 26th of March. 

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


NL

De tweede editie van Black Easter is dit jaar zonder meer postpunkgetint. She Past Away, Lebanon Hanover, Les Panties, Organic, maar ook Whispering Sons is van de partij.

Een paar maanden geleden waren we vol hoop, maar we konden ons amper inbeelden dat we deze jonge wolven vandaag niet meer hoeven voor te stellen. Sinds Endless Party op Wool-E Tapes verscheen, kwam alles in een immense stroomversnelling terecht. Voorheen was hun naam amper bekend, maar dankzij een resem schitterende optredens verspreidde de naam van deze Limburgse band zich als een lopend vuurtje.

Terwijl we dit schrijven dingt de band mee naar een plaatsje in de finale van de Rock Rally. Presentator Stijn Meuris (jawel!) is ondertussen diep onder de indruk en vergeleek frontvrouw Fenne Kuppens met Siouxsie en Nico. Fennes ijzingwekkende stem is inderdaad de troef van deze band, maar ook het coldwavegeluid maakt van Whispering Sons een unieke band in België. Niemand heeft eyeliner of smeert zeep in zijn haar, maar het klinkt wel zoals Robert Smith zich wellicht voelde toen hij One Hundred Years componeerde.

Whisperingt Sons staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Zappa, wie weet kijken we dan wel naar een Rock Rally-finalist!

Didier BECU
04/02/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?